Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
I would also like to hear from a Dr. Phibes and a mr. Spiceland
In case anyone wasn’t aware….Geraldine O’Leary - the long time Commercial Director of RTÉ - recently retired. I wonder was she involved in this?
Lottie does the Entertainment News apparently.
No idea what she gets for that,but wouldn't be surprised if it's quite a liveable wage.
I have just heard the the team for his radio show said they wouldnt show up if tubridy was hosting. Amazing stuff. Full revolt.
There's big questions that need answering.
1. Who proposed this deal? Someone from RTE or the Kelly/Tubridy side?
2. Who had the ultimate power to sign off on it?
3. Did other Kelly clients benefit from a similar deal?
Total disclosure needed from RTE now. This scandal is going to run and run, but given RTE are largely unaccountable, they will try tough it out.
No hope of a licence fee increase now thankfully.
Is that true?
Tubs is toast, Forbes fcuked off - who's next?
Shades of what happened across the water a few weeks ago - obviously on a different level.
One thing we are seeing is that these "Top Top" presenters and I'd include at least Darcy in this (who said he would never work for RTE again many years ago), and from experiences across the water - there are very few morals or ethics involved at the top levels.
The fact that Tubridy announced he was leaving back in March, the report wasn't published till after Dee Forbes left/the LLS finished and now that the news has broke on a Thursday evening - a traditionally quiet time - and on the day when some other majoe news is breaking internationally absolutely stinks. Smacks of a coverup/attempt to make it go away fast.
Tubridy would have known well that the figures being published by RTE as his fee was wrong for the last number of years - he would have known well what was happening - pushing the whole thing back on RTE is a massive mistake on his part but he's finished anyway.
RTE have a lot to answer here. Salary caps need to be brought in for these "stars" and if they don't like the money on offer, head off elsewhere!! Their corporate accounting needs a serious review and people need to lose their jobs over this - obviously this was signed off by numerous people.
The atmosphere in there will be more toxic than ever now - to know the golden boy was treated differently!
Yeah. Imagine having to deal with him everday and then this comes out. Id imagine its the straw that breaks the camels back.
What were the stories oh himself and conor mcgregor?
Not a nice guy. A good actor.
A curates egg maybe.
Union meetings with staff tomorrow.
The Doo Doo has only begun to hit the fan.
https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2023/06/22/the-secret-nature-of-the-payments-is-a-breach-of-trust-unparalleled-in-the-history-of-rte-staff-to-hold-emergency-meeting-with-union/
Which is a slot in reality an intern should be doing. Or a young DJ trying to break into radio. Not a 37 year old woman who claim to fame is been a runner on a TV show many many many years ago
This was coming out, everyone knew it and now they want to turn the public onto Ryan so they can protect their own nice cushy numbers in RTE on huge pay cheques.
How can they explain staff getting redundancy, staff getting pay cuts. Going to Dail demanding money during covid while backdoor payments going on to a tv presenter. They can't so it's a game of point the finger and hope someone else takes the fall.
The last episode of Late Late with the fake crying from Tubs is all the more galling now.
This has created a huge issue now for tv license. Expect mass non payment and you can't argue against it. I am one that would support having a national broadcaster but just not the one we have now.
& the team players, so to speak
Bet he’d notice if he was underpaid by €75.000 per year.
WhatsApp server will be burned out
The irony of the rte schedule tonight, first a documentary called 'face the music' and then having the cheek to show the 'best' of the LLS.
You just wonder who else was deemed special to be getting these payments. Id say the foi's will be flying in.
Commercially sensitive is RTE's usual response but don't think that will run anymore
Spotted that as well. Would be funny if it wasn't such a serios matter.
345K is approximately 2150 license fees. You'd swear he wasn't earning enough money in their first instance!
Tubridy pretending he knew nothing about it when the money was going right into his back account. Does he really expect people to believe that? Sure it would have been him and his management signing the contract. Then you have Miriam sitting in the RTE studio saying nobody from RTE was available to comment. Maybe try walking down the corridor a few centimetres and you'll find people from RTE. What a joke. All they show now anyway is reruns of all Dermot Bannon's shows, reruns of Operation Transformation, rerun about 4 of the same different DVDs in rotation from the 80s every Friday night calling it the late night movie(I think they show City Slickers about 10 times a year- Billy Crystal is on nearly every week anyway), show the same Superman films in rotation every bank holiday. Then in the Autumn you get the same crap again Dermot Bannon back and the Brennan's, cookery programmes, Operation Transformation, Dancing with the Stars just crap after crap after useless crap. It's thanks to Tubs and RTE that they recycle and churn out the same crap and reruns of the same crap that I didn't want to watch originally year after year after year and expect people to pay 160 euros a year for this complete trash. I think people need to boycott RTE and turn off their absolute garbage.
Rome burns..is that the saying ? I feel like a bit of a sap but is that the end of RTE as it was. I hope so anyway . It's a rip. Mad craic and great fun best of the late late show on RTE1 at the moment for an hour. Dreadful muck
Where’s Rory Coveney? Has he any comment to make?
What about his little project Toy Show The Musical, from which Ryan distanced himself?
Best of the late late on rte now with Tubs.
We’re being trolled.
Probably away on some other Fine Gael defense mission.
The musical should have been called out and questions asked why they even thought it was a good idea - but probably never mentioned by RTE ever again
Some line of shite from tubridy. Any mention of rte in the media regarding finances his annual declared salary is always mentioned.
This could be disastrous long term for RTE. Reputational damage and loss of trust which in turn could lead to more people refusing to pay their licence fee and advertisers wanting nothing to do with them. It reminds me of the end of the John Delaney era at the FAI.
Pat Kenny, Dermot Bannon, Claire Byrne, Kathryn Thomas, and Joe misery guts Duffy all with the same agent. Interesting
There's a few on that list I am really hoping had the same sort of arrangement and will be caught too.
Who is Ryan Tubridy’s agent Noel Kelly – and who else is represented by Ireland’s ‘agent to the stars?’ | Independent.ie
“I don't want to work with people who feel the world owes them a living - I admire those willing to put the hard graft in." - really?