You dont know her situation. From the report that she is in her 50's now she was anywhere from 11 to 20 in 1984. If she was 16 or younger and therefore had been raped would you really hold it against her for not coming forward to tell the nation what happened.
What Joanne Hayes went through was disgraceful. But all the blame lies with the gardai for it. The worst thing i have ever read about the gardai in its history.
The only respectable people in this whole scenario are Baby John, and perhaps his mother if she was a child herself who was raped, and the mother's siblings (if any) who were too young to understand.
Baby John's father, the mother's parents, their neighbours, local business people, the schoolteachers who knew that a girl had dropped our unexpectedly, the guards etc. Vile the lot of them.
You must be god knowing all this
Pass on everything you know to gardai
Ah to be fair, I don't know if it was the worst despite being an abhorrent and shameful tarnish on the force. You're forgetting the murder squad's framing of innocent people directly led to the revenge murder of a man, who they knew to be innocent.
No we don't know the full story and how many people knew and who covered it up, letting the Hayes take the rap.
That's why there should be a detailed enquiry to get to the bottom of this.
Was that 'churching'?. Even married women had to be 'cleansed' after childbirth.
But there was never any evidence to suspect JH in first place and the presumption of innocence before proven guilty should have been applied.
The gardai invented evidence through coercion for JH. If the Gardai were competent JH name would have never been in the public domain and therefore no one was needed to take the rap for an unsolved murder. The gardai have to own the JH f**k up
OMG Joanne was sued WTF?
How long do DNA results take?
There was a book wrote with Joanne consent and she was sued successfully for 100k by the murder squad ,I wonder will they be giving this money back ?
It basically meant also the book had to be removed from circulation
Media are already saying they are the parents so I took it results were back
I wonder was a court order needed for dna or dna offered freely
Not sure if it was Donal Hickey late of The Cork Examiner who wrote that her?
Oh maybe so. The solicitor gave an interview to Virgin Media news earlier saying they are awaiting the DNA results.
Wow, never knew this.
Anyone got any more information on this?
I can't find that quote in this Sunday World article unless there is another one somewhere;
I posted a link to the Irish Times earlier. The swabs were brought straight to Dublin and are being prioritised in the lab but results will take 3-4 days.
Well that article says Gardai believe they are the parents.
This is the other article.
https://m.sundayworld.com/crime/irish-crime/kerry-babies-baby-john-probable-mum-is-late-gardas-daughter/a2135900955.html
Then the Gardaí will prepare a file for the DPP. The DPP will examine all the evidence presented - DNA, witness statements et. etc and decide if there is a case to prosecute, then if there a case to prosecute the Gardaí will charge the suspect/s. So get some popcorn. It's unlikely the DNA results will be made public until the trial if there is one.
Two Sunday Paper Headlines
The DNA results alone won't confirm who murdered Baby John, it will likely give the Gardai reason to question them again though.
I think its safe to assume that if DNA shows they are the babys parents they had a major hand in the murder of the baby.
That's true, it will only establish parenthood, the murder is a different case.
One of them might have, or a relative of one of them might have.
If the latter, they could have been intimidated into staying quiet. Joanne Hayes was intimidated into admitting to the murder.
I really hope the truth is found and Baby John gets justice.
Possibly. Or else they just commited a really horrible crime. It could be that simple.
Exactly, we don't know so it's too early to take out the pitchforks.
People are disgusted. Rightly they want justice for a newborn who was savaged.
I agree that justice has to be let run its course. But there must be justice.
Actually we know a baby was murdered by breaking its neck and stabbing it 28 times and then thrown out like you throw out your rubbish. And we know that at least one parent knew what was going on and sat back and watched for nearly a half a century as someone else almost took the fall for their crime.
Or is that news to you?
Exactly justice must be carried out. Two lives were wronged - baby John and Joanne Hayes.
Baby John never had a chance - think of what he could have been now at 39 years old had he been allowed stay with his mum/parents or been adopted. His life was cruely and violently taken from him.
I fear though if proven to be parent or parents they will deny any involvement in the murder and say a now dead person was responsible. I still think they should be sentenced for their silence though.
Well they will be accomplices regardless.
On the flip side, when the parents saw the utter witch-hunt that broke out, they were frightened and decided to say nothing.
These were very young people and society was baying for blood and if you were around at the time you would have seen the venom people used against Joanna Hayes - and that was the gardai too.
And the same venom can be seen permeating in this thread now. In a way Ireland has not changed