I'd love to see Jamie Wall on the Sunday Game. He'd stir a few feathers. Don't always agree with what he says but he'll call it like it is
I think we're saying the same thing. I remember that interview, it was the one where Paul Kimmage 100% correctly questioned OTB spreading itself way (way) to thin, and also Gilroy said (presumably with a straight face) that Joe Molloy is the best sports broadcaster in Ireland. I remember wondering what the other 25 members of team OTB thought of that.
No, seemingly no relationship any more. Gilroy did a big piece in one of the Sunday papers maybe a year ago, he mentioned how the second captains lads were all at his wedding but there is no relationship anymore... I don't think it's antagonistic, just took different paths...
Gilroy is a weasel.
Really? I thought they left on good terms with him, they just don't hang around as mates now
They do, but relations were very bad with Ger Gilroy himself. Don’t know if time has healed things
They mention Off the Ball (the current OTB) occasionally in reference to a quote of whatever, don't think the lads are bothered about mentioning it or not.
I wonder Eoin was biting his tongue when Paul referenced Gilroy or maybe they get on with each other.
'Wildcard round' does sound better than 'Preliminary Quarter Final' but doesn't make any sense as there's nothing wildcard about it
You don't hear Ger Gilroy being quoted on the show very often (ever?)
I thought Doherty was a bad player to choose though. I would just be saying up Doherty "why haven't you played more than 16 minutes since January?". It's funny how people were clamouring for him to be playing ahead of Coleman and in recent years it's become obvious that he isn't that good.
Enjoyed today's GAA podcast. Might not be as energetic or chaotic as the hurling episodes but the 2 lads really know their stuff and I always enjoy Murph's contributions on GAA content
I enjoyed Damien and Richie too but I do feel they gave the players a free pass for Friday. Some of the lack of courage on display on the ball was shocking.
My only criticism would be that he lacks a bit of personality, he's analysis is excellent but he's a bit too serious but maybe that's a bit unfair, when he's talking about shape and tactics etc, it's kinda hard to jazz it up.
Surprised he hasn't gone into coaching, seems like he'd be excellent at it
I think Delaney is probably the best in the Irish media of the ex-players.
I didn’t get the feeling that there was much rapport between them. Not that there was any ill feeling but just they didn’t seem to really know each other
Yeah, i enjoyed it too. I think it would have benefited from them all being in the same room. Don't feel like Richie and Damien had an actual conversation. Just took turns speaking.
I thought he put over the feelings of Doherty, O'Dowda and Smallbone very well and the manager's inability to adapt to save them.
Only just listening. Delaney was good, sounded actually angry about it!
Employing someone from around Europe will mean they will have to relocate to the Uk or Ireland or else do the job off videotapes like trap. Given the FAI are skint the extra expense with such an arrangement makes employing someone from Europe unlikely. It looks like Lee carsley is the man being sized up for it.
As I was listening to the pod, I was thinking the same. But then I thought of Brighton who lost Potter and got De Zerbi in. Not many had heard of him, but clearly the club have good people in place who know what they are at. Hopefully the FAI have someone who knows what's happening around Europe.
I wonder what the options are in our budget if we replace Kenny?
I enjoyed the Damien Delaney and Richie chat today about Stephen Kenny.
I have to say Delaney made his point very well about Kenny being tactically out of his depth. He has me convinced.
Damian was breaking down team formations a lot.... "if it's a 5,4, 2, or a zero point 3 on the wing... Which'd pull ye back to a weird 6, 3, 1 leaving ye flat on yer back".
And Numberwang is from a sketch show that in one recurring theme they take the piss out of convoluted quiz shows. It was about 15 years ago.
What do you mean?
What's wrong with fish n chips !?!
I like Damian but ..
One pint...that's it.
Excellent reaction pod last night, I think they nailed it between them.
Is that not kinda in his nature though? He was joking after Galway's defeat to Kilkenny which probably hurt him more than last night's shitshow
Murph really pissed me off on this pod. He seemed only delighted that it had gone **** and that Kenny should be sacked. I thought it was very strange. All the others seemed genuinely disappointed.