It would be an interesting test case, and maybe the couple could not be convicted without being DNA tested from a legal perspective, I don't know know, but often you could be 100% sure without testing them. For example if you had tested a grand parent and had ways to rule out any other grand kids, maybe they moved abroad.
Thanks.... just read that
I gave specific sources. Have you any sources? Have you read any of the reports from the era? Or the actual testimonies of women involved?
If you were able to refute my points you would have, instead you just respond with cheap jokes. You are not adding to the conversation.
Not formally named but the names are circulating among locals in Kerry.
Have they been named?
Looks like that and we have lads on here saying the guards are very bold.
am i right in thinking their solicitor posed for a photo on the beach for the irish independent yesterday ??
Since you ask HeidiHeidi - glad to say I have friends and colleagues in almost every county in Ireland - partly due to my job, partly due to sports and social connections.
In fairness it’s not very credible that the couple would remain anonymous after the arrest and media reports.
They should explain the DNA part of it.
You have lots of friends and relatives in newsworthy places, don't you, what with your relatives who know the Burkes in Ballina, and now a friend who knows this couple.
Colour me a bit sceptical, tbh.
Which would lead me to believe they made absolutely sure of this one before moving on it.
There are plenty of stories of concealed pregnancies up and down the country, just take a look at the letters written to Gay Byrne.
It just so happens that The Kerry Babies and Ann Lovett case made it into the public domain.
You would imagine they would be acutely aware that there cannot be more mistakes with this case and every move they make must be painstakingly planned and thought out.
Yet it was the norm at the time, still births were not registered.
As unbaptised they would not be buried in a cemetery.
Your lack of knowledge is causing you confusion.
IF the Gardai are barking up the wrong tree again, it will be a disaster.
Gerry O'Carroll calling for a public investigation of it all.
A Guard I knew from Listowel said Gerry was the lowest man he ever met.
Rang a friend in the locality this morning, the locals all know well who this couple are. They are from a very “respectable” background etc.
Apparently they are denying all and telling the locals there has been a huge mistake made. The solicitor saying similar.
Well this lad is 6000kms away and knows how “the people of the area” are feeling….
And how would a lad 90km away know anything about how the people in the area are feeling?
Why misquote me?
I didn't say the "people of Kerry"
I referred to him/her/they stating people from Kerry, i.e. Cahersiveen, all hurting.
Can they put a number on this sweeping statement?
…..
That's why we have courthouses, judges, jury's and appeal courts.
It's common practice for Gardai to say they have made arrests in relation to incidents.
Here's one from just the other night in Mullingar.
A garda was assaulted and a man arrested during a protest at on Friday night as asylum seekers were brought by bus to Westmeath.
Seemed a bit presumptuous on the gravestone
' I forgive'
They didn't give DNA. 400 locals gave DNA and this must have given them a connection to the family. I know from cases in the U.S the police genealogy specialists have access to public DNA record sites but this isn't th case in Ireland.
I believe once the DNA pointed to a certain direction DNA was taken from the rubbish bin. And this is the stage the gardai are at. They have not taken DNA directly from the couple.
Some lads on here are acting a bit wierd. The couple's solicitor is out in the media making statements but it's all the bold gardai and keyboard warriors fault that it's in the media.
I read there in one article on this case that Johns headstone has been vandalised a number of times over the years.
He experienced the worst of human nature during his short life and they couldn't even leave him alone in his final resting place.
Yet all that is bothering some here is that a few people might be feeling uncomfortable with the spotlight being on them and the cover up that has gone on for nearly 40 years.
Two people being arrested out of the blue in south or mid Kerry is not going to stay quiet for long.
Who said it was the Gardai that initially pointed the media to the news of the arrests ?
Would you prefer if people were just arrested in secret?
And was it the Gardai who actually said that the arrested people were the parents, or is that just speculation?
You live 90km away, how do you know that Cahirsiveen people are very sad and upset caused by keyboard warriors?
Have they asked you, somebody 90 kilometres away, to go into bat on the internet for them?
Maybe they are sad and upset that one of their own was stabbed ~28 times, had its neck broken then tossed in the sea.