People like Coldplay and voted for the Nazis. You can't trust people.
paging the fanbois, paging the fanbois. Please present yourselves asap
Not just now, for the past 15 years. There has been no drop off in their JNLR numbers.
Read my post again.
True, there is no accounting for other peoples taste, but OTB is doing just fine by the only metric that really matters - the JNLR figures.
I read it the first time, there is no evidence that it is in anyway wounded.
Yet.
As was the whole point of my post. It may not be, jury's out until the possible blowback from the bullying of Kellie Harrington comes home to roost.
We'll know in time.
You can just watch Match Of The Day, oh wait, you better give that miss too because that's "woke", or something.
And RTE's coverage of sport, that's "woke", I bet, because it has women on it.
Second Captains, that's out for you too, far too "woke".
Off The Ball covered the intersection of politics and sport right from the start. Politics and sport have always mixed, will always mix. Bar the gobshitery of Parkinson the politics of the presenters has always been pretty clearly centre left, because shock horror, people who work to get themselves a decent education and want to learn about the world in good faith tend usually to end up somewhere around centre left on the spectrum.
There's always Parkinson there for you, if you fancy paying for his anti-woke, yelling at cloud ramblings.
I watched the news there at 1. Tony O'Donoghue says "The nation holds its breath, to find out news on Katie McCabes fitness"
🤣
No, just OTB so far.
Nice projection though. Might want to take a cold shower after that rant.
But who is it aimed at? The small percent of female listeners or the small percent of male listeners that have any interest in female sport?
No big deal but the majority of listeners that have no interest will simply switch off.
If you have a problem with Off The Ball because of "wokeness" yet don't have a problem with the other "woke" things I mentioned it just makes you a hypocrite with a childish personal grudge.
Kellie Harrington hasn't been remotely bullied by anybody. She's received absolute kid glove treatment because she's a woman and because she's working class. Had a rugby player of privileged background uttered such horrible anti-immigrant sentiments they'd have been absolutely destroyed by some of the same people who are now defending Harrington.
Shane Hannon has most certainly been the victim of bullying however. Neo-Nazi accounts piling on him, calling him and anybody else who called out Harrington's tweet a paedophile, threats of violence and open threats to ruin his life.
Lads, it’s either “go woke and go broke” or going woke chasing the money, you can’t have it both ways.
The woke baes at OTB wont be happy the Tate lads are out of prison. No doing there will be plenty of pearl clutching and wailing on upcoming shows
That’s not the point I’m trying to make, C. You want me to look up what sort of green, or ethical, funds are BlackRock are investing in?
I’m just saying that you get lads whining that someone is “going WOKE(all caps)” to cash in but in the same breath saying that anyone, or anything, will go broke because of “going WOKE(all caps)”.
Take FIFA’s expansion of the World Cup. Most people would look at that and say it’s obviously just a way for FIFA to make more money but instead you get frogeyed oddballs bleating on about “inclusivity” and “the WOKE(all caps) hive mind” ruining soccer.
Can any red piller on here tell me, if Andrew Tate does end up in jail for sex trafficking, and the other crimes, do you still have to defend him? Will it be seen as WOKE(all caps) to not think he’s a great guy?
**** hell. Whether this is a wum or serious, it's a deeply worrying insight into the mind of this individual.
"went woke"...what utter bollox. You are obviously not overly familiar with the "Newstalk: Off The Ball" thread on boards.ie or even listened to the show that much. OTB hasn't "went" anything, it hasn't changed, it has always been thus ,i.e., a mainstream sports programme expressing mainstream opinions. People have been whinging about the content of the show on here for years..."too pc"..."woke"...and what has happened? Nothing.
The "anti-woke" cult worldview consists entirely of dumb slogans and dumb insults.
What is a worldview consisting entirely of dumb slogans and dumb insults, other than idiocy?
It's pure QAnon mindset.
"That is an undisputed fact" hahahah.
Off the ball is that example, in fact, all mainstream broadcasting is. It has been a success for over 15 years and will continue to be a success long after you've been banned from here.
A user said in “After Hours”, on this very site. That user would be another lad who sees wokeness everywhere.
Honestly, it must be exhausting being so angry, and afraid, all the time.
Another American buzz word.
Get out of your parents shed and get some fresh air for yourself
It's the buzz word of youse lot and the actual ideology loads of yis actually believe.
It isn't me that takes my entire worldview from American propaganda, it's youse lot, the "anti-woke" headbangers, constantly flooding the internet with American right wing bullshlt and dumb, empty slogans and buzzwords in the absence of anything resembling any sort of argument or positive ideas about anything.
Normal people are sick of it.
Most people in Ireland have not even heard of qanon or whatever it is. Only people who mention it are those that hate it apparently.
Most people in Ireland couldn’t define what ‘woke’ is but it doesn’t stop the losers shoehorning it in when someone asks a question that they don’t like.
I might be wrong but the word woke wasn't originally used in the pejorative sense.
It meant I'm awake/awoken. Awake to injustice, prejudice, intolerance, racism, discrimination etc.
If I was around in the 1960s I'd definitely be woke! Maybe not so much now as I'd agree with 90% of the ideals but 10% might be too much.
There's a very interesting article to be written on woke in its totality and context.