Pat Kenny radio show on Newstalk this morning, talking about the destruction of Dublin city centre, with special guests "A Taxi driver" and Mannix Flynn (not sure which one is worse!) so the "Cyclists" got the blame for most of it... anyone listen in?
That lineup would be worthy of a call to David McSavage's "John Duffy" - "And how did lstening to dem make ye feel - ah jaysus" 😬 (arguably NSFW)
Pat Kenny, Mannix Flynn and a taxi driver? That will surely be a fair balanced discussion grounded firmed in facts and statistics.
They complained about basically how cyclists have ruined the city centre, destroyed streets like Capel Street, how the plastic cycle lane bollards have damaged the environment..
The Taxi driver said how much he didn't enjoy driving in the city centre anymore, I wept many a tear for him.... (NOT!!)
I tried counting the numbers of vehicles parked on either side of Lawrence's Road one morning and gave up at 200.
But one little bike bunker is an issue.
All the wheelie bins stored in front gardens aren't a problem of course.
This has been done before. Cars aren't subject to planning permission. Wheelie bins aren't subject to planning permission. Sheds are. It has nothing to do with them being used to store bikes. It's not an attack on cyclists
Paywalled article in the Indo but given the headline, I wouldn't expect much from the article...
god, i don't think i want to read that.
i suspect he wanted to park his car somewhere recently but realised he'd be parking across a cycle path and is now having his pout published by the indo.
...whereas this article in the Indo has what I presume is a better tone. 3 lads head on a 2000km charity cycle...
The unpaywalled version https://archive.is/saGW2
It's probably far worse than you feared... Its a tough read!
But at least the author states "I am a cyclist."
when did cycling and the provision of its infrastructure become elitist, reactionary and destructive to the collective civic needs of everyone else?
When did the local authorities of our cities adapt the mantra: “Cycling uber alles”? When did the promoters of the push bike become so pushy?
All over our cities bulldozers have been moving in to reshape neighbourhoods for the benefit of one laterally mobile minority.
Men started shaving their legs and appearing to work in spray-on lycra...
The newly minted ‘mamils’ prowled country lanes in packs. Now families heading out by car on weekend excursions found their routes blocked by Day-Glo rolling herds crawling three bikes from the kerb around every rural road bend. “We rule the highways now, hahahaha!! The Government is on our side now!”
I'm pretty sure every bingo card dog whistle has been hit in this! Fair play!
“Even the dead aren’t sacred when it comes to the cycledozers. Unbelievably Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Council announced a plan to create a two-way cycleway right through Deansgrange Cemetery.”
FFS, it was the idiots who protested the original cycle lane who pushed it through the Cemetery
Bloody hell - dunno who Mark Keenan is but I've a fair idea alright given crap like this...
School child safety is a big driver. They tell us kids need wide tracts of cycle lane complete with a flanking barricade of bendy bollards to fend off traffic. Why? Because really they don’t.
It's true what they say: paper never refused ink.
Christ. I'm not reading that. The Indo has become an absolute pity in recent years. It was never great, but now it's just an unapologetic clickbait printing press.
I like how 'just slap down 2 paint lines on the side of the road is good enough for kids.... If only the rules were enforced to prevent on parking in them'
FFS - those poor cars that can't control their own actions and need constant enforcement from someone else...
i just googled him. he's a property journalist. he's not exactly on home turf with that.
I was sitting on the top deck of the bus today at the N11/ Leopardstown junction, stopped at the lights. Queue the couple of cars accelerating through the amber filter turning left to Leoparstown. Hardly eye-raising that. But, they were followed, after the lights had turned red, by another three cars who cruised up, glanced right, saw nothing was coming and ploughed through the lights.
But yeah, all we need to protect our kids from guys like Mark (and it's almost always men) is to slap down a couple of lines of paint.
What are men such absolute ***** behind the wheel??
He's blaming the housing crisis AND public sector employment crisis on cyclists.
Maybe he should stay in his lane, pimping his property porn?
Claims to have never owned a car.
To be fair, one big complaint he has regarding the Dodder "greenway" plans doesn't seem unreasonable. Significant natural environment is being replaced with concrete and tarmac along the route, and what has previously been a nature walk amenity is being transformed into a cycling commuter route.
It does also include plenty of the same old tropes about city centres being closed off to cars and vans will destroy businesses etc.
he does have a point there, and similar concerns are being expressed about the royal canal greenway. but there's not a hope in hell a greenway would be developed on anything but undeveloped lands, so the 'nature vs cyclists' choice is being imposed on 'the cycling community' as if it's their choice to destroy nature.
I'm going on memory here but I'm fairly sure there were a few research papers reported on which showed an increase in property values close to good cycle infrastructure.
I listened into some of the meeting with Eamonn Ryan and the Dodder residents association...
What I recall is that the residents don't want a "Cycle Superhighway" maybe they want a wider roadway for their cars and higher speed limit?
They want the increased space for cyclists instead made into a mixed priority "Pedestrian zone" so you'd have to cycle at walking speed and have a bell too..
All in the name of the "Environment" of course, nothing to do with the property prices...
Just an anecdote, but I know a chap who has never owned a car - never learned to drive - and contrary to what you might hope, he doesn't have any great gra for cyclists. He gets taxis a lot, I blame it on overexposure to certain types of taxi driver.
I cycled down Lawrence's Road this morning to have a closer look. The bike bunker is very discreet, and I wouldn't call it a shed or a permanent structure. It looks like the owner has let her front garden turn overgrown , which is far more of an eyesore than the bike bunker. Maybe she's doing it as a 2 fingers to the neighbours, fair play to her.
Funnily enough the exact same bike bunker is in a front garden in Marino and there hasn't been a peep about it. Sounder neighbours in that part of Dublin 3, than the notions in Clontarf.
If the Government are serious about encouraging cycling in this country an approved bike storage for front gardens needs to be made available to bike owners who need somewhere to safely store their bicycles.
There’s different stretches of it. Along Dodder View Road they’re finalising a really good segregated cycle lane into former road space. The road along there previously was wide enough to have a 1-2m ghost island ghost island as the centre median for stretches of it - had parking (non-residential) on stretches - and is plenty wide to accommodate a proper two-way segregated cycle lane.
The problem section is from Clonskeagh to Dartry Park, and some of the proposals in around Orwell Park where previously quiet pedestrian areas (and quiet green areas) will be have a commuting thoroughfare now running through them.
The section from Lansdowne Rd railway bridge to Ballsbridge is also a worry, as what was previously a shared pedestrian & cycling space (part of my own cycling commute) appears to be classed a preferred route for cycleway with no indication of what the predestination accommodation will be
Not about cycling per se
Very sad news, maybe she rest in peace and condolences to the family, a life taken far too early...
https://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/cyclist-on-training-ride-killed-in-crash-with-driver-in-north-co-dublin/
That'd be an area well known to a lot of the people on the forum here. RIP.
This person is a legend. One of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet.
Racing will never be the same without her. The women's bunch (and everyone else)are devastated. She was only 25.
Horrendous. I live near there and pass by most days. Hopefully the gardai get to the bottom of what happened. RIP.
Don't get your hopes up. You can kill a cyclist while driving on the wrong side of the road and walk out of Court an innocent man.