Navan- disgusting homophobic attack on schoolboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,747 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I suspect most men have not punched and beaten a defenceless fela.

It wasn't a fair fight. It was not normal behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,789 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Absolutely disgusting. All sorts of rumours about what led to it, some dubious claims. Regardless, there is zero excuse for any human to lay hands on another like that. Animals. Hope the lad makes a full recovery.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

As an adult now, you should be ashamed of taking part in group beatings of defenceless kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

While it was a reprehensible attack it's nothing that doesn't happen every day across the country outside schools ,the school will release a statement saying how they are an inclusive are and take a Zero tolerance to bullying ,the guards will go quite and no charges will be brought and it will be referred back to the school to deal with,the victim might get to make a statement about how they don't feel safe anymore and the Story will disappear in a few days,

The school will refer several for some restorive practice.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Why? It won’t change a thing.

It happens and it should be investigated, and the culprits should be apprehended. I just don’t like that assumed reasons are broadcasted as facts when they aren’t even clear yet.

We need to stop treating teenagers as if they are somehow lesser responsible for crimes. I knew right from wrong when I was 9, let alone 11 or 13 or 15-years old. People, including youth, are aware that their actions have consequences.

I understand why youth are treated differently but it doesn't make it right. These teenagers should be punished in exactly the same way, if not worse, as adults would. You cannot expect teenagers to change their behaviour if it's considered anything less than a crime of equal nastiness (irrespective of whether it will be classified as a hate crime or not).

Then, let the teachers in schools around the country tell their own students what happened, and how the lives of those teenagers have now been destroyed by at least 10-years in prison.

That would act as a massive deterrence. Not completely, but better than the system we currently have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,747 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The original tweet which contained the video made reference to the fact the perpetrators were Muslim and they did it for religious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,673 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Reading some of the comments on this and it seems that when the parents first reported it to the gardai they were told by the gardai that they had better things to do. Now whether that is true or not, I am hoping it's not true but if it is the Gardai have questions to answer as well as to why the parents were dismissed when they first reported it. As for the people involved in this they should be removed from the school and should be charged. Disgusting.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

I've found unedited video of the attack, the male victim has pink hair big fuckin deal pink hair and theres roughly 12 or 14 youths aged 14ish-older taking vids and doing the beat down. Most aren't locals, the kicks in the face he gets are from a local kid aged about 14 with blonde hair. It's pretty nasty but I think he was set up by his own, if thats your pal you go in feet and fists first take no prisoners defending him. Nobody defended him.

That's the problem with these stories.

The rumours are the real killer here

All sorts of stories about the bible /Quran getting burned,etc and gardai claiming they had better things to do.

I do not believe the Gardai said anything like that, probably spread by lads who have grudges against the Gardai, we know the kind. Maybe we'll find out later on.

As for the book burning. Stupid idiotic thing to burn books, any books, that sh1t stays in the past. If it even happened.

But regardless of that, it does not excuse, there is Zero excuses to pummel a kid like that. That is just assault, plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

teenagers should be punished in exactly the same way, if not worse, as adults would.

What then? Send them to Bakhmut to fight real Big-B Bullies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Judges struggle to hand out 10 years sentences for serious crimes let alone for kids bullying and fighting which happens day in and day out,our prisons are practically full as it is ,let alone banging up teens for bullying or fighting,

No country has gotten a handle on this type of behavior,now the bullying is a 27/7 thing and there's zero protection anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

As I said maybe I missed it, but I didn’t hear anything in the video that would confirm this. It’s possible of course.

There's a big difference between two school lads settling it out with a few punches (seen it plenty of times, it's still wrong, but often those lads are fine with each other after) and a group of lads targeting a particular individual and landing them in hospital.

The bullying thing is scary as back in my day, bully's were confined to schools, but thanks to social media, they can be so insidious and right inside your home.

The only solution I can see is to bring a hammer down on lads and girls like this. They have been educated on this, they know its wrong, but they also feel there is no consequences to their actions because they feel the law protects them and not their victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭nachouser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Very shocking video.

Feel very bad for the kid beaten.

I see the school has turned off comments on their facebook and twitter accounts.

That means the law and judging system is wrong.

People should be punished with the full force of the law. If that means longer sentences and more prisons, then so be it.

I don't want people like those who effectively almost killed a person, roaming around the streets. Some people, whether we like to admit it or not, are beyond help and will always pose a threat to other people in society.

Ridiculous question.

To ask you what you yourself mean when you say teenagers should be punished worse than adults? Feel free to elucidate.

Those who committed this crime - which borders on almost killing someone - should be punished at least as bad as adults, if not worse.

They are conscious of their actions, yet act regardless.

And yes, perhaps we should make examples out of these teenagers to show to their peers that teenagers will be held accountable for their actions - and their age will not immunise their behaviour from punishment.

There needs to be an active deterrence, and I suggest we hastily create it.

if not worse.

Yes that's the part I'd like to understand what you mean by.

If teenagers acted on the assumption that they were somehow more immune to punishment, then punishing teenagers more creates the deterrent that they may well be punished more than adults, depending on the circumstances in question.

I would suggest this case is one of those.

I do not care one iota what these teenagers think or feel about the matter. Sometimes examples need to be made, and there isn't a non-discriminatory way of achieving this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

While it was a horrible cowardly attack, it’s nothing I didn’t witness myself on several occasions in secondary school in the early to mid nineties, no camera phones to record back then of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Seems strikingly obvious to me I mean the ringleader who instigated was clearly of that ethnicity, is there some kind of denial of this? ..well I dunno it takes as “special” kind of fantasy island that tries to pair off the two cultures most at odds with each other in the world, that’s all I’m sayin have at it dudes…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,899 ✭✭✭Allinall

We’re the motives for the attacks similar in the nineties?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,709 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

One person defended him and pushed 3 separate attackers off him towards the end (guy with green backpack)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Cody montana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,590 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

This is Ireland, all those involved will get a talking to and a lollipop .