Seeing as Elton has now rescheduled his Dublin gigs, might be useful to start a 2023 thread as others might start popping up.
The Commitments - 7th - 19th February (Olympia Theatre)
Elton John - 28th/29th March (3Arena)
And nothing was lost
Todays announcement, one of many to come, but fills the 4 nights at Cork Opera House:
Wilco(support - Anna Mieke),
Feist
Bonny Light Horseman, (rte concert orchestra, arrangement by Bryce Dresner
Lighthouse Constellations(hosted by Ye Vagabonds) a evening of “collaborations”
Ooof, Wilco in cork on a Saturday is lovely
Forgot Ye Vagabonds, their gig is at 6pm so dunno does that mean there could be another gig after in Opera House or elsewhere.
Will be interesting to see what artists play venues like St. Luke's, Everyman etc and who will play the free music trail.
There won't be a leather jacket available in Dublin for days leading up to this
Well spotted on 6pm, yes, highly likely, there well be another act on Sunday night, am hoping for Jon Hopkins, for a late gig.
Its unclear, if the ground floor seats will be taken out, but would assume so. This will mean more tickets available, as standing on ground floor adds a few hundread.
Yeah Jon Hopkins played before so you never know, could play again this year.
I'd say all bar Wilco would be more suited to a sitting gig but maybe they will take seats out for more capacity either way. If Wilco were the last act it would have been easier to have 3 gigs sitting in a row and 1 standing say.
For people trying to get tickets it might be a bit easier as Bonny Light Horseman also playing the National Concert Hall and Wilco already playing the Olympia.
Some of the gigs also clashing with the Rugby World Cup but dunno would there be a huge crossover in the audience. France v NZ Friday at 8 (Ireland's potential quarter final opponents), England v Argentina Saturday at 8 and Scotland v South Africa Sunday at 6 (both in Ireland's group).
Saxon back again so soon, great stuff.
Tommy Prine (John Prine's son) playing Whelans on Tuesday 22nd August
https://twitter.com/TommyPrine/status/1653432539195867137
Wilco very nice indeed, any idea on prices?
Nialler9 has it at 50e plus booking fees. https://nialler9.com/sound-from-a-safe-harbour-feist-wilco-bonny-light-horseman-more-announced-for-cork-festival/
Will mods move this to the 2024 thread please and thanks
Had other matters on my mind at the time and didn't realise it was the '2023 thread'
Protomartyr coming to Galway, Limerick & Dublin on October 19-21.
For the one person who might be interested; Unsane's gig in Lost Lane on May 12th has been moved to the Grand Social. Must say i'm happier with that development.
The Wedding Present visiting Belfast, Dublin, Cork & Limerick from September 7-10th.
Very hard not too see a bar or 3 at the venue
Ah no . There will be bars.
Judge has asked for ..four ! ..extra guards to be on duty according to that article 😊
That's one for every resident that objected ?
May 12th Tom Meighan (Tom from Kasabian) in opium rooms, he cancelled his Cork gig citing his stage show being to big
Also....my band "Strangers With Guns" are supporting them
Absolutely. That's one for Mary, one for Nicola, one for Majella and sure one more for Mary. You know what Mary's like.
Stage show too big haha okay.
By "stage show" I presume he means his own ego, that would need a separate truck itself!
Best of luck Joffrey though, hope you have a good crowd for it
Thanks for letting me know your band has no issues with domestic abusers, means I'll never have to worry about seeing yous.
Oh ffs. What sort of a take is that? If that is true, it's the first I've heard about it. It's possible I'm not the only one. Why don't you take it out on the guy himself rather than a fellow Boardsie who's bagged a decent gig?
He was tried and convicted of beating his missus, that's why he's not in Kasabian anymore, I'm sorry that you don't keep up with the news.
And I am taking it out in him, by not going to his gig, nor will I support anyone who willingly takes a gig with him.
The ins and outs of Kasabian have largely passed me by, so apologies for my ignorance. By all means avoid the miscreant in question. My point was that your beef was with him, not the poor sod trying to get a foot on the musical ladder.
Are you going to disassociate with all the banking institutions, charities, hospitals, education, religious and other services that employ people with questionable character.
If you don't then you're not living up to the standards you are setting.
All power to you, but is it practical way to live when applied in practice?
If you find me Tom's boards account I'll gladly say the same.
Again, it's you finding fault with @Joffrey that I find ridiculous.
Partaking in banking instead of foraging and bartering = willingly taking a gig with a convicted woman beater. Your math is flawless.
That's a funny meme and point taken.
But no I'm just pointing out that it's a selective moralism.
Criticizing other people for things you are also guilty of however indirect is a hypocrisy.
Which we are all guilty of in our day to day.
Just thought it was interesting.
Listening to some podcasts on similar topics and just found it interesting in a real life case.
But yes, we don't like wife beaters. That's very true and my points are not in the interest of absolving anyone.
Ah here man, I did do research on this, I feel you've seen a headline and gone guilty
Vikki Ager, the woman who's he is guilty of assaulting, they have since gotten married
She pleaded with police to drop the charges they refused, she didn't want charges pressed
He's been to rehab since and kicked the sauce, both have said it was a pissed up scuffle
For what he's said or what it's worth, he got the worst of it
I wasn't there, don't know the in's and outs, but she has forgiven him and married him so who am I to say that's not good enough
P.S Kasabian booted him because serg has always wanted to front that band, blatantly
@hynesie08