Following on from here
New Munster chat thread folks. warning deserved there. https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=109477571#post109477571
Archer has been good on this tour I thought. I'm not sure anyone "beasts" scrums visiting SA.
Inspired thuggish leadership by POM to get the blood boiling and start the comeback.
Adamson really is terrible. I like most refs and feel like in general they get things right over the 80 but he's infuriating. Looked like they were very offside in the final exchanges. And we should have gone for a drop.
But that's a fantastic result all things considered.
So we're away to Glasgow in the qf
If someone said after the glasgow game we would get 7 points in SA you would have laughed at them
Had we beaten them at home we wouldn't be traveling for it.
Last time Edwin Edogbo featured in a good performance against a South African side led to how many games unbeaten?
It's science.
which game and whats the answer?
South Africa XV in PUC, and upwards of 70, though I tend to exaggerate a bit.
Fair play to Munster, to go down there and win one and draw one, defied all odds. I’d say Glasgow will not be looking forward to two weeks time with any real confidence.
Only real low point was seeing Earls coming off. It looked like he might be done.
Any idea when the exact play off fixtures should be out? Hardly as soon tonight si maybe tomorrow at the earliest?
Probably the day before knowing this lot
We can 100% go after Glasgow in the maul.
SA press very complimentary. Hadn't even considered how quickly this performance came after the Heino drubbing. Huge "ticker" indeed
An added bonus to beating Glasgow in the QF: would be the first team to beat them at home this season.
Smash n grab.
Plus if Sharks beat Leinster we’d have them in Thomond for the semi.
Mod: Abuse is not acceptable.
Mod: This is trolling. Post more constructively if you want to continue posting here.
That’s a super result, particularly with the score at HT. 7 points from the tour is a huge turnaround in both performances and results.
Thought Fineen was outstanding, his best game for us in a long time and needed in Snyman’s absence.
Lineout was exceptional and signs of a good attacking maul platform again. (POM had 2 unbelievable takes).
Another 80 mins from Archer is a ridiculous shift, even with the scrum under huge pressure.
Thought Nash, Fekitoa and Murray were all excellent (again) too.
Ultimately a great response to a really poor recent performance against the same opposition. We’ve a great opportunity to do the same vs Glasgow now. That’ll be… let’s say spicy.
Strange how the seagulls disappear once Munster come back into the game. I genuinely can't understand why posters arrive into a Munster match thread just to post negative stuff about Munster. I'd really love to know what's going on inside their head.
On the match/tour itself, I was babysitting today so only saw the match in bits & pieces. From the way the game started I thought we were never going to get a point from the game and in the end we were unlucky not to get a TBP win.
We were unbeaten in SA on this mini tour and the only downer from the tour is Earls' injury, really hope is not too bad
Player of the tournament for me was Murray, honourable mention to POM, Kleyn, Archer, Nash & Daly. Healy had two great games off the bench.
At the beginning of the season I said that not many teams would want to be going to SA looking for points, we had to and did it, 7 from a possible of ten, not too shabby and really unlucky not to get the 10/10.
Strange how the seagulls disappear
They had to get back to the seaside to pester the locals...
You've just given the Indo a click it doesn't usually get from me, in future please put a spoiler alert on links like that.
The Independent with some of its patented, top-tier, on the whistle rugby ratings:
Jaysus someone had a mare with that
Whatever about the graphics... Frisch was outstanding today I thought. Would have to watch it back to see him defensively and how he went but he's been a super signing. Would love to see him get a shot in green
lol
Phoning it in
On the whistle ratings are absolute nonsense anyway even when they don't balls it up
He was good alright, I didn’t realise he had a kick like that 50:22 in his locker.
Defensively, he made one poor read shooting when Fekitoa also did but didn’t get near his man leading to a line break.
But he’s tasked with an awful lot of scramble which he’s been really good at. He even had one rip today, as himself (and Crowley) initially went to hold up an attacker.
For all I occasionally have doubts about Fineen Wycherley due to his size he had a good game. So did Edogbo when he got on.
Murray Daly and Nash were the picks of the backline imo.
This was as good as a score for us
Good point in the comments about Coombes working quickly back from his original liftee (?) in time to help with Fineen's jump
Nash gets lucky with the ball here but you just know if there's a chance he'll be there or there abouts, he's had a super season
I genuinely believe if Fineen grew into a 6’7 19st body he’d be an international calibre player. His workrate and aggression is top class. But still, he is an important member of the Munster squad no doubt.