Tell you what, you figure out the difference between a stillbirth and a premature birth, and come back to us.
Then we’ll discuss where to place O’Connells Pharmacy plastic bags in the rich Kerry tradition of al fresco infant burial practices.
When I say “we”, I mean you.
This is the most important post I think I have ever read on this site as it is clear evidence of time travel from 1954
My cousin’s daughter sadly had a stillbirth some years ago, she is buried in a grave in a cemetery Dublin, where other family members will go when their time comes.
Joanne Hayes has absolutely nothing to do with baby John, and never did.
Isn't under investigation for a crime, and hasn't been accused by gardai of any crime relaying to the birth and death of her baby.
Yet still people are shoehorning what happened to her into someone else's crime.
Are they the parents?
Have those horrible/ disgusting police men ,who got forced confessions from the Hayes family ever been punished?
According to the Indo. they are.
Or appear to be based on DNA and whether you believe a journalist etc.
And kept quiet all these years even if not the murderers
I hope fired and prosecuted
It’s highly improbable that anyone involved is not retired or dead
Everybody knows young mothers were clamouring at the gates to be allowed to live a life of luxury in the mother and baby homes. Kindly, nurturing nuns took them in and cared for them, sheltering them from the cruel world and empowering them to become happy, independent women. The children were cherished, spoiled even, and were reminded every day that they were little blessings straight from heaven.
It's true. I swear. The tooth fairy told me, and she wouldn't lie, would she?
Now rather than question in private, they shout to the world that they have 2 people being questioned for murder and then release them 24 hours later making sure all the local know who they are.
I'm sure bringing people to a Garda station to be questioned about a murder rather than being questioned "in private" as you say is standard procedure. And it's for the benefit of all parties.
There was a time that stillborn or babies dying at birth could NOT be buried in Catholic graveyard
Yes this is true, as it was thought that they would have not gone to heaven, but would stay eternally in limbo... because they hadn't been christened. Any baby born outside of marriage hadn't a hope of seeing a graveyard .......I grew up in the 70s and 80's ..... girls and women had a terrible time back then.
Well if they aren't the murderers they should be telling the Guards exactly who did kill John.
Unfortunately, Garda skill and resources when it came to these sort cases of cases in that era, were absolutely deplorable.
Many criminal cases were treated in the same fashion as domestic terrorism issues, which is to say entirely improperly, under the malign influence of senior guards like Ned Garvey, the Buffalo Ryan and John Courtney.
How many times have we seen the legacy of injustice when it came to people like Joanne Hayes, Cynthia Owen, the men falsely accused (and one lynched) of Una Lynskey's murder, the Sallins Train Robbery fit-up and many more.
A quick case closure was more important than actual justice and that stain of criminality perpetrated by the civic police force of this State, remains until this day.
Stabbing a baby 28 times is reprehensible behaviour. Don't care who done it there should be no "empathy" for a person who do something like that. An awful lot of people seem to think that showing "kindness" to perpetrators of a crime is the most decent thing you can do as a human being, it's a bizzare set of values to have.
I don't care what Ireland was like and how supposedly judgmental people were back then a decent person would have done anything bar killing the child or allowing it to be killed, drop it a the doorstep of a house in the village, leave it in to a hospital, have it adopted anything bar killing it was a better thing to do and then to stab the baby repeatedly is simply barbaric.
Young teenager?
I’m from the area and nobody seems to have a clue who this pair are, never mind actually having family members in the Gardaí. Spill the beans, are the from OTW, town, Valentia, another area? It seems to be drawing a major blank around Cahersiveen anyway… Admittedly, I’m closer in age to baby John than the parents but even the major local gossips are stumped.
Where are you getting your information from?
More than likely making s**t up.
I heard this morning that the two were actually from (as in currently living in) a well know mid Kerry town rather than Cahirsiveen.
But I don't know if that is true.
It's possible that only one person from this couple is a parent of baby John, and that the other is their spouse. In many cases of babies born to single girls the baby's father and herself went their separate ways afterwards and went on to marry different people.
Were they named?
As if!
No. And they won't be unless they are charged with a crime.
Even if one or both of them are parents of the baby, he or she may not be the person or persons who killed him.
There are a couple of used copies available on Amazon at the moment.
I find it hard to envisage an explanation for that that reflects well on the pair...
Today's Indo reporting that the woman is the daughter of a deceased Garda.
Strangely , it says the Gardai have now taken DNA from the couple. I thought they were arrested on the basis of some existing match?
Maybe it's just procedure.
Maybe they didn’t agree to give DNA originally but some of their relatives did. That would mean the guards won’t have clear evidence until they test them directly. The purpose of the arrest could be getting those samples.
what makes you say that? Do you know something that nobody else in the country does? I am from Listowel and have direct family in Cahirsiveen. People down here are very sad and upset at the ongoing speculation and hurt caused by keyboard warriors who know nothing. (the recent Nicola Bulley case comes to mind, untold damage done by speculation)