Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
Yeah, I was thinking the same - once the first match is over, a rake of people (esp Derry with a decent drive ahead of them) will head off so there'll be plenty of empty seats
That said, there's no good reason for restricting people with kids to the Cusack side only for example
Had nothing to do with Galway, it was dismissed on Friday. It was going to inconvenience anyone who made it, be it Kerry or Roscommon even who would've made it had Kerry won after their big score difference turnaround in Donegal. Zero reason for the GAA to force a team to play on a 6 day break. Game was already assigned to Priomh holders as Sunday, and assumably TG4 also
Any other season ticket or chairde Maigheo ticket holders having trouble downloading tickets for final?
I can't see how we'll be able to "go at it" as hard as Galway this weekend.
We have championship the following week, it's bound to be in players minds, I think they will subconsciously (or maybe consciously) hold something back with that in mind.
Out of curiousity, would a red card in the league final rule a player out of the first championship match. Hopefully it doesn't come to that.
No offence but that's pure scutter, there won't be one player on the pitch on Sunday thinking about Roscommon, winning this game will be the only priority
It wasn't last year....
It was, we just got destroyed
Adults tickets are €25, kids are €5 from what I seen yesterday.
It's ruling Eoin Downey out of Cork's opener in the hurling anyway.
With the new championship format and the lesser importance of the provincial championship, you’d think that winning the league is more desirable than ever. Beating one of the best four sides in the country and winning something at Croke Park certainly wouldn’t be the worst way to head into the championship, if we can manage to beat Galway which is far from a certainty.
Our place in the group stages of the All Ireland is already locked in, so if we win Connacht, there’s no guarantee we’ll even end up with an easier path to a potential final in July.
There’s no excuse not to go hell for leather in a league final anymore IMO.
Full strength , full focus, and Galway will be beaten.
We aren't going to be full strength though as far as I can tell.
The same could be said for Galway too.
Lack of belief and faith on these forums is something to behold.😄😄
Lose the fear and wataboutery lads,
Galway have yet to play a team at Mayos conditioning level.
Is in Croke park, not tuam.
We played ye already in league!!
Totally agree here.
Why would you not want to win a league final v Galway after the great league season they have had.
A league win is the perfect way to be starting the championship.
And remember it's Roscommon they are playing in the opener, not Jim Gavin's Dublin at their prime.
Just follow the link in the email, then you have to choose your seat. Follow the procedure as though you are buying a ticket, the cost is 0.
Yes thanks I got it in the end.
Galway played mayo already. and drew. and without shame walsh and I thin comer
Yes, and mayo were far more conditioneder than Galway at the time……………..
Comer played the full game, as did McDaid. They were only missing Shane Walsh really. So very close to full strength.
But didn't have COC, Conroy, Durcan. Can't remember if McLaughlin played...
Unfortunately we won't have Cillian or Conroy this weekend either.Hession and Brickenden out as well of course.If we had all those guys I think it might tip it in Mayos favour.As it is its Galways to lose.
I'm not sure about McLaughlin,named on the bench last week but not used.
At least paddy is back.
Edit and great news!
The Mayo News (ie the reputable football paper) reporting Tommy C will at least tog on Sunday.Thats a major bonus.
Cillian not ruling himself out either!
I think reading between the lines he won't make it but a great boost to think he might be in the picture for Roscommon game.
Things are looking up.
Any word on Hession? Would be great to see him back
Winning Connacht would see us seeded so yes it would almost certainly be an easier path
What I heard was that he picked up an injury v Kerry, had recovered somewhat and then injured again in a challenge match. But who knows.
Was thinking about this earlier and the best/worst permutations are something like this:
Best possible group (based on league positions plus realistic provincial results) if provincial winners:
2nd seed: Clare; 3rd seed: Donegal; 4th seed: Westmeath
Best possible group (based on league positions plus realistic provincial results) if 3rd seed:
1st seed: Dublin; 2nd seed: Sligo; 4th seed: Westmeath
Worst possible group (based on league positions plus realistic provincial results) if provincial winners:
2nd seed: Monaghan; 3rd seed: Galway; 4th seed: Derry
Worst possible group (based on league positions plus realistic provincial results) if 3rd seed:
1st seed: Kerry; 2nd seed: Monaghan; 4th seed: Derry
Open to corrections on the above but I think for teams already assured of being a 3rd seed, the provincials don't make a massive difference. For teams who might end up as a 4th seed though, they're still very important IMO (e.g. if we had finished 6th in D1, the provincial would be important).