thread starter post
5 is bonfire hill, IIRC? 6 ongenstown road, 7 hill of the carnes, 3 ladymoor road, 2 is bellewstown bridge (on strava, anyway). i never knew if 1 had a name, just 'the bastard steep one up to the racecourse'.
Think so, didn't realise it had a name, grass up the middle type road
I went up 1 down 4, up 5 down 6, up 7 down 3, up 2 and away home down 8.
8 deffo the handiest way up.....(although dunno if i ever went up 6)
I do like to climb up that road, not so much going down it. Tough little test, had a dog give chase right at the top one day when I was well knackered after climbing up, the sprint away from the mutt was very hard :-)
you mean ladymoor road? that drops down beside the bridge on the southside of duleek?
Up Bellewstown 4 times.
750m or so in about 50k.
The spin up past Laburnum Farm and the GAA pitch is by far the toughest.
My favourite is still up past Kilsaran, but went down by the little narrow one off the shoulder of Carnes Hill and reminded me that it's a lovely one too.
Got out early yesterday, was on the road by 6.50am, with the temperature around 0 degrees. Did three hours - Zone 2 (220w) with two 40 minute blocks in zone 3 (275-280w).
I had a busy day ahead and had to be home by 10am so focussed on fuelling - two carb bottles, 1 Lucozade sport, 2 bananas, 1 Snickers, 1 croissant and one bag of Haribo Jellies. Recovery drink and a big bowl of rice with tuna as soon as I got home. Felt good on the ride and fine when I got home. At 89kgs, fuelling is definitely key for me.
Rear shifter went again with 25km to go so a bit of pedal mashing to get home but not too many hills thankfully.
Overall, 90km with 850m climbing at 29.9km in an unusual northerly crosswind.
I did 132k today from just outside Carlow to Brittas County Dublin and back. 711m and ave 28kph I was happy enough with that.
60km around NCD, 717m climbing, 24.7km/h. really feeling the falloff in fitness on the climbs; i was granny gearing it up some climbs i'd usually do two or three gears higher. that wind often didn't help.
An early morning 34k from Dublin city centre up to Johnnie foxes via cruagh and back via dundrum and rathmines. Nothing special, other than being taken aback by the sheer number of cyclists on the road on the way back into town. I've been working from home for nearly 3 years now so I no longer commute, and haven't been out pre-work for a spin since last year, so also I don't know if this is a regular occurrence, but coming through rathmines was like being Amsterdam. Traffic was gridlocked, but you had tons of cyclists everywhere: Dublin bikes, Moby's, kids on push bikes with parents, Oul fellas on mountain bikes in high-viz, a few formally dressed office women on cruiser bikes, a few like me in full road gear, choc-a-bloc.
82km around NCD; which is my longest spin in about six months, and probably too long given my current fitness levels; i feel like i've been beaten up.
real west coast sort of day - sunny and blustery. definitely felt like more than the 25km/h strava is claiming.
also not helped by me wearing my seldom-used altura bibs, which i think are a smidgen too large for me and resulted in chafing.
Very spring-like spin around the lanes of South Kilkenny from Waterford to Fiddown, returning by Portlaw and Kilmeaden to Tramore. I'm starting to notice the benefits of the Trainerroad plan I've been following since before Christmas. I did pass several interesting gates, but the legs were feeling in the zone so they'll have to remain in my head unfortunately. 68km @24km/h with 460m
New top avg speed set :D
passing by the airport today, somewhat bemused to see that on the perimeter road inside the airport fence (i.e. not the taxiway), there's some works going on and they had set up a stop go system with two lads operating the signs 50m apart. on a road which gets one vehicle every 15 minutes (total guess) and where there are already strict protocols about who is even allowed drive on that road. keeps someone in a job, i guess.
Barrow wheelers (mark flood memorial) 100km today.
Really enjoyed it, an enjoyable route and loads of good company with great food (especially the soup) at the end. Weather is always good when I'm down there which helps too.
Discovered a greasy bit of road and had a 4 minutes sit down to make sure I was ok. Helmet took the brunt so all good.
Props to the barrow wheelers fella on the titanium litespeed - he towed a lot of people a long way and went out of his way to point out road features.
Yeah, I would definitely be inclined to use them more often, particularly going from Heuston station into city centre (and back) instead of taking the luas
all the hire bikes are fine for tooling around the city. I haven't tried the eBike versions but if you're in any way fit, the city is pretty flat, it's a shame it isn't a bit more cycle friendly. Yes there are some cycle lanes but you can't go any real distance without encountering a street where you feel like your taking your life in your hands; and I say that as someone who cycles in the Dublin fairly regularly.
I'd imagine they're very similar. I'd describe the average speed as "pootling"
Two firsts for me today. First time cycling in Dublin city centre, and first time using Dublin Bikes.
On the latter, it's a great facility, especially for someone who isn't from the city, so wouldn't have their own bike with them.
On the former, I only came from the Point down to Temple Bar. The bike lanes as far as Tara St station are great. Even though I was happy enough on the road after that, I could see why some people might be a bit reticent about cycling in the city
First longish one in a while for me. Been mostly stuck on the trainer for various reasons. Was out before 7am and did the first hour in darkness. On the winter bike which has seen better days but still enjoyed it. Roads were dry and most of the muck and crap that was there for the past few months has dried out and disappeared. Definitely more than a hint of spring in the air. Had tonsillitis last week and just finished a course of antibiotics so started feeling the legs after about 70k. Home and hosed before 10am with 83km and over 900m climbing @ 29.3kph in the bag. Hoping to get out again on Monday all going well.
Very little cycling this Winter so took the spin up Cruagh to Johnny Foxes at lunch. Jaysus but the extra Winter poundage let me know it was there, huffing and puffing where I'd normally be grand. Lack of shape and evil little side wind left be about 20% slower than my times last year. Some work to be done but glad to have made it out.
first time in months in shorts today, and no overshoes. 12C out. buzzard count of 3.
a chap in a 15 year old golf overtook me with probably less than a foot to spare at one point, which was somewhat energising.
a little while later, a chap in another golf passed; nothing remarkable about the pass, but it was a dirty white golf and someone had written 'CHEATER' across his rear bumper. i wonder if he knew it was there...
All this talk of shafts just puts me in the gutter and want to talk crudely 🤣🤣
Anyhow, I got out for an hour earlier, by jeepers the wind was a bit of a fecker.
So much so that the chapelizod bypass that normally takes me 5.30 or 5.40 got done in 4.40.
It's quite gusty again this evening, so if anyone is commuting in the morning, be careful!
i don't think i've seen my shaft since i assembled the bike three or four years ago.
if that’s aimed at me it was in September but honestly never checked that part just the chainrings.
Freak incident I’d say as I’ve a 5800 crank on my turbo bike since 2014 ish with no issues.
You could pop it out & inspect if worried?
Lucky I was seated doing low rpm stuff rather than full gas sprint at the time
i've never seen that failure before with ultegra, i'd been wondering what you'd meant by 'shaft'.
This makes me nervous of the 6800 on my bike. its around same age.
#wattbombs
^^^ you're simply putting down too much power!