People who use the Irish language version of their name.
For example, people who were born, christened and registered as Paul Murphy, for example, who start going by Pól Ó'Murachú.
You're well aware that for many "culchie" is a synonym for a country bumpkin, hick, yokel etc and for others it's just an inaccurate term for anybody from an urban area, and your insistence on calling everyone outside Dublin (incl or excl NI) would make you sound like a tosser to them. It's simple, don't call people what you know they don't want or don't like to be called.
Jackeen is not fine. Call me a west brit so.
Jackeen is widely used by country folk to describe people from Dublin and their aping of British culture.
People that suddenly stop dead in their tracks on a busy street, they look behind them and can see people approaching them and that they are obstructing peoples path but don’t have the manners to move out of the way.
There was an elderly lady in the supermarket blocking egress to all and sundry trying to exit with their trolleys, now I kind of took it she was maybe in early Alzheimers. I was first in line of the people trying to get past as she had her trolley parked across the narrow corridor at the end of the tills, I didn’t say anything as I thought she was about to move and I didn’t want to be rude or put pressure, I’ve mobility issues myself. She then turned around and said “oh do t worry, it’s ok”, that really confirmed maybe the touch of dementia.
Then a staff member noticed the blockade and asked her to move, she didn’t and just looked vacant. That was fine if she didn’t understand, but her daughter was there pushing down the items for the mother to pack and she too ignored the staff member very politely asking for the trolley to be pulled aside. Said staff member ended up having to manipulate the trolley herself, “sorry, but we need to let people pass”. Both of them stared at her in complete puzzlement.
I’ll let the elderly mother off the hook here, but the daughter might have been a tosser or else she was befuddled with her mother and stress.
This guy is a grade A tosser
I pass many examples of this 😡 and it’s getting more difficult for me to get by such an obstacle
why? 🤔
Thats not really a tosser thing though. I dont ever say hello to anybody on the street when im out walking unless i personally knew them and if someone says anything to me i ignore them and walk on. I dont even make eye contact. Yes its a very peculiar trait here in Ireland to want validation from strangers, you dont get that in bigger cities and countries.
It's not validation. I don't need acceptance from other people outside my close family and friends. A simple nod or "how're you" is fine. It's not onerous.
That attitude is not cool. You'll wonder why your neighbours don't give a crap or won't give you a dig out.
It wouldn't cost you anything to display some good manners.
I dont understand that viewpoint. Why would you greet or talk to complete strangers? As stated, if i bumped into a friend on the street then a chat would be typical before you both go on your way but other than that eyes ahead and keep going.
Its common sense really to just keep to yourself. I would never reply to some randomer and even if i was forced to, i cant imagine what words i would say. "Oh...hi...you".
Because footpaths are for people, not for cars. It is illegal to park on a footpath.
For extra points there is no footpath on the other side of the road so this tool is forcing people to walk into traffic
Because they are human beings.
What if you collapsed while out walking alone, it would probably be a stranger that would come to your aid. You would talk to them then.
I have seen it before a couple of times when asking for directions, the person you ask completely ignore you, that is a horrible person in my opinion.
It could have been an emergency. you never know.
You do know. It wasn't. It happens all the time.
Why would you need to park on the footpath in an emergency? Just stop on the road.
The car might have broke down.
So leave it on the road. Or push it onto the road, which will take twenty seconds. There's no excuse for blocking a footpath.
But we both know that didn't happen. This is just some tosser who has decided that he doesn't want any motorist to have to go to the extensive effort of turning their wheel, so he's going to block old people, people with disabilities, parents with buggies instead.
Thats different though.
You pass potentially hundreds of strangers on a weekly basis, why on earth would you acknowledge all of them? This isnt a thing outside of Ireland. We have a peculiar trait over here where we need to know all and sundry about people.
You don't acknowledge all of them.
When it comes to an auld lad saying hello to you in a lift it’s definitely weirder not to reply.
Don't feed the troll........
There seems to be an epidemic of "broken down" cars around my area 🤣 or maybe just a bunch of tossers
This comment immediately made me think of this😂
Couples who go down to breakfast in a hotel in their bathrobes. Screams of tosser material
jeez...if it was up to me id be in a bathrobe all the time 😥
Gimps going down to Starbucks in the slab, to bring coffee back to the gaff.
What is "the slab"? Is it a car?
Some sort of Tosser lingo.