The government are currently investigating increased parking, congestion charges and speed limit reductions in order to help the country meet its climate goals. Looks like a split in the coalition is emerging over the proposals, which are likely to be deeply unpopular. Do you see anything of the proposed that could be considered politically palatable?
The problem is that public transport in and around Dublin would have to change fundamentally.
Take a look at London, they do have the infrastructure, but are still prone to strikes and planned or more unplanned engineering works on the tube. But theoretically it would work in London.
The best public transport I've ever seen was in Hong Kong, all clean, clean plastic covered seats, all on time, high number of frequency.
Dublin can't even connect the airport to the city center with a train, - they've only been talking about it, but yet again, they want to make driving and parking more expensive.
That's because there's very little of the carrot present, PT is expensive, crowded and inconvenient/unreliable/inefficient and on many routes unsafe...
You can be guaranteed that if we had a PT network as good as some of our European neighbours then by all means bring in the extra taxes for driving private vehicles inside of the Dublin Canal cordon...
70 million chickens are produced annually in Ireland. Majority which is shipped to uk/France/SA
The biggest issue Ireland has in terms of farming is that the shoppers prefer to buy the cheap shite from other countries instead of the local Irish produced products which means that the food is coming from overseas. This of course means huge CO2 as it is shipped into Ireland.
Most of the produce from Irish farms is shipped overseas while people buy horse meat from Tesco. This is the sort of madness which goes on in Ireland. You mentioned milk, Ireland imported 345million worth of milk from the UK while exporting 140m in 2018. Work that one out
Off topic but you mentioned it. In terms of farming the easiest way to reduce CO2 is to eat what we produce and export what we dont
Frickkiin mad yokes buyin' those fordenn birds, they should insist on seeing d chickkens passport first!
What section of Tesco stocks horse meat ?
You can say the same about cars and sitting in congestion.
And this is a typical boards reply.
I wont use the Luas as it's simply not safe. I dont feel safe on it when in Dublin. This is why I wont use it again poorly executed by the government. It's not even ran by a public operator.
Again electric cars and cycling should be mandated for the government should be made use them. Arent they pushing it on the population are they to important for the model shift they are selling the rest of us ?
MUP was pushed by similar people supporting all the other hair brained government schemes punted under health and safety, you know the yellow vest think of the safety scaremongering brigade who question nothing, then who wont actually listen to two sides of an argument. Just like this thread. When people openly example the lack of alternative transport to enable a model shift from cars.
Just like this reply to you.
I have said it I will sell my car and use public transport 100% when its fit for purpose.
Now its not and unlikely to be. Unfortunately.
I mentioned before where I live there are less than 5 busses a day. Yes a day none go before 9am so what I tell my boss see you at 12.30.
Ya that will work.
So please dont generalise based on Dublin.
Public transport is rubbish in ireland in my eyes.
An btw an electric ambulance is a great idea as when you get to hospital in Ireland today you are waiting on a trolly for 3 days anyway!! There will be a trolly tax next
Again typical FF/FG.
I'm curious where is you live that has the luas as an option but only 5 buses a day. Sounds like a place that will be hit be a congestion charge alright.
You can be curious all you like. I dont live in Dublin. But if I did as a major city I would expect congestion.
I go to Dublin a lot for work.
No where I live wont get a congestion charge but I like to think for the whole country not just myself.
Some people on here think car owners are these people who cant be changed wont use another mode of transportation.
In truth in my cases and many others there isnt an other mode available to us. Simple as.
If I chopped my car I'd be up at least 400 euro a month. I'd like that but it's not open to me.
Do we think they are not at the same thing with other products to keep cost down
So you are referring to a scandal from 10 years ago.
The clue is in the word scandal.
It was illegal then and it's illegal now.
You can think what you want but I don't think they are "at the same thing now".
MUP was voted on, left for years and then implemented. While nobody said anything about it.
FYI on electric cars, the manufacturers are changing to electric cars, not because of Ireland which is a tiny market. But because the larger markets want electric cars. Even if Ireland turned around tomorrow and said it would ban electric cars that wouldn't make a blind bit of difference. The other markets will push the decisions on what manufacturers make in the future.
On electric ambulances, you actually answered why the HSE doesn't need them. The money should be invested elsewhere and for the amount of CO2 emitted by ambulances its pointless to go after such a small install. It would of course help the ambulances if we got all the people out of cars which block them in cities
The story is full of holes, no actual craters
I doubt the location will be provider because the no buses before 9 is questionable as well
Do you think that the meat been imported into Ireland that can be sold extremely cheap is the high quality meat?
The point stands, we export meat to the World yet at the same time we are importing meat. All foods are the same. If we want to reduce CO2 then why not eat what we produce and then export the remaining items?
SO instead of blaming the farmer for producing food, just eat that produce?
Mup isnt an issue for me. I'm asking what has that tax solved??
Thanks for the EV story which I dont need. Ambulances are an example only . The point here is if we are all being asked to leave our cars why dont the government lead by example?
Course I'm not putting my location on this site. But if you think I'm lying about busses to argue a champion for the car your wrong.
That's another point for the green warrior wont believe there is a sub par public transportation system outside the pale.
I think my final say on this is when there is a regular safe fit for purpose transportation service in my area and in Ireland plus I see the ministers and govt departments buying in to its usage then I will buy in to it.
Congestion tax with no alternative is a joke of an argument .
Luas not safe. Would you grow up. Have you some kind of anxiety disorder or what?
My feckin mam used it to get to work in her early 60s ffs.
The results of MUP wont be known for years. But it was years before it was implemented, if you feel so strongly about it why didn't you kick up a fuss before it was implemented?
"green warrior" :-) or just someone who has bothered to do a little bit of digging and has reviewed the options available in terms of traffic and the bigger issue the laziness of the public in general, not all but a lot
So Tesco are not selling horse meat end of story.
Not getting into the rest here, too far off topic.
Loads of these little stories to mull over.
Last time I was on it was no better.
I wont get mugged in my car thats for sure
My point again about the green agendaist.
I have done my research I can read a bustime table.
The option doesn't exist.
Just because it does for you doesnt mean it exists everywhere.
Why can't people accept there isnt z public transport option viable in a lot of counties??? ?
I'm leaving this here as it's a waste of time arguing on here
So would you walk down a city street? Or get on public transport in London or Berlin where all sorts of dodgy stuff happens regularly? Clearly you're not suited to urban environments.
So your saying I should expect to be mugged while travelling on a public mode as it's the accepted norm.
Your making a great case alright to use it in fairness to you.
Clearly not used to urban environments. What a comment from you but in fairness you do come up with some comments.
If getting mugged and the urban environment means getting attacked.
You keep it all to yourself.
Remember your always championing how dry and great Dublin is. So surely a bit of congestion wont sully your views on its greatness.
If congestion does bother you take the luas!!!
I'll stay in the car thanks
I use tube and buses when in London.
But on the way home at night there's something very reassuring about settling into the back of a black cab.
But but my cousins Uncle Tommy who's 90 got the Luas once and he says it was safe so therefore all public transport is safe, man up. wahh wahh...;)
There is a poster here who knows a black cab driver who is 66.
The cab driver gets the Tube to work every day and it's safe out.
He says the cab is more dangerous than the tube and he is the driver of the cab!
True story that.
Is it true it also never rains in big urban cities?
I'd love one day to see a city ...some day maybe. Theres rocks to be picked here must give up the day dreaming
Honest to God lads it's pathetic. Luas is packed every day and you weirdos are worried about your safety.
We have uber now and late night tubes
Pot kettle and black calling people weirdos.
Is the media stories fake news then ?
Late night tubes in Dublin?
You mean tubes of smarties in the 24 hour shop yes?
Show me one public transport system in the world that doesn't have incidents. Like I get it you don't want to give up driving everywhere. Fine. But stop making up nonsense about being too scared to used public transport in Ireland.
Don't do Uber or late night public transport.
Black cab, your only man.