Orange is the new Burke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,861 ✭✭✭AllForIt

What I was pondering is that his stint in Mountjoy doesn't seem to have had any effect on him. So maybe short spell jail sentences are pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

But no video of the event in question or a transcript of what was said it's very odd. They should have just ignored the antics and left him in a room he would have got bored eventually. They should leave him to it outside the school it's winter. Soon get bored again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,516 ✭✭✭Be right back

Oh I know, they have led their whole lives being influenced by their parents. Very sad existence. I think a file has gone to the DPP? Will he be back at the school tomorrow?

A video? Do you think any student was gonna be stupid enough in the middle of church to take out their phone and even if they did upload that video online?

Lad they might as well just ask the principal to suspend them on the spot.

The absence of evidence is not evidence of anything

Okay, if one of the staff did that then similarly to a student they might as well resign on the spot. I don’t know about where you work but if I filmed an argument in work and posted it online I’d be sent home for the day— to a find a new fcuking job.

I just find it odd most stuff comes out fairly fast these days Including what was said. There has been nothing. What was said is very important to the substance of the altercation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,132 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

It has been revealed that Burke already has a new job, in Ennis, starting tomorrow.

Beidh Enoch amárach i gContae an Chláir!

Why would filming an altercation lead to you losing your job. Garda could use that valuable footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I’m sure I saw a video of him chasing after the principal and shouting at her - abuse doesn’t necessarily mean abusive words (swearing etc) but tone, intimidation etc. Cant remember where I saw it or if it was of that instance, or another one during the BOM or injunction hearings - my memory fails me - still not an appropriate place or tone for a discussion.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,709 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

He could have walked out of Mountjoy any time he wanted, all he had to do was agree to purge his contempt. That's a pretty big psychological boon that 99.9% of the other prisoners don't have.

I'm not sure it'd be as bearable if he was sentenced to a fixed period of time with no 'out' in his back pocket.

Well if you find it again feel free to pm me it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,516 ✭✭✭Be right back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Carlsberg don't do bets on whether Enoch will turn up at the school tomorrow, but if they did the answer is == PROBABLY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,994 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'd say the criminals couldn't tolerate listening to him anymore and petitioned his release.

There's less severe torture methods in Guantonamo Bay.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,376 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

This just shows how indoctrinating kids all their lives can ruin them.

These Burkes had their parents extreme views forced on them, probably before they even understood what it all really meant. Like many kids in Ireland I suppose.

Now as adults they are only extreme because of their upbringing. Had they been born to another set of parents, they might be normal functioning adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,132 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

nice way to ignore the important part which was posting it online.

what is valuable about someone shouting at their boss? The Gardai would not use that because it would be considered by them to be a “civil matter”. If he started throwing punches, yes, perhaps they’d be more interested.

Posting it online for the world to see would absolutely cause war with employers. The same goes for posting a detailed transcript of what happened. Do you think the school are happy this is being reported in the media at all let alone to the degree it has been? But yet you’re trying to imply that the argument didn’t happen or didn’t happen a certain way in the absence of a video, a video which by all accounts, is none of our business.

The fact is it actually matters not one shred what any of us think of Enoch or indeed what happened. The people who need to see evidence of what happened have presumably seen it and therefore concluded the best course of action was termination of employment. I’m sure his general antics following the initial incident did not help.

Mind you for all we know Burke was terminated on the basis he refused to follow the schools policies on discrimination and inclusiveness etc. refusing to address a student as per their request & at the request of their parents is in violation of school policies.

In my workplace it’s a policy not to take money from the till for example, for any reason. So say I wanted to break a €50 note, I cannot (without permission) take five €10 notes and leave the €50 in place. I would be disciplined for doing so— potentially dismissed & that would be because I violated the policies surrounding use of the till. But if I wanted to I could shout all day how they only sacked me because I’m short sighted and they didn’t like my glasses.

That’s the crux of it, Enoch is babbling about religion this that or the other but the fact of the matter is he wouldn’t abide by the policies; which would have been clearly laid out in the contract of employment he signed and agreed to. If you fail to do so you will eventually be terminated. This is common in workplaces all across the country. His reasons for refusing to follow them are irrelevant. His behaviour in denying to follow the policies are a total irrelevance.

So what was said, what wasn’t said, who it was said to & whether or not there’s a video of it are absolutely not even relevant because what we do have on record and repeatedly so is an admission, from Enoch Burke, that he will not adhere to the policies of his workplace, per the contract he signed, this is unacceptable in any professional workplace, he has compounded his problem tenfold by behaving in such fashion as he has. He has ignored every avenue available to resolve the dispute amicably and has favoured to behave in a manner most unusual and completely unprofessionally.

He’s made an embarrassment of himself and made the schools business public needlessly. That’s not to mention the time and money he has cost the school, courts & of course you and I. But somehow there are people here who are sitting on the fence or outright defending Burke for being so righteous in this world of “woke radical lefties”. Burke is not full of righteous indignation he’s full of shite. He is using religion as an excuse to bully his way into having his own way. It’s failing miserably and he’s decided to then make everyone else’s life difficult because of it.

He’s a religious nut, no different to those loons in the states. At this stage whether he screamed in Niamh McShane’s face before giving her the Stone Cold Stunner or he sent her a bouquet of flowers with a letter attached respectfully explaining his stance on the subject is neither here nor there. He’s ignored school policies, made a mockery of the schools disciplinary procedures & wasted time and money to a sickening degree. He deserved to lose his job & my only hope at this stage is the Teachers Council has the good sense to remove him from the register.

He may not be dangerous insofar as a physical threat to anyone— but this man’s mind is poisoned and he should not be near children at this stage. The damage he’s caused to his own reputation alone will ensure one way or the other he won’t be teaching at any school worth a shite in future anyway.

Oh & if you seriously doubt he treated the principal poorly have a brief look back at his sister & the rest of their behaviour when she was sacked from Arthur Cox. In fact read the entire story and come tell me it’s not likely he behaved like a crack pot. The lot of them are mental. Why would Enoch be different.

Honestly some of yous need to give your heads a shake and wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I’m even thinking it might have been the news, cant remember. If I find it I’ll post it here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

That's what I thought. He'll find it impossible to get another teaching job in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Its not odd. Nobody would record videos like that in that context. Its odd you think they would.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,921 ✭✭✭✭elperello

To be fair I think Enoch is going to find it hard to get another job.

Not as a teacher necessarily just in general.

There might be a book shop in Castlebar looking for staff.

Also, I wonder if the Burkes would have such obsessive defenders were their family name Conners… 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

Somewhere in Iran or the middle east might want him.

Maybe some cult in the US.

Did you remove the "They do voluntary work/counselling work in the background" claim? Would you really send a vulnerable member of your family who needed counselling into that nest of vipers?

Yeah, why can't trans kids just STFU and ignore everything that they feel from the earliest age, regardless of the impact to their mental health and ignoring high suicide rates for trans kids who don't get to be open with others, just so that Hodger doesn't feel slightly uncomfortable about meeting or hearing about people who are different to them?

What is the 'alphabet soup brigade' please?

Let's leave it there for the sake of the thread. If you want to believe everything you read in the papers, that's up to you.

Untitled Image