good photo
Re. the UK class thing, what sort of differences do you notice?
I find it an interesting idea. I looked up current definitions of working and middle class, and it all seems to centre solely around income. The traditional ideas of what makes either or no longer really apply.
I grew up in what would have been considered a very working class household. Neither parent finished second level education, father worked in waged employment based around "low skilled" work (although I'm not sure who gets to designate the skill level of any job), mother worked in the home. I wasn't on an airplane till I was 19 or 20.
As the first person in my family to go to third level, I now find myself with a degree and a profession, so sit squarely in the middle class bracket.
Ya I say this is the case here for sure.
The Cargobike replaces the second car for majority of people, I know a handful of people in Galway City where its the ONLY mode.
When ya have people like Chiles commenting on it though - shows its becoming more mainstream. Which is good news I think.
Re class. For here yes, but over in UK? Class thing is still very strong over there in comparison with Ireland, outside of Dublin perhaps. Have two siblings over in UK for 20 years at this stage and it still surprises' me when I visit how pervasive this class distinction thing is in day to day.
Just taking the straw poll that is boards.ie, it seems that any questions about cargo bikes are about replacing a second car, so you could be right.
"Working class" ( a somewhat silly designation, that has lost a good deal of its meaning, I think) is a stand in for "less affluent people/families", and for some of those families 4,500 euro for a bike is just as unobtainable as 45,000 euro for a car.
Mr. Chiles would probably have been better off simply remarking to himself that the bike cost more than he expected, and continuing with his day, instead of trying to wrap a class issue around it, though.
i think the main reason cargo bikes are (somewhat justifiably) being seen somewhat as a class indicator is that the sweet spot for their use is replacing a second car; i.e. a lot of the early adopters are families who have already been able to invest in a second car; but owning two cars is not seen as affluent, whereas one car and a cargo bike is?
Most viewed and most commented on the Guardian this morning. Only 4 paragraphs of an opinion piece.
Typical that cargobikes would start a culture war within the Guardian readership. Ha ha
It's a bit of a non article, to be fair. To anybody not familiar with bikes ( and the prices thereof) I'm sure it comes as a surprise, though. People are constantly amazed when I tell them my bike cost a touch over two grand.
As an aside, I could have bought two of my car, with money left over, for the pricetag on the bike in the article
I long for his follow up when he finds out that replacing a car bumper costs probably the same.
don't talk about the case like that please - getting into discussions about the speed the cyclist was going, is obviously straying well into discussions about culpability.
the case is currently in front of the courts.
Out of curiosity, does anyone know how fast the ebike was going? I've seen some horror injuries at low speeds (which is what I justify for going as fast as I can) but I'm not too experienced with ebike related injuries.
Apologies, wasn't thinking about it in a legal sense & should have been more thoughtful.
Generally speaking and I know nothing of this case it's good for a Plaintiff when Defendants are blaming each other.
How could a judge not find for a Plaintiff to some degree when he/she reads Pleadings and listens to evidence with blame everywhere among the Defendants.
It's not unknown, typically in big cases where there is catastrophic injuries, where a judge finds some degree of contributory negligence to simultaneously up the award by the same amount..
we usually don't allow discussion of culpability etc., when a case is ongoing, so it's not clear cut; i'll put it to the other mods.
Are we allowed discuss where it happened? Location not identified in that report, wondering where it is and what state it's in now - i.e. was it improved since?
i don't think it needs to be put in bold yet, but obviously we don't want any attempts at identifying or naming the poor chap on the thread.
Think I might know who the person in the e- bike case is & in fact probably are easily identifiable.
I'm not sure what to think about the case but he was certainly hurt badly, I hope his family can get the help they need.
Always tell them that you had 2 on. One on your head, one made from tinfoil on top of that to protect it.
Thanks for that. I understood your point exactly, but it reminded me that I was looking for the article that @magicbastarder posted.
Thanks both of ye
When I was left hooked a couple years ago, and was getting injuries to my elbow and hip checked out, any semblance of sympathy was dropped by the nurse and doctor the moment I confirmed I didn't have a helmet on. Still unsure why they asked, I explicitly told them my head came nowhere near the ground. Same situation with several people I told after. Helmet blame is ingrained in some people.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.forbes.com/sites/carltonreid/2020/07/10/bicycle-helmets-not-designed-for-impacts-from-cars-stresses-leading-maker-giro/amp/
Here is one study by Volvo...
However, my point above was more that the victim, Mark Hayden died from internal injuries rather than any kind of head trauma but there is still the need to refer to his helmet. On that basis, why not mention the colour of his socks because like not wearing the helmet, it had no bearing on his injuries!
’The Sun was in my eyes’ your honour.
Yet again,what a load of fùcking bollox.
Apropos of the above post, I recall someone posting on boards a while back that some helmet manufacturers explicitly state that bicycle helmets are not designed to provide protection in the event of a collision with a car. Can anyone provide a link to that?
Mr Hayden was taken to Blanchardstown Hospital where he initially stabilised, but died later that night from internal abdominal haemorrhage.
...and yet the reporter feels the needs to point out...
The investigation showed that the cyclist had a helmet attached to his rucksack but was not wearing it at the time.
Original plan was one way - I'm not sure whether the new old plan means more parking gone, more narrow two way cycle path and/or narrow road lanes (and perhaps restrictions?). Until they closed merrion road and caused a clusterf*ck at trimblestown, Deansgrange was the worst bit of the suburbs on my commute.
Jaysus, have to love Tulsa. Can't provide enough case working staff but can continue to support a charity that has been found to spend public funds illegally. What do you have to do in this country to get in trouble?
I fully agree that it was always a terrible idea!
Instead the council has decided to amend the plan by routing the two-way cycle lane along the western side of Deansgrange Road, outside the boundary road of the cemetery.
The altered scheme will require the removal of on-street parking on Deansgrange, which the council said it had the power to do, under Section 38 of the Roads Act.
So are we now back to the original plan? Or have they also scrapped the one-way for general traffic element? Surely that will then require the removal of parking on both sides of the road (not that that bothers me)?
Good riddance to what was a stupid idea...