RTE's new 8 episode gangland drama with an all star cast.
AMC start date is September 9th I can't see a start date for RTE just a coming soon.
Who ever trained Charlie Cox to be that Irish needs an Emmy definitely wouldn't think he wasn't Irish.
Yea I thought there was something sexual there so I thought maybe she was his sister in law, bit weird
You get the feeling that frank doesn’t want to be part of that world at all and only kind of fell into it, his henchmen don’t even respect him the lad that came into the house last night berated him for not answering the phone and had a go at him for living in filth and saying nasty stuff about Bren, in reality even if a gangland leader was a gay, no way would he take any crap just look at Ronnie Kray
There's definitely some dark secrets there. Bren's attitude to Viking's girlfriend and her friends, Birdie, Amada, Michael's reaction after finding out Bren had been in contact with Anna, Birdie's and Amanda's reactions to Bren.
No doubt about it Bren is a nasty piece of work. I reckon he'll be done away with in an inside job. It's probably only a question of how long he lasts before either his past deeds catch up with him or he tries something with someone and is killed as a result.
2.3: Now that ending was a shock! Didn't see that coming!
Was guessing about the ..
man trap system they had put into the pub but, for the life of me, I can't think of any glass or plastic that would ricochet a bullet back like that. I thought they all either absorb the bullets or break and let bullets through.
Some scenes I thought were done well were Eric reacting to Brens kill order on Kem and Bren reacting to Michael with the gun to his head.
I'd been thinking Jimmy was being played a bit weak this season, so far, but the scenes are the end where he was backing up Bren, I thought he did better. Not sure if it's the actor or just the writers giving him not much to work with the rest of the time.
It's a ridiculous character by a pretty poor actor imo .....which I think I'm still entitled too (just about)
I liked Gillen in The Wire but I honestly can't think of anything else he was good in. He was awful in Game of Thrones.
Think Frank is starting to go into himself possibly about what he's done in the past with guilt of maybe Jamies death or something and maybe isn't well health wise either and turning to God with all the mass going etc.
he does good work in indie stuff. Thought he was great in peaky blinders as well, particularly in season 5.
Frank is just a very poorly written character overall. He's supposed to be this weak and nonthreatening leader that seemingly no one respects. So how are we supposed to believe that he was the leader for so long? There are no qualities or characteristics that Frank has that explain how he's survived in the drug game. He's also not really that smart either so it makes even less sense. I have gotten the vibe that they're hinting at his death this season but he should've honestly died in the first season.
Interesting turn for Jimmy in this episode. Scanlon is a solid actor he just needs something to work with. Up until now all he's had to do is look hurt and brood. Same for Viking, the actor stepped up when given something new in this episode.
I can see Michael dying this season, I'm no expert on actor schedules but I can't see Cox being available for more.
he'll be starting to film the new/rebooted Daredevil soon enough I'd imagine.
Filming began early last month and will wrap up in November. I wouldn't expect a third season of Kin (if it gets renewed) until early 2025 at the earliest.
He was fairly good in love hate, I think he lacked he physical presence for the role but he was a bad dude. Loved him in GOT thought he was a great character.
His character in this is really poor though, not ruthless, not particularly smart either.
Have to agree I think gillen is a terrible actor very wooden and this character is terrible too
Totally agree, no way a weak dim gay individual would last a minute in that world, if a rival gang didn’t take him out his own crew would for making them look weak, franks henchmen don’t respect him at all and Bren calls him a handbag, imagine someone calling Ronnie kray a handbag!
Hopefully, Frank has some character development this season. It would be nice if he ended up killing Bren with his own hands. I don't think he knows that Bren is an incestuous nonce so maybe that will set him off? It's a shame really. I funnily enough think Gillen is good in the role. He really sells the look of a weak leader that no one respects. It's just sad the character has nothing to offer.
Yea I think the character needs something big and him killing Bren for fiddling with birdie would be good rather than him just being weak
I always felt Gillen was a poor actor. He comes across either drunk or disinterested. His best performance from what I have seen was in the Wire.
Oh , Was Gillen in The Wire???
Hadnt seen that mentioned on here before ................................................................................................................. 🙄
Gillen ⬆️
It makes sense he acts disinterested here though. Frank doesn't seem to really care whatsoever.
Depends on the initial contract. He could be tied in for several seasons.
Gillen wasn't great in the Wire either. I think people need to rewatch it. He's grand, that's about it.
The music used seems influenced by the movies of Christopher Nolan
Possibly but Holmes has been doing soundtracks for as long as Nolan has been making movies, both starting in 1998.
And Holmes has a style of his own. The scores for Out of Sight, Ocean’s Eleven and Hunger (amongst others) are excellent.
Surprised by that, seems a colour by numbers soundtrack. Compared to love/hate that had some great tunes brilliantly used (led zeppelin: black dog) as well as a brilliant use of a forgotten track like Luke kellly’s come my little son
And in Love Hate.
He is playing a weaker character who is having a crisis of conscience as well as being an addict.
Playing it well imo
Think there might be a shock coming with Amanda and Bren
Amanda has them all fooled except for him and because he's so awful we instinctively think he's wrong. But maybe he is right about Amanda.
Think she is up to something just for herself..
Not a great deal of music used in Kin bar the score. Only three tracks by other artists used in season one including Confidence Man and Primal Scream. Maybe that’ll change.
I noticed that. He was onto Amanda since the first season and I do think he has the right feelings about her. She's like Walter White. Doing this for the "family," but in reality she likes it. That's why Frank asked her: why are you doing any of this? And that's because she knows she can walk away from all this but she wants to stay.
I honestly do not like Amanda she's just outright cruel sometimes. Last season she didn't want Jimmy to give the eulogy at Jamie's funeral and wanted Mikey to do it. She clearly doesn't get on with Jimmy and views him as weak but still decided to stay with him. Her son will be her downfall as he's already caught onto her and Mikey. Anthony is already leaning toward Bren and Jimmy and after learning about Amanda's betrayal, he'll definitely resent her.
Think she wanted Mikey doing the eulogy instead of Jimmy as Jamie was Mikeys son maybe?