Read the t&Cs today and did the calculation, comparing it with the combined bdgp and beep-s payment that it replaces.
22e. I've done few myself recently
If you do it yourself now, will that cover you for the upcoming scheme? I was thinking of doing them when they were small before they go out.
Not sure tbh, That's the question I have for my advisor this week. I've 2 genotyped this year already so was hoping I could do it when I'm dehorning them over the next few of weeks.
Surely if they are genotyped in an official DAFM approved laboratory then they are genotyped.
If you do get clarification you might post it here, I’m of the same thinking. Be so handy than to be gathering them in from the field in the summer and running them through the crush. Thanks
Weathersby Scientific do the DNA for ICBF. Once an animal is genomic tested you can contact Weathersby to get the myostatin results for an additional fee
Stupid question - I assume a pedigree breeder selling pbr bulls would only want myostatin results.
For some yes. You will see changes in value but it might not be enough to change bands. FIL was in BDGB, with a closed herd and the odd cow culled he was ok until the last year when he needed 70%, that year 3 dropped from 4 to 3 star. Some were slowly dropping
No, they’d want full Eurostar figures including parents verified.by genotyping.
Most of my suckler cows and heifers have full Eurostar figures yet only a few are genotyped. As I asked above, can I get these animals independently genotyped without having to join the new scheme. If they are genotyped in an approved DAFM lab then they are genotyped on ICBF, mart board etc.
Eurostar figures for pedigree animals don’t mean much unless the animal is genotyped to confirm it’s pedigree. AFAIK you can get them independently genotyped without joining the new scheme but their figures won’t show up on the mart board unless you sign up to Herdplus with ICBF and pay 60 euro/year i think.
Does it cost anything to join the SBLAS, I can't seem to find out if you have to be a paid up member of bord bia
Costs nothing to join
Apologies if this s a basic question but first year in farming and still trying to get head around different schemes/terms etc. Have 15 suckler cows and a stock bull. I think it's either only 2 or 3 are 4 star or more. Does that mean I have to have get rid of some of the others and replace with higher star cows to be in the scheme?
Thanks.
For 15 cows average over the last 8yrs say, you will only get paid for 10 of them. 15÷1.5 =10 10 being your reference number of cows for the scheme, so 10*225 is 2250e worth of payment yearly I think. basic terms then is yes you will need to up your star figures The bull will need to be a min of 4 stars either terminal or maternal and be genetyped by the start of the scheme. Then for your cows you will need to hit the target figures each year. Think it's upto 75% in the final year, so 9(you only get paid for 10 cows)of your 15 cows has to be either 4 or 5 stars in year 5, so basically if you can't produce enough replacements with high figures by the end of the scheme you will need to buy prob a few every year to keep up with the figures needed each year. You yourself need to figure is it worth getting rid of the type of cow you have in your system for that 2250e yearly figure.
Only exception to all this I believe is if you have rare breeds there is a derogation which means you do not have to meet the star requirements yearly
Sorry just edited the % of eligible females from 90% down to 75%
Great explanation Anthony, thanks. Feck it though, it's tricky so for the likes of me! My bull is young so I don't have any of my own replacements.
So, even for year one, if I have to have 75% 4 or 5 star cows (based on reference number of 10) I have to replace 5 or 6 of what I currently have if only 2 are currently 4 star or higher?
The only bit I’m confused about is the payment. Is it the €150/€120 per cow or the €225 HA?
I don’t think this is right, he’ll get paid on 15 cows x 150 which is 2250 euro, provided he has enough land on his BISS. Both ways of calculating the payment work out the same afaik.
Ok, as always I'm open to correction, my method was how I thought it was calculated on the department website. Either way as you say both end up with the same figure. 💸💸💸
Yes my understanding is 15 cows average divided by 1.5 which is 10ha. So needs to have 10ha claimed on BISS. Then it's 10x225e=2250e
Yea, I have the ha's required - just not sure if it's worth it with the requirement for the stars. Four of my cows especially are officially 2 stars - all CHX's - but you'd go a long way to find cows as good to rear calves or cows that rear calves as good.
And that's the fundimental flaw of the stars system in general. No one should ever feel like they're being pushed to sell animals just because their stars are low.
They are probably very high on the terminal index, but you get to see that on the mart screen
That’s the problem, their calves probably sell for €300/400 above calves off cows with 4/5 stars
Ye lads must have really good 1 star cows and really shite 5 stars cows if there’s that much difference
Not all. I found last year the breeding in the cow paid. Good cows bred good calves that sold well. Poorer bred cows had plain calves that didn’t sell as well. Lots of good calves made €1000+ weight
I think the Star system is not in favor of just producing a better calf, it also factors the cows ability to milk, the cows ability to reproduce every year. But I do find that my 5 star cows are more dairy than beef, plus the calves are not as good a quality.
The system needs to be tweaked, but I think there's a green agenda behind the scoring system too.
But I'll lose out on over €2k in annual grants if I don't change. That would represent nearly 15% of the annual grants I currently have access to. Obviously if I replace cows there is a cost in that too I understand.
Been checking out what stars my cows have.close to having the 50%for this year.can a 3star cow gain a star by end of year.all this star **** new to me
Yeah so many of us are in the exact same boat in fairness.....