I actually checked and last day of submissions was two days ago 😬
Is there anywhere on here or elsewhere with a price list of EVs available in Ireland?
With the various options, battery sizes etc? Thanks
Considering how dynamic the pricing is lately such list would be pretty dated in days.
Hence is there anywhere with a maintained list?
Short answer, no
There's been a few attempts but they've gotten out of date pretty quickly
Closest you might find is the EV database which compares range, efficiency and charging
It's no good for price and spec levels though. It has guide prices for Europe but they won't match Ireland
I'd suggest using it to create a shortlist of cars that will have the range you need and then look up prices in Ireland
If you are not plugged in you are not charging and you are blocking someone else from charging.
You wouldn't park your car in front of a petrol pump and go off and do your shopping.
So to sum up....just because you drive an EV doesn't mean you can just abandon your car in front of a charger.
I could see someone being tempted to carry a wheel clamp around and just pop it on a car blocking a charger and drive off with the key
Since the driver is so attached to the parking space I'm sure they won't mind being stuck there 😁
I, of course, am not advocating such vigilante like behaviour, but could understand someone feeling like they would
Incidentally you can pick one up for something like €30 in Amazon 😉
I always felt cars should be taxed by weight, eg road tax but the change to motor tax makes that a more difficult conversation
Was checking weights recently on 2 similar cars and it's shocking how heavy modern evs are, ID3 EV 1812kg vs Corolla Hybrid 1310kg
A 500kg weight difference pounding the road ain't ideal, the ID3 which is a small hatchback weights the same as a transit van or large SUV and batteries ain't improving much, so this isn't gonna change anytime soon.
The batteries don't account for all of the c.500kg weight difference, they're 'only' 200 - 300kg.
https://bauaelectric.com/vw/inside-volkswagen-meb-id3-battery-pack-html/
A single ID3 motor weighing in at 90kg, https://insideevs.com/news/382377/vw-id3-electric-motor-compact/ would be less than a (Golf) petrol engine which I think tips the scales around 150kg? Dual motors would be slightly heavier.
The petrol will need an extra 10-60kg added to its weight to account for fuel.
Plus EVs save on the weight of gearbox/transmission.
Where does the extra c.200kg of bloat come from I wonder?
as good an attempt as any for comparisons
https://www.nevo.ie/
The campaign continues. I don't think I've ever seen a parking attendant at Rathfarnham shopping centre but feck me one is needed.
How long are the cables? Could you pull up behind the Polo, block them in and charge away? I'd be tempted just to teach them a lesson.
I didn't think it could get worse but hey ho.
Unfortunately not. If you did park behind then you are then blocking a lane of the car park.
Does anyone know what the legal situation is here? For example is there a way to send in a photo of this behaviour and the driver of the offending car gets a fine?
I'm guessing not since they'd need to be caught in the act by the parking warden and the guards don't care
On a lighter note, do you know those plastic straps that go around boxes and shipping pallets? They're pretty strong and you can just carry a reel and tensioner tool around with you
I reckon if you were quick, you could wrap it around the car and tighten it so the doors couldn't be opened 😂
It'd be trickier on a 5 door since you'd have to do it twice
Again, I'm speaking purely in theoretical terms and not advocating actually doing it 😉
It adjusted based on the current drive, temps and battery etc
The charge would have been based on the previous drive.
Have you sent them these photos? info@rathfarnhamshoppingcentre.com
You might get some response/improvement. If another couple of EV customers were to also complain, they'd be more likely to take note.
Private car park nothing to do with gardai. There was private clamping at EV spots in blanch but they stopped clamping due to complaints mainly from EVs who abandoned their cars on DC chargers for hours and went to cinema or shopping or a combination of all above.
In Sandyford luas enforce 24/7 pay parking even if charging so very likely to be clamped there or in city centre EV spots.
There really needs to be a tow away service with a phone number above each charger.
Maybe this is old news but this popped up on my feed this morning. I didn’t know they were available here
I posted it months ago. Far to expensive for what it is. Maybe at €23-25K you'd sell a few but it's around the same price as an MG4 base spec now so you'd be mad to pick the Up.
And it's manky looking 🤢
Yeah I suspected as much, unfortunately as long as EV charging is in a prime parking location then it's open to abuse
I'm starting to think putting them beside the bins around the back was the right approach
I don't think a tow away service would work in Ireland, too much risk of litigation if they damaged the car
I think naming and shaming like @mfceiling is the best approach. The one addition I would recommend would be to post it to social media for the business in question to try and get some response
Or clamp the car and drive away, wherever your mood takes you 😂
It’s probably a different segment though? I’d say it’s main competitor would be the fiat 500
surely a sign posted at every charging space stating “Any cars parked here and not actively charging will be towed away at owners expense, and towing company will not be held liable for any damage cause during removal” would cover that eventuality?
Maybe popular in Yorkshire though.
I did that last night!!
I saw an ad for this in the Irish Times over the weekend.
Absolutely laughable money for an entry level car.
It should be 10k cheaper for what it is.
Yes, this was the car that was supposed to cost €20k minus subsidies if I remember it correctly. So what VW did was to stop selling them, yank up the price by 10k, resume selling.
ALDI was able to do that with instant noodles and this other German outfit just copied the idea.
Derek at EV Review Ireland enjoyed driving the e-Up! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tHkCIAZJmxE - as a City car, not necessarily for long road trips or lengthy commutes.
But, I agree with you. It seems about €3-5k too expensive.
I've never seen a tow away service operating in Ireland, at least not for parking offences. Only time I've seen a car get towed off was for some abandoned vehicles
We don't seem to have the same setup as the US where it seems quite easy to impound a vehicle and tow it away (at least judging by the reality TV cr&p that Discovery channel shows)
I assume that's because legally towing a vehicle in Ireland is probably quite difficult. Even the case of abandoned cars I mentioned earlier did not look like a very legitimate operation, unless the council is driving around a battered hiace van nowadays 😂