So Immaculate conception then?
It's implausible to suggest that for nearly 40 years a woman would never once wonder if a murdered 5 day old baby might be hers.
Because she didn't have marital relations until after the birth of Jesus. She was a virgin. Jesus was conceived through the power of the holy spirit.
All that I'm claiming is that we simply don't know what happened and people should stop posting their own conclusions as fact. @DownByTheGarden made the claim that we know that "at least one parent knew what was going on".
Between this and other claims of facts posted on here, there are a lot of people pushing their imagination as fact
Eh? Then why is she always referred to as the Virgin Mary?
The fact that somebody had a baby?
The fact that 5 days later a baby washed up on a beach, murdered?
You are the one claiming the mother could have lived in the area for the next 40 years and never once wondered if that child could be hers until the knock came on the door last week.
The fact that the grave was vandalised more than once suggests an awful lot of ongoing bitterness and anger from someone very close to the murder.
Despite getting away with the crime, it wasn't enough and there was resentment the baby was found and buried. I can't imagine why someone who committed murder to get rid of a problem (baby) would be emotionally invested enough to carry that anger for years unless they were very emotionally invested.
No need to shout.
Even allowing for the usual level of trolling on boards.ie, it's shocking to me that some people think stabbing a baby to death and breaking its neck should be let slide because the Gardai are dicks.
Here is what you said:
"if the mother was a child at the time, there is no reason to think that she knew what was going on."
No reason to think she knew?
How can you suggest that she could completely miss, for nearly 40 years, that the baby on the beach might be hers?
SMALL POINT OF ORDER.
The 'Immaculate Conception' is not about a virgin giving birth. The catholic reference to the Immaculate Conception refers to Our Lady being born without 'Original Sin', not the fact that herself and St Joseph had never got jiggy.
Proceed with your bickering....
I mean, someone going to prison for murdering a newborn baby would be a just outcome, no?
Well they tried to pin it on a completely innocent person using downright disgusting tactics and when that didn't work they tried to publicly humiliate them out of spite. Thankfully the family and community were decent people who didn't give in to such intimation.
As the saying goes two wrongs don't make a right. The ineptitude and corruption of those in power means that there can never be a genuine just outcome ever.
Of course the Gardaí were incompetent in this case. But that was facilitated by some members of the public keeping schtum and allowing the Hayes to be persecuted. Someone knew that baby was born. Someone knew it disappeared. The case of the murdered child was all over the country at the time and it would have been impossible not to have been aware of it. Their position too is reprehensible.
So you didn't read what I posted. You are making assumptions. Go ahead but don't call it fact as some on here are doing.
So she had a baby and didn't know it?
To suggest somebody could have a baby and ~5 days later a murdered ~5 day old baby washes up murdered and she never suspects anything is a bit far fetched tbh.
"We know almost all that happened with the murder. They are facts."
That's handy, I haven't seen the autopsy report,
Have you a link to it?
If the mother was a child at the time, there is no reason to think that she knew what was going on. The baby could have been taken away for adoption to America. Sure wasn't another woman supposed to be the mother according to all of her garda relatives?
Again, you're making assumptions that one or both parents knew what was going on. In all likleihood, they probably did but we currently don't know that for a fact (despite what some posters are claiming are facts).
How did you deduce that?
You were the same yesterday accusing me of talking shite about the solicitor saying the house was a crime scene etc.
When I provided an actual link I notice you ran away from the thread for a while.
This time do your own research.
Some of the locals seem to have a “go away and don’t be upsetting and annoying respectable folk” attitude.
everything comes second to the veneer of Irish “respectability” ...
oh yes always at mass up there the front row, a “pillar” of the gaa or the golf club and all that - god knows what goes on in private though.
Typical boards deflection technique from someone talking shite.
Is it reported in any reputable source that the woman arrested has any connections that would imply that the baby being killed by "the guards" was not beyond the realms of possibility?
If it is post a link.
I think you’ll find it was whoever killed baby John that caused all this trouble in the first place.
What i find funny about this is how the gaurds are trying to make themselves look good and pat themselves on the back. Despite the fact it was their incompetence that caused all this trouble in the first place.
Maybe start reading the reports yourself.
You think she had the baby by immaculate inception?
I suspect the solr is involved in deflection. He knows there's a media frenzy and he keeps giving it bits.
I got that feeling too. Loving the attention and almost begging to be made a z list RTÉ celeb
As I mentioned the other day, going by the Irish examiner article some of the locals are “rallying around” the suspects and circling the wagons, telling the media to go away.
Some even asking why the guards don’t just leave well alone and go away and stop annoying them ...
Mad for the limelight.
the solicitor showed himself to be an arrogant Jack ass completely out of his depth when he was interviewed on the Pat Kenny show yesterday