I wonder how this will work out for him
Threadbanned Posters:
Hamsterchops
take everything
road_high
FixdePitchmark
gk5000
they didn't "raise a concern". they verbally abused the principal and had to be separated from them. stop trying to rewrite reality.
No, nothing that has happened was because he had a disagreement with his boss. He verbally abused and physically intimidated her. Which is what resulted in his suspension and then sacking. The jail time and fines are because he refuses to comply with a court order to stop attending the school he used to work at. From what he has said in court he considers his legal opinions to supersede those of the judge in his case.
What would you consider a proportionate way for the courts to enforce their order on him? Or do you think that people should be able to disregard orders of the court because they don't want to comply?
Lost his job for verbally abusing the principal. entirely reasonable
108 days in jail for contempt of court and refusing to abide by a court order. entirely reasonable
getting fined 700 a day for refusing to abide by a court order. entirely reasonable.
He almost certainly has no assets, no house and no car for sure.
He is free to practice whatever religion he wants, but if he’s working in that school, he has to teach all students and treat them with respect.
He has been crystal clear that he’s not prepared to do that. He’s on the Indo on video saying that the the principal can’t force him to “accept transgenders” (his words).
The consequences are entirely self inflicted.
I hope the family aren't fundraising for his fines from the US fundies.
I hope he has to dig into that mortgage deposit account mentioned in a previous article.
But it hasn't stopped him, so therefore it's not harsh enough.
Logically the system can either increase the sanctions until he abides by them, with the only alternative being to accept that he will never abide by any rule and just let him continue to do what he wants. There's no other solution I can see.
Then they jack the fines up to 20k a day and we use the proceeds to fund LGBTQ+ communities. And fix potholes in Mayo roads.
Everybody wins.
Court should have a psychiatrist have a chat with him. Maybe he could be deprogrammed like a former cult member.
Absolutely nothing. I was commenting on another posters off topic discussion.
Whether or not he turns up at the school has no bearing on the fine remember. He will continue to be fined until he purges his contempt. He can cease turning up to the school at anytime but will still be fined. The Indo states that he arrived at the school at 8.42am this morning at the DPP is being sent the file in relation to his trespass.
Link to article; https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/enoch-burke-arrives-at-wilsons-hospital-school-for-sixth-consecutive-school-day-42319703.html
Fair enough.
The problem is said poster (i think it's the same one all the time) is using all sorts of issues to persue an ant-transgender agenda where none of said aruments are relevant. We're not even talking about a transgender child.
Best stopped in it's tracks.
Sure, he's Public Enemy No1 at the moment!
On the fines front, will we see collections at Sunday Mass in due course? Obviously different branch of Christianity but some alignment too.
All consequences of his own actions and choices, not anyone elses.
1) He could have left prison on Day 1 if he agreed to purge his contempt and stay away from WHS.
2) He lost his job because of his behaviour, again, his choice.
3) He is getting fined €700 a day because - see 1 above. He still refuses to purge his contempt and stay away from WHS.
He has no one to blame but himself.
My understanding was the drawing was 'drawing' or pulling the guts out of the body after part hanging and finally quartering. However I see a few references to the prisoner being 'drawn' to the place of execution (though that happened at any public hanging) so I will concede that it could be either way.
A catholic priest giving up part of the sunday mass collection to a protestant bigot? you must be having a laugh.
For what reason? Hes being fined for breaking the law it has nothing to do with his religious beliefs.
Sure it's like the fella that ended up in jail for 6 months over a difference of opinion as to what the best time was to have his tea. He thought the best time to have it was at 6 o'clock and his wife thought 7 o'clock. And he ended up in jail because of that belief. Pure discrimination.
Well he also arrived home at 6 and gave her a few slaps for not having it ready on the table, but it was still his deeply held beliefs that he was prosecuted for.
I'd favour lobotomising him.
It's curious at how some people are so comfortable with sharing their lack of ability to understand simple things. Imagine if you're so wrong on this, a really basic thing to understand, how many other thigs you're wrong about? I'd say it's food for thought, but you don't seem like you have such an appetite.
Anyway, everyone should be fully aware that there are serious and unending consequences for refusing to comply with the justice system. It shouldn't be a surprise that judges don't just let you pick and choose what bits to agree with, and what bits to ignore, and that there are coercive measures that can be put into place when you act the eejit. It's basic stuff. I don't know about you, maybe you have an excuse, but the Burkes are supposed to be intelligent and well educated.
I think that is actually probably easier - The judge would approve/facilitate warrants to allow the authorities to pull data on bank accounts etc.to allow for forensic accounting searches to take place.
That sounds reasonable, I hope you are corrrect.
I read a few good articles in the Sunday independent when I visited the auld fella there yesterday evening. He buys the print copy.
I noticed one of the articles hinted at the collectivism v individualistic society that I posted about previously. The old Ireland v new Ireland etc.
The point was also made in one them is the Judge does not seem to understand Burke's motivations - 'calling it a pointless exercise'. It does not compute with the judge, no logic to it as far as he was concerned.
In other words no effort has been made to understand the motivations that drive the man himself and try and understand his viewpoint.
Eilis O'Hanlon even went to the trouble of reading Enoch's Burke's two published books - both available on Amazon for those of you who would like to 'know the enemy' or understand Burke's viewpoint.
O'Hanlon's take on him was the fines and threats of jail hold no fear for Burke. He would be willing to stay in jail for the rest of his life to stand up for what he believes in.
Her general take on Burke's religious views is that not only has society lost it's way. But many in religious circles have lost their way as well. By preaching their doctrine privately but publicly doing another. Thus not adhering to anything. Burke views himself (according to O'Hanlon) as on the side of Good v Evil. It is black and white as far as he is concerned.
Ah, yes, Court Orders.
Unfortunatly Court Orders are broken every day of the week.
And if you go to the Gardai to try and get the Order implemented , they will blank you until you are blue in the face.
That's what happens in real life , unless of course you can get a couple of barristers in your corner and the media and keyboard warrions on your side.
It's not a deeply religious school. I grew up in the area and know people who went there. It's a coeducational boarding school. part of the reason so many protestants go there is simply because all the other schools in the area are religious and catholic. Bach then there were 4 secondary schools in Mullingar. The CBS, Loreto St. Finians and the tech. I went to finians in Mullingar. Now that was religious. Masses every morning for boarders. Confession every Friday. "Religion" classes where catholic dogma was taught. There's nothing like that in Wilsons.
And the guy didn't just have a disagreement. I disagree with bosses all the time. I don't harass them. I have a 1-1 where I bring up my concerns.
The judge calls it a pointless exercise because that is what it is. Despite what Burke and his supporters would like to pretend, he wasn't suspended and then sacked for his beliefs. It was entirely due to his actions. I mean I totally get why he would like to pretend it is about his beliefs. But his decision to be verbally abusive towards his boss stopped it from being about his beliefs.
I have no idea how things might have ended up if he hadn't decided to just try to get his way by being a bully. No one does.
The only belief that he is actually standing up for is his apparent belief that the courts don't have jurisdiction over him.
It has everything to do with his beliefs though.
If a woman turns up for work in Kabul after the Taliban have banned women form teaching in schools are they entitled to stone her?
It's the law after all. Perhaps the law is an ass?
Regardless of his beliefs Burke is merely acknowledging objective reality. In this topsy turvy world however you apparently can't state the obvious, nobody is 'non binary', men cannot become biological women and women cannot become biological men.
Here is a woman refusing to refer to the man that raped her as 'she' under threat of sanction of the courts. Should this woman be forced to refer to her rapist with 'her' preferred pronouns? Should the victim be fined every day in court that she refuses to? Should a rapist of women be sent to a jail full of vulnerable women because the law recognises 'her' as such?
Perhaps the law is an ass in this case as also. Here we have a trans prisioner that now identifies as a baby, are you such a biggot that you won't affirm their identity? Are you not outrage that a female toddler is being held in a high security jail?
Enoch Burke has done nothing wrong.
everybody but Burke is wrong. got you.
I wouldn't see it like that at all.
Mullingar? I thought all the schools down there were dedicated to the worship of Joe Dolan?
Oh me, oh my, you make me cry you're such a good looking woman, man. something-or-other-fu^k-knows
"It's a coeducational boarding school"
Tell me, what does co-educational mean exactly? That sounds sort of binary to me.....