Threadbanned Posters:
Hamsterchops
take everything
road_high
FixdePitchmark
gk5000
Which bit of "his side" do you support?
Which part appeals to you the most?
why would you champion someone for making a constant nuisance of themselves to say the least?
What is it you want the courts to do exactly? Just lock him up indefinitely?
Or the Gardai constantly waste their time coming every morning to arrest him and release him so he can saunter back over like on Monday?
The school, Gardai & courts are doing their best but the fact is as much as Burke would like they can’t make him the centre of their attention at all times. Other things need to be dealt with as well and this lads just out to cause everyone trouble from what I can see tbh.
Religious beliefs are no excuse for this behaviour. Not in the slightest.
He will go down the prisoner of conscience rout That's not a good look for the state. If he caves he caves but I can't see that outcome yet. My main issue is that they never force other Religious schools to do the same. Either they all have to teach this stuff or none. Religious protection seems a 1 way street. Also not a Christian here.
It seems the best way to counter those with religious beliefs who try to ram them down other peoples necks is to play them at their own game. The Baphomet statue in response to the 10 commandments in the US is a good example. So, I wonder if maybe referring to Enoch as She/Her etc continuously might get the point across?
He could move to America and work for Trump's 2024 election campaign.
Would he not still be a Christian icon.
He has money. If he has withdrawn it, the courts are entitled to take a very dim view of that. He is working as a teacher for years and living at home. He doesn't have a car and wouldnt appear to spend too much money at all.
He has been saving 20k per year while working I'd say.
So if he can't pay, put him in prison again and leave him there for a good spell.
He can have whatever religious belief he likes but that doesn't allow him to make a nuisance of himself daily.
Find me a single celebrity who identified as non binary or pansexual prior to the mid 2010s- you won't find a single one.
Eddie Izzard.
Also, Pansexuality is an orientation, not to be confused with a gender.
As for human history:
He is getting no more of my attention. He is not sane. Out to Portrane with him and let him protest in an empty locked room. Fcukin Looper
See you at 9:30 tomorrow
This was never about teaching this "stuff".
This was about an employee refusing to comply with a workplace policy.
No I'm talking about the wider Issue No one is marching into a certain religious space demanding LGBT be on the curriculum. Either all Religions are treated the same or none. In before he was fired for an argument Yes he was but what was the argument about.
I swear are the most basic details the hardest to understand or what is it?
How are some folks still shook to learn someone lost their job for breaking the rules in their job..
I’ll repeat myself from yesterday, in work, we handle cash sometimes. We are NEVER allowed take money from the till. Even to break notes/get change. If you do, you’re sacked. End of story.
Enoch Burke worked at a school which has a policy of acceptance and anti bullying. He would not follow the rules he agreed to in his work contract. He was dismissed.
It’s so basic in the working world I’m left with no other choice but to assume anyone taking Burkes side here is a dole hound or something because you can’t live in the real world and not understand this.
The Ironic thing is if Burke had just obeyed the initial court injunction and instead set up a protest a legal distance outside the school.
He would have got the martyr support from his supporters loads of publicity.
But kept his salary and stayed out of Prison.
They resorted to forcing the legal backlash too soon.
Probably ! Touche !!
it’s like an addiction tbh you know he’s gonna show up but god it’s exciting to find out.
Though I do wonder if he’s gonna do it tomorrow. He’s admitted he’s saving for a house deposit and I can’t see him having the savings wiped out over this shite.
It was said just a while ago before he was getting paid & basically living for free (albeit in prison but still for three months he had his entire salary saved for him basically) all he’s doing by allowing the court to siphon his money away is undoing literally everything he worked for all these years.
Money is a powerful motivation.
The fallacy there is in the word 'beliefs'. His 'beliefs' are not being callenged. What is being challenged here are his religious ''entitlements' - the entitlements to bring his beliefs into the workplace and have them facilitated; and to dictate to others how they will identify.
And there is no clause in the Constitution that protects entitlements.
He wasn't fired for an argument. He was fired because when he didn't like the school policy instead of reacting like an adult and dealing with it through the proper channels he threw a tantrum. No one wants an employee that throws a tantrum when they don't get their way.
If he actually wanted to force the issue of his religious beliefs and how they should trump school policy he could've made it about that. But he decided not to.
State has no say in the conscience matter - it's merely upholding a restraining order.
It didn't facilitate the student's stance, the school did.
Most Seriously Religious people don't act like adults when their beliefs are challenged.
Jenny
And ratcheting up each day is the killer...no incentive for him to delay.
Sorry, I missed that story - what did he do? And how did it infringe on Burke's beliefs?
But we all know that's what they will suggest. You and Me saying what we believe is irrelevant to Religious fundamentalists.
He has made himself unemployable. Eventually he'll have to turn to the state for housing.
Well, if and wen they do we'll discuss it then. Thread is moving fast enough without aggrivated speculation.
You know exactly what is meant. I'm Talking about other Religious schools that would be clearly not be teaching LGBT parts of the curriculum. They also would not suggest that pronouns have to be used. It's a bit of a cognitive blind spot I know.
But Mr Burke's argument would be having to use pro-nouns is going against his religious ethos. If you look at the Wilson Hospital Ethos page you will see it states the following.
"Faithful to the Last Will and Testament of Andrew Wilson, made in 1724, Wilson’s Hospital School maintains a distinctive Church of Ireland ethos, fostering Christian practice and teaching, promoting dignity and respect for the individual and constantly committed to the provision of a caring family atmosphere in which education can flourish."
The next question would be is transgenderism part of the Church of Ireland ethos? Also it is clearly not part of Burke's Christian Union Ethos. I assume Burke is horrified by the change of view of the school.
Asking a man like Burke to use pronouns or accept the use of them in the school, would be like asking you to 'define a woman'. As your add on to your post implies. We both already know the answer.
I don't why people are concerned about him becoming a so-called prisoner of conscience.
Thats something that he and his supporters can anoint him, but to the rest of us - the other citizens of this Republic - we know the law, we know fair treatment and due process and natural justice and all that good stuff. We don't see him as being unfairly treated. If he wants to do the martyr, thats on him.
And frankly, I don't give a shite how him being back in prison would look from abroad, Christ knows there are far crazier balloons than the Burkes in other Countries that they are having to grapple with.
Are you Irish? If you are you might want to revise your constitution, literally the 2nd article is an entitlement 🤣