Lucky to have the son and father though. Lots of farmers don't have the family to help out so have to have less animals as a result.
Arla with another hefty cut today pulls their price down below the 40 cent a litre barrier converted to Irish standard price of 38 cent a litre for may milk
I'd say we are in for two more 2-3 cent a litre cuts on both April and May milk prices if that's all Arla are able to pay
Just goes to show what retailers think of primary producers ….pure disgrace but we shouldn’t be surprised …..you’ll still have the few coops left supplying liquid milk to these retailers tendering for these contracts at little to no margin …..thankfully Arrabawn are gone from that rat race now
That is still 1.10 a litre@3.5% fat and protein for full fat and 1.5%fat and 3.5%protein for low fat, skim sells at around the same price. I would not be too worried this could only be a face saving action by Lidl. I be more worried if some other supermarket up the ante.
Liquid milk sales are a small part of the total milk market. The grocery retailers have price gouged consumers over the last 6 months. There margins have increased substantially.
The convenience sector has gone nuts. Deli and prepared food prices have gone crazy. There is very little change out of a tenner if you get a sandwich and a coffee or tea. The chicken roll is the breakfast roll of the noughties. It's 5.5 now in most places and a tad more in some places
There is a vast abundance of cafe's nowadays. It's hard to get away with less than 15 euro if you get something in these places.
I had presumed that interest rates would max out in mid summer this year. The IMF wants the ECB to continue them.into next year.
It's time to hunker down and watch costs again.
I saw 500ml milk from a dairy in the same town priced at €1.29 in a Spar shop yesterday. Nothing short of blackguarding.
Fair blackguarding alright considering the price of bottled water. Using milk as a loss leader should beade illegal again.
How much of our milk actually ends up on the supermarket shelf ? Not a lot
Well, quite a bit ends up processed into other products like butter and yoghurt. Are input costs not down, and this is just a reflection of this? Everyone giving out about inflation for 18 months and now IFA giving out about inflation ending. Hard to know what to think.
How did you manufacture that anti IFA thougt in you head?
It is not anti IFA, just a comment in what was on news thus morning. They weren't making similar comments last year when prices were soaring. Fair play for standing up for their members but not all the audience will buy their BS.
My point was the price to the farmer has dropped and it 60c dearer in this shop compared to a small shop at the other end of the town. Id say you could verify these prices yourself handy enough.
And anybody spending 1.55 in a supermarket for a half litre if water is an idiot. You will but own brand for half that and a pack of 12 for three euro. By right you should have a reusable bottle cost a couple of euro and bring your water with you.
We all have to live inflation has to subside for everyone's sake.
Plenty people have no bother paying for bottled water but complain about the price of milk. The product is being undervalued.
Look at kids paying 15 euro for a bottle of prime, more fool them
And you probably wasted the rest…..😜😜
And we should never forget that the only thing water companies make is plastic bottles
(or import from China)
Lakeland down again.
How much
4 cent
How much is that down from peak? 16c?
Nearer 20 cent I think, seems for all the bord bia quality approved, our customers demand chlorine free milk, 8 week calf rules coming in, plus reducing our greenhouse gas emissions on farm, our co-ops are still only able to get wholesale commodity prices, at the back of it all for our Milk....
That’s it ….our cooop wisely put guts of 30 million into new casein plant which we were told would shield us from market troughs and not be as dependant on commodities …which will lead to us getting a better milk price ….we’re cutting price at more/less same level as everyone else
all the green washing they are doing won't cut any ice either
Rearranging the deck chairs on the titanic springs to mind, if we do get down to 33 cent our lower then its glaringly obvious they are spinning us a load of bulls**t re premium markets etc... .
If that's the case the hoops they want us to go through need to be forgotten about, as if co-ops can't even pay the cost of production to suppliers how can they except us to keep towing the line it doesn't work, a stick without a carrot isn't feasible longterm
Darragh mccullough writing in yesterday’s farming indo section says dairy farmers have rarely had it so good, crying over spilt milk etc, actual quotes, blood was boiling reading it. Every year more crap put on farmers, more pressure, more uncertainties, have to milk more cows for less. If this 4 day working week takes off with same pay and conditions I’ll be getting out of farming as fast as possible. Not worth the hassle.
He's unreal the way he loves to have a dig at dairy farming. I wouldn't buy that paper over him.
isn't he involved in a dairy partnership of some description? he's not the only columnist that would stop me from buying farming indo
From a dairy farm in a dairy partnership. I don't read the farming independent but often wondered does anyone read the stuff before it's printed
Any chance of a pic?
I think he has notions of causing contravassy.
Nail on the head - that sounds like a lazy click-bait article.
My mother still gets the Indo most days so I pick up the farming section the odd time. I’ve read a few of his recent articles.
He had a good one on brand names about a month ago. You can tell when the content of an article like that matters to the fella writing it. But he’s apparently a busy man (according to himself) and I’m guessing the deadline to submit an article was ticking last week. The easiest thing then is to write a rant.