American pale ale is a style like India pale ale. No one is trying to pretend it's an American beer.
Fair enough.
Irish stout is very much a style, just as IPA, is.
Ya I get that. Beernut above has already explained where I see the difference.
Yes, that made sense.
I also wouldn't have bothered explaining APA if I had realized it was posted by a regular poster.
I follow them on socials - seemed to be exclusively going into UK pubs for the last year to 18 months. I guess makes sense to avoid Brexit issues - I wonder will it be much of an impact to Dundalk?
Anyone heading to the Mullingar Wild Beer Festival next weekend? https://twitter.com/wild_fest_gar
Aside from seeing the statue of Joe Dolan is there anything else of note to do there? Smiddy's Pub that's hosting the festival doesn't actually seem to do much decent beer. Any other pubs worth a visit?
Only time I ever got drunk in Mullingar I thought I was hallucinating from the drink when I started to see signs for Lilliput.
Isn't there a sort of sister pub of Dublin's PMacs in Mullingar?
Columbia is the P Mac's sister pub.
I'll be there. Last year I arrived as the festival started and left when it ended so didn't see anything else in town, other than a chipper.
Always a good resource.
Nice time had at the sour beer festival in Mullingar yesterday. Plenty of variety, generous pours. Glad to get a taste of a good spread of Land & Labour beers as they've been hard to find up north.
And it's nice paying €5 for a pour rather than €15 for a bottle.
I'll be there on Saturday.
Conor McGregor has bought the Porterhouse Brewery.
Is it just the brewery or the various pub chains as well ?
No pubs.
Jaysus, we can't have anything nice... between that gobshite buying a decent brewery and Pernod Ricard deciding to resume selling Jameson to the Russians because profit is more important than war crimes, it's been a bad week.
They appear to have backtracked on that.
https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/jameson-owner-pernod-ricard-to-halt-exports-to-russia-after-backlash/a444948962.html
I wonder if Grand Cru are impacted by the purchase of Porterhouse Brewery. I'm guessing they're a separate entity, but it'll be interest to see
They have backtracked on that.
And like most things, it isn't as simple as it might appear. I do think that there could well be something in their claim that they do have a responsibility to their staff in Russia.
They backtracked, but only when they were caught.
Pernod Ricard employ approximately 300 staff in Russia, according to their website. They made €1.6 billion profit in 2021. They could, if they wanted, furlough their entire Russian staff on full pay for the duration, and not notice.
"The Group’s mission is to unlock the magic of human connections by bringing “Good Times from a Good Place”, in line with its Sustainability and Responsibility roadmap" according to their annual report, and they're doing that by selling alcohol to the people who are firing cruise missiles at apartment blocks and maternity hospitals in a neighbouring country.
They don't have a responsibly to their Russian staff.
That is 100% the point of sanctions is to make life hard for the people who are supporting the maniac. And the majority of Russia is supporting the maniac.
Look, you won't find me a supporter of Russia, in any way,but I'm not so sure I agree with you on this. Their Russian staff could end up being prosecuted if the business there fails. I believe every employer has a responsibility towards their employees.
At, least that was IDL's argument. Like I said, I don't believe it's as simple as people make out.
They didn't, in fact, backtrack: https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2023/0430/1379998-jameson-russia/
And if you close down operations and make people redundant, there is no "intentional bankruptcy". Warehouse operatives won't have too much trouble getting more similar work in a country that's on a war footing. Sorry, a "special military operation" footing.
Brewdog Cork had closed after 9 months
Wonder what happened there. Seems like it was doing well
Unless they lost their license very suddenly for a violation of something that is a shockingly shtty way for Westside Leisure to treat the staff.
They were selling Heineken and Molson beers recently, which suggests they either weren't turning enough profit and/or struggling to get locals in the door.