The bookies have slashed the odds on Glasgow now making it a firm favourite.
I have a range of weekends with free cancelleation booked
San Marino are going to have four semi finals!
Having said that, I think the Slovenian rock song is actually inferior to Wild Youth's one (and I'm no WY fan!).
Spain
Don't get this at all I'm afraid, just a shouty mess. Maybe the juries will like it, but got to think the televote appeal will be severely limited?
Wow. Back to the bottom 5 for Spain again. That's just awful.
Bit of a traditional Spanish thing. Beats ours in fairness.
No it doesn’t, our song is certainly better then that.
Agreed. We Are One may be as beige as anything but I'd listen to it over that screaming any day.
In fairness, John never really had a singing “voice”. He had a unique vocal “delivery” let’s say.
Was anyone getting punk vibes from PIL? I heard the song as generic old people music. Is that modern punk? Punk has put corporate suit on and has its tie done up to 11. Not sure what the point of calling it punk is.
Not so much pro-anarchy as the difficulty of growing old in a stable relationship.
His country is going to sh1t politically with general strike this week and the big anarchist is singing about health. Finger on the pulse there, John.
Can't say I'm a huge fan of that. But I recognise it as probably contemporary Spanish music. If it doesn't do well it will at least go down fighting. I'd love Ireland to so something with a contemporary Irish sound. The generic pop will only get so far.
Still recovering from Friday night's horror show. I can't get over CONNOLLY losing to that generic piece of crap. I get Wild Youth have a fanbase so it was expected for them to win the public vote but how could the Irish Jury of music 'experts' rate 'We are One' over 'Midnight Summer Night'? The best and worst thing about our entry is Wild Youth themselves- best in terms that I have confidence in them delivering a confident, professional performance in Liverpool unlike many of our recent Eurovision entrants and worst in terms of them finally representing Ireland but with that clichéd, derivative, soulless 'anthem'. I fear another year of failure awaits. I worry for Wild Youth after Liverpool. Was it just me who sensed tension between them? I found it strange Conor was the only member who did interviews and media appearances in the lead up to Eurosong.
CONNOLLY was inexperienced performer but that could have been worked on between now and May. There was a risk she could have been swallowed up on the big stage but I feel it was a risk we should have taken.
My biggest disappointment was ADGY. He just couldn't deliver the song. Also poor Leila Jane, she looked very nervous. The 2 rappers did well and at least John Lydon won't be representing us.
Please God let us never have Eurosong on the Late Late ever again. I will never look at Peanut Butter in the same way....
I thought all the songs were poor but I think the best song won. I don't see it winning but an outside chance of qualifying. Jedward seem to think nobody qualified after them.
I definitely would have gone with Connolly myself (more creative and original), though in fairness the qualification chances of she and WY were probably in and around the same level. It's not like we passed over a certain qualifier for a NQ or something.
Yeah I couldn't believe they weren't pulled up on that! Ryan Dolan qualified in 2013 and Ryan O'Shaughnessy in 2018. It's been 13 years since a woman performed in a Eurovision final for Ireland, Niamh Kanavanagh being the last in 2010.
Norway…
Spain…
The Late Late show is not the correct venue for picking our entry. I never watch that show and it was a horror show - loads of people watch it and lots of younger people in the audience - that **** show is one reason never to pay the tv licence again - Tubridy is way over paid for that shite.
I thought it was a very poor group of songs to choose from. We should look at how other countries, that have been winning lately, choose their songs and copy the format.
Czech Republic
I like this, think it's quite a strong effort from the Czech Republic. No idea yet how they'd stage it.
Also in Ireland's semi final, so won't help our already slim chances of qualification.
I'm no Wild Youth fan but I've a funny feeling their entry could be a lot more competitive than people think - it's being dismissed for 'fandom' reasons in my book.
Czech song is good though and appears to be referring to the invasion of Ukraine.
Marketa Irglova (she of ‘Falling Slowly’) submitted a pretty decent song for the Czech Republic this year…
Skip to about two minutes...yikes.
Seemingly had some technical issue where he couldn't hear himself
Wants a slap.
Odds getting worse already for Ireland =non-qualifier.
I'm assuming that's all staged cause if not.. someone's got anger issues 😬
Big night tonight with Croatia, Italy, Malta, Estonia, Romania, Denmark and Latvia all choosing their entries!
On drugs I would say - he looked way too manic and hyper for it just to be related to earpiece issues.
There were in-ear issues before he went on stage, and he was told to just go out and do his best. I can't blame him being annoyed at being rushed out to perform without being able to hear himself...it's not the monitor engineer that people will think sucked, it's his reputation as a performer. He's got every right to be pissed off, but he didn't need to react that way...it came across as petulant. He should have just walked off stage.
He was way too manic and erratic for it just to be annoyance at sound problems. Looked like he had 'taken something' before the performance. People have sound / earpiece issues on stage all the time.
People aren't pushed out on stage despite those issues though. Think you're reading too much into it. It's a long time to be up on stage getting televised, knowing anything you song light be completely out with the track, and having not been given the time to sort out before going on. Like I said, total overreaction, but I can understand his agitation and annoyance about it.
Look at how even his guitarists were reacting though. They were staring at him in bewilderment and thinking "What the hell are you doing?".
Oh for sure, they clearly thought it was an overreaction too. They were just getting on with their job. Like I said, he shouldn't have reacted that way, regardless of how pissed off he was. All I'm saying is I wouldn't minimize how annoyed he'd have been, and for good reason.
Busy night for Eurovision!
Estonia
Estonia unfortunately went for the wrong song. Bridges is grand, that's about as much as I can say about it.
They had a much better song in Venom
Denmark
Think this is a decent entry without exactly being ground-breaking. There's a lot of vocoder on the live vocal though, will it really be allowed to sound like that at Eurovision?
Latvia
They're very competent performers, but the song isn't doing too much for me on first listen.
Romania
Em.... the dancers have nice backsides. That's all I got.
Croatia
Soooo Croatia have went down the pisstake route this year, probably a bit annoyed after their last two (very competent) entries just missed out on qualification. Still, with the SF's having switched to televote only this year, and with only 15 songs performing in SF1 this probably stands a shot at qualification. Expect a very angry Marty Whelan when this qualifies ahead of Wild Youth 😂
Malta
Not a bad effort from Malta, should see them back in the final. Also take note of the productions levels of the Maltese national final and see what even a tiny country can do when they actually give a sh*t.
Italy still to come tonight!
Italy
Marco Mengoni returns after finishing 7th with L'essenziale back in 2013. A competent and well executed ballad, I expect a similar result this time around.