Orange is the new Burke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Yes but they had the sense to close the gates. They should have done that weeks ago and allowed the students/teachers and anyone else in but precluded all others. That would have facilitated a situation where he olwiuld actually break the law by being aggressive or pushing his way in. Hopefully they will have deputised the parents council or whatever to man the gates from tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,211 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

@[Deleted User] Does he not have any hobbies? Like Jesus.

That is his hobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭kegg

My thoughts too. I'm off to get some popcorn .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

He's going to get himself locked up in a cell at the Garda station for the night.

Surprised the rest of the family aren't there to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,367 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I said he is danger of going from a man of principle to an oddball

That ship sailed a long time ago.

Disappointingly, he likely has a basis for that. If there were no issues with his arrest and he was charged then he would have been offered bail on the basis that he stayed away for the school. Breach of bail would be a criminal matter. Unless there was some argy bargy within the school I suspect the Garda head honch or local state solicitor may have advised that there is no sustainable charge and that was why he was released. If that’s the case, Ammi will be at home preparing a civil case for damages for false arrest/detention.

as you were typing that the gates were opened and he has gone back in.

So as I see it, the next steps in this are as follows (not necessarily in this order but likely something close to it)

• Court judgement on sequestration of his assets
      • Likely to go against him due to his continuing breach of the injunction
      • Also very possible the court will hold him in contempt again and lock him up. Might happen separately, not sure how it would work
    • Enoch appeals the dismissal
      • He loses after the whole thing descends into a farce
    • Enoch appeals to the WRC
      • He loses after the whole thing descends into a farce
    • DPP presses charges
      • Enoch turns the trial into a farce
      • Ends up with a custodial sentence
    • Once released from custody, the Teaching council take the case on suitability to teach grounds
      • Enoch loses after the whole things descends into a farce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,954 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Don't schools normally finish up around half 3, so he's walking in to walk back out, what a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭kegg

That pic reminds me of the end credits of the old incredible hulk series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

All part of the master plan. Stop thinking of them in normal terms? More martyrdom and more. Suffering losses in human terms is part of the martyrdom ...They know exactly what they are doing and they do it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,481 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

From his point of view it is point of principle it is irrelevant whether he teaches the transitioning student or not. The school policy would be if he was addressing that student he would have to use different pronouns.

So Enoch Burke wanted to kick up a fuss. He has succeeded in his mission. That is all it seems to me. By this thread being created it has helped Burke in that mission. All this guy seems to want is attention for his religious crusade/principles.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I love the quite that god created them in his image as biologically male or biologically female. Does that not mean that god is binary being both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,616 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I cant believe they didnt leave someone at the gates to stop him coming back in.

and it completely ignores the people who are born intersex.

As the school well know.

OF COURSE they let him in before the students would be walking out through the gates...Well done school/ They foiled him again

Feeling for the students more and more. when the adults act like this it is most disturbing

Just noticed that the propose to charge him under the Public Order Act an essential component of which is that the school is a public place. Might be that they realised that closing the gates undermine the potential charge. I still think they are better closing the gate and excluding him that way. A Dictrict Court public order charge won’t be the end of this.

Yea they’ll be needing a bouncer at the gates in future.

I understand the suggestion to leave them closed but the fact is people will be coming and going from the school pretty much all day. From the picture as well it’s evident the gate was opened to allow someone authorised to enter and he just snuck in behind them. I’m guessing those would be automatic gates.

The Gardai are gonna be delighted with this anyway. If they’re called out a second time for the same shite in one afternoon.

He'd love nothing more than for someone to try physically stop him

So what then? The kids should have to scale the walls to leave school?

i mean I get your point but what we’re doing now is pointing fingers at the school, when they’re just trying to conduct themselves as normal, it’s Burke who’s behaving abnormally.

it is a school at the end of the day it’s not the Joy the gates shouldn’t be locked 24/7 people need to come and go!

He knows when school will end and the students will pour out through the gate

Keeping them open might be necessary to assert it is a “public place” for a Pulic Order Act charge but I still think it’s an error. Even if that is sustainable, it won’t end this matter. They need a public whip around for security to keep him out. It will rob him of publicity unless he constantly comes up and causes difficulties for security in which case he will likely be provoked into an actual criminal act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,481 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Good point. I suppose the staunch Catholics belief in the holy trinity. The father the son and holy spirt what is word for 3 in one person? Still trinity?

To be honest on the binary thing, when I see binary I still think of computers and data.

And when I see 'CIS' mentioned I think of what the Soviet Union used to be before it 'transitioned' into Russia. As it was the Commonwealth of Independent States.

I had to look up the new meaning of Cis first time I saw it, as I had no clue what was being spoken about.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I can't believe anyone would want that job (I'm assuming you don't mean the guards). Can you imagine the amount of non stop moaning you'd hear. Plus if he tried to enter and they tried to stop him, there'd probably be a lawsuit. Best thing for the school is to call the guards. Once the gardai arrive it's their problem, not the schools.

If it keeps happening I wonder if the guards will just send a patrol car around every morning and pick him up at the gates.

From video on twitter it looks like he walked in after the gates were opened to let a car in.

I have a feeling this continues there’s gonna be some parent who will gladly take the rap to give him a well deserved kick in the arse.

Wow he really is a lost cause.

Indo reports he claimed he was “wrongfully arrested” and that the Gardai spent 45 minutes in the principals office before arresting him “without observing the situation”.

Mate the situation is you’ve been sacked. Fcuk off.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

The original injunction is gone , along with the request for sequestration of assets.

It was only in place to get him to comply with the terms of his temporary suspension , which is now finished as he has been sacked.

Next steps for Enoch would be to appeal the sacking up the chain of command - I assume the next level would be the Department of Education?

For the school , as he is no longer an employee they call the Gardai and have him arrested for causing a disturbance, which he was.

Him returning to the school, having been presumably already given a warning by the Gardai to not return under the Public Order act you would assume just adds icing and sprinkles to an already solid case for the DPP to act on.

A custodial sentence is absolutely in his future as he has repeatedly shown that he has no respect for the law and the judiciary so a fine and/or suspended sentence would be of no value.

If convicted of the public order offence he is going to prison without doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,132 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Be far more interesting if the students descended on him like a hoard of the infected from 'The last of us' and just left a pile of bones.