tbf, we provide allowances for car mileage - but not for commuting, which the above scheme is about.
'paying' people to commute is new; i'd not heard of it before (bar as you mention, subsidised public transport).
How would they verify it? Adopt the "if it's not on Strava..." rule?
I'd stand to top up my earnings by a cooooool €65 (or if I was a bit less lazy, €108) a week... that'd be nice!
should be easy enough - take the start and end point, allow google maps to plot a route for cycling and add 10% or 20% to the distance.
I presume each employee would have to provide a distance (to their payroll dept.) between home and the office and it would be calculated on this basis.
As for your €65, the distance per day that is tax free is 40km - anything over that is taxable so you would be paying tax on the tenner between €55 (40km * 5 days * €0.27) and €65.
This. You give an address, and the distance from there to your workplace is calculated. You wouldn't be able to take the long way home, and claim extra mileage.
If I'm sent on a training day (as a teacher), I'm given a mileage allowance, but it's based on the shortest distance to the venue from either my home, or place of work. I don't get to decide which one is my starting point.
Sure it would probably be easily implemented like the WFH allowances. I've worked under different variations on WFH allowances.
1. Company paid the allowance based on working days as part of payroll. (in this case if company assumes you cycle 20...40...60...80...100% of time each week for the shortest distance between work and home - plus/minus it's probably about right)
2. I tell HR total days I worked (or in this case cycled) to work, they give me a letter stating same to provide revenue to claim end of year.
I don't think it'd need to be overly beaurocratic to work similar, or be perfectly exact to the cent. It'd need a bit of trust, company/individual confirm expected distance straight line (to avoid sticking a 100km training route in on the way home) , and then individual is honest about days commuted by bike.
Will most people follow the rules, probably, will some pull the p, probably. Could the occasional spot check highlight abuse, possibly. No worse than the BTW scheme really, and Revenue have no interest micromanaging that with the net gain of its uptake.
My commute is 47km door to door - presume I'd get the 40km x €0.27 each way?
I'm already making the kalkulayshuns and deciding what I'm spending my €4,500 per annum on... don't take this away from me!
Public transport is subsidised though by the public, I know certain employers give free electricity to electric cars at workplaces. Probably change once adoption gets to a certain size but that is in a way paying people to commute currently.
You would be entitled to 47km X €0.27 each way. However, according to the article, there is a limit of 40km per day is tax free so you would have the 40km * €0.27 tax free plus the remaining distance of 54km ((47 + 47)-40) by the €0.27 which would be taxable.
Edit: it is limited to 40km/day. I had thought from the original post that it was taxable from 40km/day but that's not the case.
Capped at 40km so €54 a week max
Dreams. Shattered.
Oh dear...
Cyclists and pedestrians should ‘stay off the road’ when silage harvesting is underway, HSA advises (msn.com)
“These people are just working too fast to be relying on mirrors and cameras to be watching people.”
**** me.
That has to be a p!ss take from the Health and Safety Authority no less. It can't be real !?!
The trouble is as someone who lives in a rural village - this is the attitude in Summer time among some drivers of this kind of equipment. They think the rules don't apply to them.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regulatory_capture
Not that it will do much good, but it's worth making a point;
Posted this for the laugh. Hopefully it will gain traction
Just noticed that statement is referring to when they are manouvering around a farm yard, rather than the public road. It's still kind of irresponsible the way it's reported though.
Huh, they responded to me
And me too.
Sent them a gobsmacked email telling them mr Griffin should stick to his remit
“If they do want to go out on the roads and walk the roads as this is going on, wear a high vis vest even in sunny conditions.”
Fuck off with that shite
Agriculture is the last frontier in terms of health and safety.
Silage season involves very expensive tractors, a lot north of 150k each paid for on credit. I don't know how they make ends meet especially when you add in collecting off farmers.
They are then driven by a rather special group mainly quite young and a few older head bangers.
To say The Organisation of Working Time Act doesn't apply would be an understatement. I've heard of lads catching a few hours sleep in the tractors.
Add in the increased size, power and speed of modern tractors and I always think it's miraculous more serious incidents don't occur.
The RSA has published some stats for cyclist injuries as part of a campaign to raise awareness for cyclist safety amongst drivers. However, I note the RSA's continued habit of "urging" drivers to drive safely...
For the above campaign...
On the mid-week phenomenon, RSA Head of Research said; "“It’s very much a midweek phenomenon [with] 62 per cent of cyclists’ injuries occurring early to midweek, Monday to Thursday,” she said."
Monday to Thursday is 57% of the week, so it's really NOT VERY MUCH of a mid-week phenomenon.
As someone who drives a tractor and makes silage down home, our tractor isn't even worth a 40th of 150k. I have been driving a tractor on my own since I was 7 (Ford dexta, we still have it, what a machine!). The majority are safe and responsible. Are there young ones flying around the place? For sure. Are they a minority? Yes. Are they on every form of transport? Also yes.
You rely on your tractor and machinery for work, you're not gonna be tearing it out of it. Lads driving for contractors are another story, but most are related/ neighbours/ closely connected to the owners, so they're not gonna intentionally hoon about, although some do. Again not the majority. A neighbour did end up in the canal in a new tractor and trailer though that said. That was a rarity!
Defence of the silage making masses over!
The Farming Indo also regurgitated it earlier so you can imagine it's now become a biblical type commandment for some.
same idiot was giving out tractor safety certs earlier in the week…
Are you the Farmer?
The licence required for your Ford Dexa is the same for any modern John Deere, Massey Ferguson etc in spite of their mass being multiples of it and a top speed of circa 60km/h rather than 25km/h.
So while the kinetic energy of these machine are orders of magnitude higher the licencing and training (none) has stayed the same.
Modern tractors have more in common with HGVs that they do the type of tractor you refer to.
Of course it's not only power/speed but visibility and blind spots which are a huge issue.
I'm sure you had a great childhood but I take you are not championing the rights of 7 yr olds to drive tractors.
If you look at the fatality stats in the work place agriculture stands stubbornly alone in how it has not improved over the years. My own community has lost two teenagers in the last 19yrs with tractor and quad accidents and yet you still see stupid sh1t locally with the same machines.