Yep, my mother was churched in 66 after the birth of my older brother. Had to go up to the top of the church at 11 mass to be cleansed of the sin of having given birth to him. By the time I came along it was no longer a thing.
Maybe not 'the guards', but given what's being reported about the couple brought in for questioning, not beyond the realms of possibility that it was, 'a guard'.
You sound like Gerry O Carroll with that statement
Really Fr
As a young single mum in 1975 Dublin, I can testify to church holding huge control. Ostracised by family, attempted bullying by clergy and much more. Lots of support so long as you were prepared to have your baby adopted quietly.
It appears the DNA was given up by a sibling of Baby John. Report says sibling so I'd assume full sibling rather than half sibling.
It would be some shock to offer your DNA only to find it implicated your own parents,(unless of course someone decided it was time to do the right thing)
The sibling who gave up their DNA was under 40, so it would appear the Gardaí had decided that rather than look for the DNA of the actual parents to instead focus on the familial match route. Perhaps they thought the younger generation would be more forthcoming.
In light of DNA hunts, I had to smirk at this headline.
Again. We know almost all that happened with the murder. They are facts. We also know that at least one parent of the murdered child has been identified. We know that they stayed silent for nearly half a century. Cant believe anyone thinks at least one parent isnt involved here.
What exactly is reported about the couple brought in for questioning that is not beyond the realms of possibility that it was 'a guard' ?
Ok so tell us, using the known facts, how "at least one parent knew what was going on"
The mother knew she gave birth to a baby without medical help with the birth or through the pregnancy - a secret baby. That baby was taken away - I accept she may have been told that the baby was being given to a good family to adopt. However around the same time a newborn baby was found dead in the very county you live in. Surely this mother would think could this be my baby? She would have to be stupid not to join the dots - even if she was very young at the time, later in life surely she would reflect back at this time. This story wasnt low key and didnt go away quickly. The Kerry Babies story would come back into the news again and again over the years. I dont accept she couldnt have known or guessed what had happened her baby in 1984.
the solicitor showed himself to be an arrogant Jack ass completely out of his depth when he was interviewed on the Pat Kenny show yesterday
Mad for the limelight.
As I mentioned the other day, going by the Irish examiner article some of the locals are “rallying around” the suspects and circling the wagons, telling the media to go away.
Some even asking why the guards don’t just leave well alone and go away and stop annoying them ...
I got that feeling too. Loving the attention and almost begging to be made a z list RTÉ celeb
I suspect the solr is involved in deflection. He knows there's a media frenzy and he keeps giving it bits.
You think she had the baby by immaculate inception?
Maybe start reading the reports yourself.
What i find funny about this is how the gaurds are trying to make themselves look good and pat themselves on the back. Despite the fact it was their incompetence that caused all this trouble in the first place.
I think you’ll find it was whoever killed baby John that caused all this trouble in the first place.
Typical boards deflection technique from someone talking shite.
Is it reported in any reputable source that the woman arrested has any connections that would imply that the baby being killed by "the guards" was not beyond the realms of possibility?
If it is post a link.
Some of the locals seem to have a “go away and don’t be upsetting and annoying respectable folk” attitude.
everything comes second to the veneer of Irish “respectability” ...
oh yes always at mass up there the front row, a “pillar” of the gaa or the golf club and all that - god knows what goes on in private though.
You were the same yesterday accusing me of talking shite about the solicitor saying the house was a crime scene etc.
When I provided an actual link I notice you ran away from the thread for a while.
This time do your own research.
If the mother was a child at the time, there is no reason to think that she knew what was going on. The baby could have been taken away for adoption to America. Sure wasn't another woman supposed to be the mother according to all of her garda relatives?
Again, you're making assumptions that one or both parents knew what was going on. In all likleihood, they probably did but we currently don't know that for a fact (despite what some posters are claiming are facts).
How did you deduce that?
"We know almost all that happened with the murder. They are facts."
That's handy, I haven't seen the autopsy report,
Have you a link to it?
So she had a baby and didn't know it?
To suggest somebody could have a baby and ~5 days later a murdered ~5 day old baby washes up murdered and she never suspects anything is a bit far fetched tbh.
So you didn't read what I posted. You are making assumptions. Go ahead but don't call it fact as some on here are doing.
Of course the Gardaí were incompetent in this case. But that was facilitated by some members of the public keeping schtum and allowing the Hayes to be persecuted. Someone knew that baby was born. Someone knew it disappeared. The case of the murdered child was all over the country at the time and it would have been impossible not to have been aware of it. Their position too is reprehensible.
Well they tried to pin it on a completely innocent person using downright disgusting tactics and when that didn't work they tried to publicly humiliate them out of spite. Thankfully the family and community were decent people who didn't give in to such intimation.
As the saying goes two wrongs don't make a right. The ineptitude and corruption of those in power means that there can never be a genuine just outcome ever.