I wonder how this will work out for him
Threadbanned Posters:
Hamsterchops
take everything
road_high
FixdePitchmark
gk5000
So does John Rogers.
Martina may send a couple of the other kids out to earn a crust after first Ammi and now Enoch making themselves unemployable.
Although every HR/recruitment department in the country probably has the name Burke on a red flag list at this stage.
This is in no way over. Say that family are bankrolled by talibavangicals. This will be appealed and will go round and around in the courts.
He'd be trespassing then.
In any case he won't be getting paid so not what it would achieve, and it could undermine any WRC appeal.
You mean turn up at the school he was sacked from?
Nah.. this is heading to the courts would be my thinking. Can't see Burke taking the 'thirty pieces of silver'. So could get pretty costly yet for all concerned.
Yes, this is Enoch after all...
I'm sure some people would take the Burke's side, but those would be a small group of already highly radicalised people
If the WRC rules in his favour the school can appeal to the district court.
It's not like a personal injuries case where a lawyer will work for a %, so most likely he will have to pony up the cash himself.
I'd assume a district court won't be too interest in dealing with somebody who has no respect for the court system, having been in contempt previously.
This has already been covered by a judge.
What makes you think the student wasnt created by God in this way intentionally?
cheerio cheerio cheerio cheerio
He'll turn up Monday and be arrested. Or else he'll **** himself and back down.
He can make good money as the warm up act for Jordan Peterson's live shows
I was her nephew, not her teacher, so why would it affect my career?
I used to bring her to the doctor a bit, and the receptionist always referred to her religious name. It wasn’t difficult.
Maybe he could get a job teaching in the school he went to as a child.
In what way?
To challenge them? Isn't God well known to challenge people by giving them trials?
You mean turning up to a school he isn't employed at?
Wilsons will have the Guards pick him up for common trespass on the first occasion. I imagine if that persists, they'll add on something connected to the harassment and endangerment of children and Burkey will be looking at some quite serious charges.
People, even the mad ones, cannot be left be with the belief that the laws of this Republic do not apply to them.
It'll end up dragging out for 2 or 3 years through the courts
Fcking delighted - well done Wilson’s Hospital
So the Christian teacher should accept the trans student created by God, right?
All of what you assert is of course true.....in some parallel universe!!
The school was clear in it's policies and is also entitled, if it so chooses, to update and amend those policies because they live in the real world where being Christian (thankfully their brand of the Christian ideology) is to be inclusive and accommodating to a child instead of pandering to some self righteous fundamentalist.
Classic case of the tail trying to wag the dog.
Glad he's fired, he can go practice his ideology all day every day in splendid isolation as it'll be a long time before anyone is foolish enough to take him on as an employee.
The big thing for me in all of this is that he doesn't have any union help, the teachers unions in Ireland are some of the strongest unions going and he doesn't have any support, I assume this is because he didn't join but I'd imagine with such a high profile case that will clearly leave precedence in the teaching profession that a union would support him to protect other members, but in all of this it's just the Burke's against the world.
Also, this isn't a trans issue, this is how an employee chose to deal with a direction from an employer, he had a number of avenues available to him and in each case he decided on the nuclear option, for example when the original direction was given about the student he could have emailed the principle outlining his objection and starting how he wouldn't be following the direction.
In exactly the way God intended them to be created, obviously.
How do you know what God's intentions were?
And if you answer is that you don't, then your whole argument falls apart because you admit to not knowing whether ot not the school acted with God's Christian faith.
unfair dismissal decisions tend to be related to inadequacies around the process or procedure that has led to the dismissal. In this case the school had a legal presence through a lot of the process so you would think they have a very defendable dismissal, but the onus is still on them to defend it should a case be taken.
Im sure the burkes wont see it that way, this is far from the end of this story me thinks, wont be long before they start talking about the european courts for this one.
Ha ha ha. The teachers unions are strong. **** pull the other one. They are a joke.
Burke would be incapable of winning in the WRC. Ammi failed there herself since the entire brood are incapable of behaving themselves.
That comment was responding to $hifty who quoted the bible.
One verse was about valuing yourself, and being valued, as you were created in God's image.
I responded to the quote they provided which was in plain English.
"God's intentions" wasn't mentioned, either by me or the other poster, so I don't see what point you're making.
No sane Union rep would touch this guy or his family with a bargepole. This family is a whole set of grenades going off or waiting to go off and 99% of Union officials simply want the status quo to continue.
Absolutely agree 100% that no sane union rep would touch them, but the overall union and the power behind it would. You'd imagine that he was given the same invite to join the union as every other teacher and chose to ignore it, I'm basing that on the assumption that he would have objected if he wasn't
I guess I'm sowing my age and I remeber the strikes of the 80s Bad old days when teachers called the shots – The Irish Times