No, you don't need to have a certain brand. You could have a BMW, Porsche, Mercedes, Hyundai or any other CCS car and use Ionity either. Mine was just an example based on my history.
I'd say I'm the outlier, 2 EV family with solar, not environmentally motivated in the slightest. Motivated by cost saving and by off grid.
Same, can't remember the last queue I was in. Certainly it was before covid.
Classic. Call my post bluster and in the next sentence you actually agree with the point I made, but make a failed "no-brainer" comment about using the ICE despite agreeing with my observation. I certainly haven't heard any All-Ireland charging issues for folk returning in their EV. Not saying it's not a problem...I don't know, but it's far from the scenario you have tried to paint. You make it sound like half of Croke Park would be queueing up at a fast charger halfway home.
I did almost 700 Kms in one day last year. Dublin to inch beach, small bit of driving there locally and then home.
2 hours to Birdhill and my morning coffee needed releasing. So car on the supercharger while I used the toilet and got another coffee for the next 2 hour drive.
Return journey was basically the reverse. Long journey yes, but after 2 hours driving I'm ready to stop for either the toilet, or at the very least to stretch my legs and liven up for the next bit of the drive.
I've done a 4 hour solid drive before in a diesel Audi and I was knackered at the end of it. It's not safe or advisable to drive for that length of time.
In before people tell you they drive 700km without needing the bathroom or a break
Sleep is for quitters, and apparently a bottle to pee in is standard practice in an ICE car 😏
If they had Tesla Autopilot, they could pee while driving.
I mean, there's nothing actually stopping them from doing that anyway
Accuracy might be down a bit though, I'm suddenly starting to understand the popularity of seat covers
🤣
Ah Jaysus lads we're all guilty of engaging in sho1te talk at times, but this particular tit for tat of ICE drivers mocking EV drivers for stopping too often and EV drivers countering by berating ICE drivers for not stopping often enough for a wazz would benefit from a time out at this stage IMHO
I've actually had a funny experience a few times in my M3 (and also in my old MS), stopping at a services in an EV to pee, but not to charge as I had more than enough range.
I'll counter with my experience of driving an L30 from Louth to West Cork
Let's put it this way, I'd be seeking an urgent urologist appointment if I had to wizz everytime I needed to stop for a charge😂
Hey look, I've done over 600km in a day in an L24 back in the day a few times. I hear the leaf problems too! 10 fast charges in one day was my record. We did westport to wexford to kells to dublin to kells.
So now having to stop to pee and not need to charge the car at the same time is part of the fun of owning an EV.
This is all getting a bit weird.
This
How long did it take you? The second and last time I did the Cork run, it took me 7 hours to do 350km😢. Now I suppose I was unlucky as there was queues on 2 chargers. However, the best of the 4 350km stints took just under 6 hours. I swore after that it was diesel for all future such trips until I could afford an appropriately 'ranged' EV
Funny.
Grand when you have the time to arse around. I one time looked up fast chargers from Dublin to Wexford to see if it was possible to do it on electric in a Mitsubishi outlander, from memory there were gaps in the route which meant it was not possible, even then, better things to be doing.
I can do Wexford to Dublin no problem. Maybe the vehicle you were looking at isn't fit for purpose/that type of journey though?
just to be clear you were trying to see if it was possible to do the trip on electric power only on a PHEV? its not really a use case that is being catered for.
The whole bloody day lol, but back then chargers were free to use and there were no other EVs on the road, meaning it was easy to do.
First weekend I got the car I went on a long trip meath to derry to sligo to meath. You learn the boundaries that way!
I do Wexford Dublin Wexford at least twice a week, no charging needed.
Pretty simple solution for such a short journey, just need to increase the size of the battery in the car to something approaching a practical level, like every BEV on the market. Even my Mini with its small battery doesn't need an en-route charge for that journey. Even with that there's still plenty of chargers to cover you, well so long as your car doesn't use CHAdeMO.
Depending on battery size and SOC though.
The real fun begins when EV's are forced on people who can't keep them charged.
EV's have their place in the market for sure, but forcing them on people who don't want them will be a whole new ballgame.
Who's forcing them on people?
Much better than forcing local pollution on people. In balance I'd rather have clean air with the knowledge that charging infrastructure is nowhere near the issue you've made it out to be. Charging them isn't a hard problem.
Only just happened on this thread. A lot of bs to be fair. I had an id.3 now a model 3 and I rarely if ever think about charging. Just drive exactly like ice before. But my normal longer runs would be London or Belfast. If setting off for these longer runs I would usually start with 100% but if not it’s not a problem. My caffeine addiction takes over before I need a pee or charge.
Charging without your own driveway is largely untested. Again, a UK survey, showed just 7% of EV drivers do not have their own charging at home. I doubt it'such different here.
Of that 7% I'm not sure how many of those would charge at work or with a relative etc.
So unless you have evidence to the contrary, EV's are really only penetrating a small market segment - those with a driveway.
I like the way you've shifted to reducing local pollution rather than caring about global pollution. We all live under the one sky.
Who do you think it might be?
As far as I'm aware there's no one forcing you to buy one but you seem to think there is, hence why I asked?
Yes, just on the PC, I think at the time the greatest challenge was Gorey to Wexford town, looking at Ecars now, Enniscorthy now has a rapid charger, so it is still possible, about 6 charging sessions @ 45 minutes each would do it.
A waste of time of course, I cannot remember the figures for the outlander but much the same as my present car, so that journey from Dublin airport to Wexford town would cost me 11.2 litres of petrol, but overall consumption of the car is 47 litre/km and 15 kWh/100km so in practical terms its 3.5 liters for 160 km and 15kWh/100 km.
It was just an exercise on the PC, the car done it on petrol.
As someone with extensive personal experience of not having home charging I think I have a good idea how it works. I'm also very aware of the developments in the area to provide district charging capabilities.
What EV do you drive and what journeys are you regularly doing that have caused you to have such a warped view of en route charging?
That's always been my position on why we should use EVs, the other being to reduce our reliance on foreign energy imports via refined petroleum. So no shifting here.