wtf is going on? Bizzarre
You argue an awful lot. But i know you know what a strategy is.
Here's one of his latest tweets. Talks about 'an independent media platform' and 'freedom of speech'. Considering he's now on the books of RT which really doesn't do either of these, he has some neck in all fairness.
It appears Deputy Martin is not quite as loose-tongued when not cloaked in the benefits of Dáil privilege.
I'd also imagine his advisors gave him a tongue-lashing.
Golfgate? the champagne reception after the UN security council vote?
The idea that Irish media is complicit in aiding the government is offensive and conspiratorial garbage. And relies on a pretty questionable memory.
You'd swear there had never been a political scandal before the Ditch came along.
Nobody on here saying otherwise....
May 6th 2023? He resigned next week?
Brain fart. I meant March!
Still don’t know what mrs Collins did wrong…….
As far as we know Mrs Collins has not done anything wrong.
They all have some neck. Personal hobby horses from big grudges.
They need to be challenged every hour of every day.
Thanks, what has mr Collins done wrong?
They aren't media. They are political campaigners dressed up as a media interest that is answerable neither to SIPO nor the Press Council.
What they did report was substantially true, but what happened is not a violation of the Local Government Act, nor a crime. The Ditch spent the last few weeks trying to put a slant on it that it IS wrongdoing, by the language of their coverage. It is at the level of harassment now.
Paul Murphy can make a complaint to SIPO, safe in the knowledge that it will take ages to process and that when it comes back clearing Collins, that he Murphy won't bear any consequences for his vexatious complaint because the news cycle will be long gone and as we all know, good news is no news.
What will come back to haunt Paul Murphy is Sinn Féin taking his seat in 2025.
He exercised poor judgement by not recusing himself from a motion at an LEA meeting which was on the agenda (in whole or in part) due to his wife's actions. By so doing, he gave the appearance of impropriety, even though his attendance for the motion was neither consequential nor illegal.
Thanks, that seems like a non story to me...
Pretty much as Soon Topolino says.
If he had gone out for a smoke all would have been well.
The motion would have been carried and he would be just another Minister of State.
Mind you some people would still think he's another cute hoor but such is life.
In what way was he a cute hoor?
I didn't say he was.
Meehole blaming The Ditch, Cosgrove and Russia, what a gobshite
Is Putin funding Mrs. Collins
Total non story. Anyone getting outraged by this non-corruption non-story needs to get a life and grow a brain.
Cosgrave personally invited two very pro Russia commentators to 2022s web summit last November. It was only after a fair amount of public outcry their invites were revoked. So one of the ditches founders works directly for a Russian propaganda station and the main financial backer seems to like what pro Russian voices have to say. People absolutely should be questioning their motives.
Martin's reaction to this reminds me of little hands Trump and the way he handles the media.
It's a non story... Martins reaction was correct.
"guys, it's a non story"
22,000 views, 535 comments, after it was picked up by international news....
"guys, it's a non-story"
Maybe SOME people would like their officials to act with a little bit of integrity, and that is why this non-story has stuck around so long.
Sure, it looks like it wasn't illegal. It doesn't mean it was the correct course of action to take.
Could you tell us in small words what exactly was done wrong?
Yeah.
He did not recuse himself from a discussion that he should have.
Really not complicated.
Guy probably should have recused himself (which he said himself), but nothing illegal done and his action made no material difference to the outcome. A complete non-story despite The Ditch and Paddy Cosgrave trying to whip up a storm (which they did quite successfully).
Illegal, maybe not, but corrupt, absolutely. Can’t understand how anyone can downplay that vote. The vast majority of 12 year olds in the country would know that was completely inappropriate behaviour.
Please tell me why he should have recused himself?
No. I've said it enough times in this thread already.
If you don't think he should have recused himself, that's your problem, not mine.
His wife wrote to the council to offer to purchase the land
He supported a motion agreeing to put the land up for sale.
Its really unethical behaviour
Even Michael Martin, Leo Varadkar and Eammon Ryan all agree he should have recused himself.