The Mail wouldn’t lie, surely?
You had the inside track on the Kilkenny GAA star who was accused of fraud and you also had a insider knowledge of the Burkes of Castlebar. I wonder if I was bothered to trawl through your posting history would I find any more examples of your improbable connections to the news stories of the day...
What evidence is there of this "coercion"? Was there a heavy gang beating the admission out of Hayes and her family? They signed a confession.
Yes, there was.
Have a read up on the case, Joanne and her family were threatened.
Why else would she have admitted to murdering a baby that wasn't hers?
Why else would she and her family have received a state apology and a large financial settlement?
Was it all for the craic?
Are you for real???
It is strange that they confessed. They're not simpletons and had legal representation. The available DNA evidence, I know, seems to rule out the possibility that Joanne Hayes could have given birth to Baby John but is this entirely conclusive or has it been established that the arrested couple are in fact the parents? A further analysis of DNA evidence has yet to take place, I understand.
If it's proved that this couple is the parents of baby John then they deserve to be sentenced for remaining silent knowing what Joanne Hayes and the Hayes was being put through. Joanne Hayes life was ruined by this.
Jerry O Carroll should end his life in jail for his part in all of this.
I was only a small child in 1984 so I have no memory of it. I've been reading up on this shocking story. Am I right in saying that Jeremiah Locke ( a married man) the father of Joanne's baby and child had nothing happen him and doesn't seem to have been looked down on at all. It says alot for the society of Ireland in the early 80s! No questions it seems were asked of him at all!
Whatever happened to Locke - did his wife stick by him? Was his life ruined in the same way Joanne Hayes's life was ruined
Stop clutching at straws.
Joanne Hayes did not give birth to Baby John. This was ruled out 29 years ago when the body of Joanne's baby was found on the Hayes' farm and when the blood tests of Baby John were not a match with Joanne, Jeremiah or Shane.
Thanks see that now
Yes, led by Garda Gerry O'Carroll.
Same eejit that suggested Hayes had sex with two men in the same hour, gave birth to twins, buried one that died in childbirth on the family farm and killed the second one and drove 80km to dump it.
He has never denied heavy tactics and has never apologised either.
Baby John's parents are not responsible for the incompetence of the Gardai. The Gardai are going to have to own the Joanne Hayes f**k up although yes the parents could have helped ending that Gardai f**k up but it was the gardai that invented a completely bizarre narrative with no evidence hence why the state had to compensated her for.
The father of Joanne's child was not guilty of anything. It is not illegal to have an affair. Joanne was not guilty of anything either apart from not reporting the birth and death of her child which died of natural causes and was buried on the family farm.
There was two crimes here. One the murdering of baby John which is unsolved and two the coercion of JH and her family by the gardai which they have admitted to and settled with her. The person/s for crime one or not responsible for crime two.
There wasn't DNA evidence at the time because the technology wasn't there. All they had was blood tests which led to the farcical theory that Joanne had sex with 2 men in close succession and was simultaneously pregnant for both of them.
Seriously, read up on the case before posting.
I mentioned this series earlier.
Ireland was a completely different place in the 80's!
Not just in Ireland, look at The Guildford Four, The Maguire Seven or The Birmingham Six - justice had to be seen to be done, regardless of the defendants being innocent or not.
Plus before DNA and all the other recent developments in forensic science god only knows how many innocent people were convicted for crimes they didn't do.
Yep, pick a vulnerable scapegoat and threaten or beat them into submission.
It's a tale as old as time itself, but people seriously need to stop linking Joanne Hayes and her family into the separate case of Baby John, they have already served a life sentence.
Are you talking about the women in her 50's who was arrested and questioned on Thursday?
"Her boyfriend at the time was a garda".... is that not the man in his 60's who was arrested and is now her husband?
One post and too much being shared.
Hazedoll - since you ask - As I said earlier when I was asked, I have friends and colleagues in almost every county in Ireland. Partly job connections, partly social and sports connections.
Yest morning when I rang my Kerry friend (1 of many btw) they disclosed lots of details I Havnt put up on this thread and I won’t be.
But I trust them and am confident of what they say.
The solicitor seems very keen on the pre emptive strike with the media. I would have thought the more professional approach would been to wait and see what changes if any are brought.
I was just reading what he was saying in the Indo. Whilst he is continuing along the line that the two arrested did not murder anyone, he is not making the claim that they are not the parents, which I presume would be pointless if untrue as the DNA evidence will be irrefutable.
It will be interesting hearing their defence for remaining silent on the entire matter all this time, assuming the DNA shows they are the parents.
Presumably his clients have approved or maybe even suggested the media approach.
“Get your story out before theirs” type of thing.
Probably. It does have a ring of, do everything you can to keep are names out of the public domain.
Taking DNA from bins seems very strange if true
It doesn't require any warrant, etc.
The same front page headline on that rag, says an arrest is imminent for the murder of Annie mccarrick.
I'd take the info with a large pinch of salt.
They did the same approach with graham Dwyer.
It's also in the Examiner report.
But DNA from the bin would not be admissible in court anyway, samples given voluntarily later at the station would.
But that would only prove a connection to Baby John, not his murder, and concealment would be statute barred by now.
You'd wonder what brought that couple to the attention of the investigators in the first place, they hardly searched all the bins in the area.
DNA taken during an earlier trawl matched a relative afaik