Right so. It's another money making racket with IFA Heads at the top of the board. And at the end of the day it will be taking money out of my pocket and put it in a senior executives pocket somewhere?
Look I know there is a type of farmer who can't get enough of sheets of paper. They walk around the yard semi solid at the taught of their next ICBF diary coming in the post. But will this put more money in my bank account?
Ya I couldn't agree more talk about getting it sideways when put over the barrel 👀👀😱😱
Isn't that what high SCC cows are for😉
I wouldn't agree with that, the BDGP was originally introduced to stop beef farmers from always breeding for the terminal attributes. By incentivising farmers to breed for maternal attributes you ensure that later generations have cows that are fit to rear a calf. If you keep breeding for terminal attributes you'll run out of road sooner rather than later
in all fairness, the beefs lad have been bent over a barrel by the icbf and there 4/5 stars.
What’s that rant all about …..I’m a lot further along line than most here in that I’ve my full herd done …..I was asked to contract mate 3 of my cows this year …was all for it till I saw the yokes they wanted me to serve them to ….high ebi young genomic bulls that when I started to look into back pedigrees I wouldn’t take a present of
That money she wanted was to get an AI code for the bulls. They tried the same with me but I told them it was the AI companies job to pay for the AI code. I was only paying for the straws. Anyway the AI company who imported the straws sorted it out. You should check on the ICBF website if the bulls you used have an AI code, if not you wont be able to get the calves cards for the calves next year.
You can keep whatever heifers u want just leave the money behind you Very simple and ye can stop complaining 👍
They don't but we need to be able to make some counterargument against all cows are bad argument and this will be it
Had a really nice cork lady from that organisation looking for 200 euro of us each for 4 International bulls my ai company had brought in, she hounded us for two weeks ringing about paying it, was the law etc, blocked her number and stopped paying my icbf membership after that and haven't heard a dickie bird from them since their a shower of clowns, ai company had already payed genomic testing fees and import licences they just wanted to make it more awkward again by hitting the farmer aswell in the pocket
You talk about people not having a clue what it’s about yet you don’t know that ICBF couldn’t care less whether a bull is a mongrel mix of ten breeds or a pedigree bull as long as it has the stars and figures. They actually discourage the use of one two or three star pedigree/purebred beef bulls and encourage the use of 4/5 so called scrub bulls. The “quality” of the bull doesn’t matter as long as it has the mythical star and figures. You’re in for a rude awakening when ICBF start telling you which of your heifers you can and can’t keep.
The climate crowd won't give a shitte about genotyping. They want to rewet/ rewild the land and depopulate the herd.
I think there's EU money from some Brexit fund being drawn down to pay for the genotyping. Or at least to pay for it for now.
There's been plenty talk about Irish farmers not getting anything from the Brexit fund and it looks like genotyping is as much a mechanism to draw down funds (and plenty juicy admin work for Dept and ICBF) as it is to help farmers.
It also ticks a box for "improving the beef genetics" of the growing dairy beef sector. It may or may not have any impact when the scheme leaves the theory of the spreadsheet and meets reality on the ground.
The genotype will eventually help make the case that we are doing something about climate change IMO
I gave up genotyping a few years ago- I also stopped sending hair samples back if I didn’t like the mother of the calf- started using international bulls again and low and behold when I genotyped some bull calves this year for my own use out of cows I liked not based on ebi the results come back tru the roof- does this mean that the ungenotyped herds are actually much higher than the genotyped herds
It'll just be an extra gift for the calf buyer. They already ignore the stars.
I genotype all my fr heifers and I'll probably keep doing my own thing.
Get rid of them as fast as you can. It is transmitted through the milk and also the dung. They will not get better but will gradually start to deteriorate, may take a few years but will spread it in the meantime.
Do you think genotyping will make the average Joe richer or add another bill and a head ache to his life.
Let's see when there is 900 calves in skibbereen mart the end of march how much extra will genotyping get us.
Most schemes start this way. " Oh we will cover the cost" five years down the road the farmer will be paying the whole 18 euro per calf.
I genuinely don't, I thought the main way of transmission was through beastings? Can it run through adult to adult?
Nothing, milking away fine
The journal on the propaganda trail re the reduction scheme
meanwhile in a country where processors are short of milk this occurs
It's amazing how processors can cough up a nice few extra cent when milk is in short supply
If your asking what kind of shite have we been signed up to …..you haven’t a clue what it’s about …genotyping will improve national herd and cut out the messers with poor quality scrub bulls etc etc
btw…..won’t disagree on bvd scheme …like tb an absolute farce in how it’s ran …..but farmers holding pi ainmals are every bit as much to blame …small minority holding every other farmer on island to ransom
1+1=3...🤔
It's only shite, nothing a bit of water won't soften, it won't harden like cement, and to certainly never clogged over time, there 25 years now. If I was feeding dry cows hay or haylage, it would occasional stop at that sump where that scraper dumps it. Add a bit if water, even with a hose, and off it goes again.
"National Genotyping Programme now open for signup on ICBF website. Go to slvr.be/A6vI. Limited availability, for more info refer to this June management notes"
What kind of shite have the IFA signed us up for now. All the heads in the ICBF. so no doubt it will end up costing farmers money. I see money is clawed back if you pull out before 5 years.
Are there still cases of BVD I wonder.
Christ on a bike I don't care what the vet reckons get rid of the two of them ASAP have you any idea of the scourge of a disease it is ......it would ruin your herd
Nothing like pulling 2 tankers of dirty water and letting them off together at the same time. That would give some flush to any channel
@Castlekeeper Yes we're talking about same thing. So with the channels being horizontal (no slope), the standing liquids should keep it moveable over time? My fear is if it hardened year after year in the channel before clogging after 10yrs for example
delete
Are they showing any symptoms?