whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
I always found the Parthenaise or blonde dacquitaine cow a better cross with the blue. Don't get me wrong the red limo is a serious cross too but any show winners here all came from Parthenaise or blonde
Agree, the red LM can be crossed with any breed and give you a top quality calf. The BA or PT to give the serious calf needs good back breeding (probably the good LM) and this dam is only suitable for a good BB bull
Anyone know where yiu could source parts for an old jf muck spreader or an old manual .
Question on stamp duty when buying land. I want to buy some land. Do I qualify for 0% duty by having the green cert or do I have to do something else? Is being added to a herd number making a partnership or is it purely an admin thing that has no impact on finances or things?
You must be under 35 too
I think it is or is going to U40 years of age.
Yes.
But is that all I need? To hold GC? Or do I need to be in partnership or something else?
Try some of the brogan lads for parts
Atkins dealers had JF parts aswell at one stage
I think that’s all, maybe best having a word with your accountant. They’ll know
Where did ya see this bass? I hope your right, I'll know soon enough.
I think it was a proposal in the last CAP.
I’d say I’d buy a new slide slinger as cheap as a spare part off Atkins 😂
Anyone remember using the old jf muck spreader. The bevel gear is not turning. The shaft is turning but it’s not turning the gear. I looked inside but can’t see any damage to the gear.
drive key sheared or missing?
some diagrams here might help -
Hi zetecescort thanks. Yes saw them but unfortunately it’s very hard to make out the diagrams on a phone even when u zoom in. yea exactly i think you could be on ut. It’s like the center shaft of a door handle that split. Presume this is the drive key you referring to.
but I can’t see where this fits in?
Father in law went to an out farm this evening to pick up a few bales of hay. He has some machinery stored in a shed there. As he opened the gate he seen the splash plate of the tank, a few pto shafts, top links, arm ball and the like just to one side. Someone had obviously been in and stripped off anything they could to pick up later on. Be careful lads.
He could have nearly organised a sting operation with the Guards or whoever. If it was going to be picked up it'd definitely be tonight.
Rang the Guards they didn't seem to interested in it. The we have no car here in the station at the minute story. Took a few details and said they would give him a call back later on. He is currently moving all to the home yard for safe keeping.
Potentially there were fingerprints on site.
Ye the gardas were out there about half an hour ago. They are going to check for some tomorrow. They said it rife at the minute lads lifting stuff like that which can be sold handy in an auction or scrap yard. Anything for a handy few euro.
I'd be lying in wait blow the car to bits
A length of 4 x 2 full of nails for the tyres
Back in the day when the house was being built, the garage was broken into. At the time I had some old style earthenware jars containing solidified copper powder. I had put water in the jars to dissolve the copper. Who ever broke in knocked them over, spilling copper solution over themselves. Boot imprints and hand prints were visible on the floor and on the window as they exited. I naively thought the sergeant who called would be taking that as evidence - no such thing - just a chat about it.
I didn't think when I opened this link that I would tick all the boxes.
I tick a fair few of them boxes myself, wouldn't exactly call it conclusive evidence of being a luddite.
So don't worry if you are a dinosaur it's probably because you read the Independent 😁
Have a bullock with a back problem in the middle of one of our end paddocks have been carting nuts silage and water up to him the last few days trying to keep him going. He’s eating & drinking away. He stands for me sometimes but he barely moves. Had the vet out Friday (gave him a couple of injections) and he said it’s 50/50 but to keep him going. He thinks something could be broke. The game would test you at times! Anyone ever experienced anything similar?
Give him a week to ten days to heal then move to a paddock with good grass.
Randomn observation but its a bit mad how posting the same thing on different platforms can have massively different responses. Posted a video on twitter & instagram with some real rough ground im trying to clean up.
A guy on instagram i dont know sent me a message with loads of advice with what to do etc.... people i know on twitter offered no advice except to tell me the land is 5hite 🙃.
Definitely some big farmers on twitter full time showing off, and if you ask a question, your just ignored.
Some very very sound people there too but some not so sound..