did your advisor tell you your options, ie. export slurry, temporary grazing agreement etc.
You'd like to think that's what lads would be at, but penny didn't drop around here yet anyway..more,more,more the motto still
Where are these lads getting finance? Banks are gone very sticky now
I'm doing that already exporting slurry etc it's all soil samples off the ground your exporting it to and all that going forward on the stock numbers they don't seem too bothered with young stock it's the cows they want gone asap
Plus the fact that you have to export more slurry than before also. Can't export to a derogation farmer and there are alot more farmers in derogation. Having to cut cow numbers by nearly half sounds like alot. You must have been very highly stocked or lost land or something.
Highly stocked common enough I'm told
Easy for me to say this but just remember it's only cows and it's only money.
I'm concerned for some farmers mental health with all this pressure from all angles. There is life outside of farming. Sounds like the retirement scheme may suit you so best of luck with that.
There is no pressure from outside angles. Any pressure is built from within.
Some need a bit more
Some want a bit more
Some can't get enough
Now that's just a rubbish statement 🙄
I wouldn't be worrying about anyone else, let them work away...
Biggest first cut here tonage wise I'd say ever, not getting to graze half the farm this spring had at least one benefit
Progress
Best of luck with all
which parlour are you putting in ?
How many units 24?
You should consider volunteering for the Samaritans with your level of empathy.
Thanks, pearson
Ye 24 have 15 atm
They seem to be getting popular, and hear good reports about them in general..best of luck with it
But everyone will probably work out the same as ever. Fair enough last year was record breaking but over a five year period it all balances out. If there’s a way of making margin out of milking a cow farmers will milk them. Kelly’s are cashing in while the market is high imo. They’ll probably bring in €350k and buy a farm or something. The market is flying for top quality stock and they’ll see what will happen with derogation in the next year or so. If by some miracle the 220kg doesn’t come in and milk prices recover they’d have 100 heifers put to the bull easily and be back up again. This is a big step but for the likes of them they’d be back up in no time if they wanted to. And we’re doing what they intended doing- we’re talking about the fine cows that will be available for sale from the Monamore herd.
Didn’t read the article but they’ve timed it to perfection if they’re having their sale mid summer. The sun will be high. Best milk cheques of the year are fresh in the account. Showing will be underway. A certain type of pedigree breeder will go to make an investment in their herd and pay big money for 1/2 deep pedigree heifers to admire in the field of a Sunday. The spring sales are for people buying cows to milk and for people selling cows cause they can’t milk them for the year. Summer sales are for people looking for one off purchases
Took a quick glance through their 2022 catoluge and it's strange the milk recording figures for dams are on the floor 3.7bf 3.2p for the first couple I looked at but the herd average is 9000kgs at 3.55p and 4 plus bf when I seen their using king doc I stopped glancing through it, that type of genetics has no place on 99.9% of Irish dairy farms unless your breeding show ponies.....
Re land rental prices it's getting to a stage now where you in all likelihood will buy 3 ton of Barley of the combine for what dairy farmers are paying to have the privilege of farming the ground and dropping another couple of 100 euro on fertilzier/contractor fees etc to get any return from it, makes no logically sense
My point re the cows is they’re a purchase for a cow lover. Someone hoping to breed that EX cow. New bloodlines. When you see King Doc or Crushabull you know there’s only one desired outcome. Nobody will buy them all. Machinery men buy vintage tractors with their profits. Cow men buy fancy cows. (I should say people I know). People with sense spend it on fast cars and faster w…..
There’s all big talk about big land prices but how much of it is coming to fruition. Have a look at the property price register and it often tells a different story. There’s a nice 60 acre farm not far from me and despite so the talk it’s been on the market for rent for a few months now. Owner is holding out for €350/acre I believe. Yes it’s big money but if you were to believe all the talk it should be closer to €450. Not golden vale by any stretch but all ground is fit to cut silage on. It’s the likes of these areas where milk will be made up for. Fair enough in extremely intensive areas ground is gone mad dear but that will be made up for in parts of the country where it’s not. There’ll be no mass exodus.
I was flicking TV channels there the other night. Fran mc nulty was on prime time with some consumer champion giving out about the price of dairy products. I didn't watch much so I don't know if there was anyone there to stand up for dairy farmers but I heard Fran saying "How could the price of butter be gone up, I mean the cows just eat grass and grass didn't go up in price". Talk about clueless from a man that should know better.
Did all this go unchallenged? Shops have been dropping the price of dairy products since seeing as we are such an easy target.
Would it be a safe assumption to make that Tirlan is the most heavily indebted co-op/joint venture in the dairying world realative to milk pool
It's bananas the debt levels the co-op is now on the hook for can't see it ending well, given what's managing it
I’m blue in the face standing up at IFA meetings asking if a professional PR person could be hired in Bluebell. Their full time job should be getting out on every radio and TV program and charming the presenter. Have a solid narrative and then tell it in a way that gives the presenter and the audience some ammunition to slow down the simplistic “green” propaganda.
But IFA hq seem to be completely against the idea. The construction federation don’t send out a bricklayer to talk for them so why do we continue to send out farmers?
Ironically the construction industry hired Tom Parlon.
And that irony is lost on the crowd in Bluebell
The thing is with the IFA is all about the boss, the big man moving up the political ladder, Its the same at local county level. Lads with ambitions to move on to greater things. FA to do with farmers welfare. Shure if you stood up at an IFA meeting and suggested something to benefit farmers you would be dismissed as a crank.
They still have a big chunk of Glanbia, so I assume we can expect further sell downs
That's like a heavily indebted farmer selling land every couple of years to get out of trouble, good chunk of shares locked up as security to get funding to buy out the plc also, their basically gone I'd say where would the co-op be able to pull 200 million I think the figure is in 2-3 years time to effectively get back the shares, given where interest rates are currently they couldn't
Ah the Manchester United of the milk industry