Stunning.
https://a-z-animals.com/blog/the-largest-farm-in-the-entire-world-is-bigger-than-11-u-s-states/
And they blaming the 80acre Irish farm.
I read that article and each and every single one of those farms is understocked.
Mudanjiang City Mega Farm has over 100,000 dairy cows and covers an impressive 22.5 million acres
Surely it should have 22.5 millions cows to meet the ideal number of a cow per acre
Only if it's on the best of land, with perfect infrastructure, limitless labour, and no debt. Or in others words, a research/demo farm here 😀
Ok. Would this one suit you. What's the story, why is this for auction
Think it was discussed on here lately, that's John gibbons home place. The mother passed away last year I think and the family selling it.
It's leased to a man long term, he put a rotary on it and is milking 500 cows there. Dunno much more than that
Be nice to have alright
That's it. I said here before if Gibbons had anything about him he'd buy it and rewild it or at least do that to his share. He's quick enough to preach on the airwaves everyweek and now he has a chance to practice what he preaches. I don't usually listen to Today FM so I dunno if Matt Cooper has puleld him up on it yet or asked him about it
It would make a nice out farm lol
Ideal block for silage for that Chinese outfit
Anyone recommend a lab to get a full analysis of a water sample which also explains the findings?
JHG analytics, there in airport business park in waterford
A big contractor around here was charging 120 plus VAT 3-4 years ago. Not sure what they're at now.
Apparently they'd quote 120 and later add the VAT on when collecting.
They seemed to abuse loyal customers.
Silage around here is 150 inc vat for first cut last year, can't see them dropping the price with all the problems trying to hold onto staff.
say 7 bales to the acre at 14 euro and a euro to haul them and 1.5 for plastic works out at 115 per acre. If you make more than 7 acre its going to be sh*t.
I mow ,trd out and stack myself for bales
25 /acre mow
10 /acre ted
10/acre to rake
8 euro /bale for fusion baler with film
3.80 /bale for plastic
70euro/hour for bale chaser
call it 50 cent/bale for me to stack
at 8 bales/acre that’s 140 per acre before bale chaser
Any recommendations on scrapers? Was considering rope ones but might look to the robot ones, anyone fitted the robot ones and how are you finding them? I'd imagine they're considerably more expensive?
170 for first cut here last year. Not very big acres. But they answer the phone and come when they say. I like a big heavy, strong first cut. I make the quality bales for after calving. There was feck all in the swarths around here up to now. It's better to have it in the pit than to be looking for it next April
Depends on the shed, I've the basic Lely worked out cheaper than 4 short scrapers. If you have 2 long passages I'd say the rope looks like a good job
The plastic and the drawing is a killer. I have about 20 acres to cut in the outfarm. Light crop, only got 1 bag of pasture sward a couple of weeks ago and the place is run out anyway. Will throw it in the pit I'd say if only for the convenience of it.
Have dairy power here. In 4 years. 4x 10 Bay runs. Very happy with them. Had thrm in old set up too
Dairy man
Did 30 acres today, was grazed in February, got slurry in late January. No fertiliser as it was so wet. Over 200 bales. Pain in my hole drawing them in. Dry cow bales
Will be at pit 2moro, throwing anything strong in, save drawing more of those yokes
Had a cow go down in the collecting yard this evening. She struggled to stand but I got her up and to a pen with a good depth of dung. Not sure what the problem was so I called the vet. Not tetany he thought, cow was mad for meal when tried so not sick as such. Eye was good, no temperature. She milked perfectly this morning. Vet was stumped so gave anti inflammatory in case she was hurted. Just went out to check her there now as she seemed in a bit of distress at about 10 o clock and was bloated. Had rang vet again and he said he would call by in the am again but get her on her sternum to stop bloating. Did this and she wouldn't stay on it. She is dead in the pen now and was alive 30 mins ago because I could see her on the camera. Any ideas folks?
Was she kicking at herself?
Gut blockage
Vet should've been able to diagnose that
A Cork man is running the whole operation with an auld herring bone parlour.
No better man, no better county.
Hard enough to diagnose digestive problems without opening them.
Lost a cow to listeria the other day. Phuck it anyway, just when things were going good. Poor old cow was jinxed I'd say, she lost a pap a few weeks previous. I'm curious to know how the bacteria got in to her brain. I wonder could it have gotten in through where the pap was surgically removed.
They're on OAD though due to the distance they have to walk..