Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
Indo putting the boot in on Donohoe, surprisingly.
Regards...jmcc
I wonder if a donation to the election campaign was a prerequisite for the appointment?
Is there a clean TD in FG anymore?
Crony Coveney really really struggled to defend Paschal today on Newstalk. He kept saying it was 2016 as of that was 100 years ago.
Looks like they were giving rope to Louise O'Reilly, who was immediately up on her high horse.
"Ms O’Reilly said it was baffling that a donation providing work would be made in the teeth of an election campaign and was not considered an election expense. She dismissed the idea of omissions being excusable as the spending is declared after the election, not during the campaign.
“The forms aren’t filled out in the heat of an election campaign – they are filled out afterwards. And I would still have the question as to if that is credible and I don’t believe it is, because, as I said, afterwards is when the forms are filled out,” she said on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland."
Oops, Louise, that doesn't just apply to Paschal, it applies to your own leader.
All appointments should be made through the public appointments system which was not used in the instance of Michael Stone's appointment.
What was the criteria used to appoint Mr. Stone? Nobody knows and that's what the problem is.
If the public appointments system was used for all appointments then allegations of cronyism couldn't arise.
Instead politicians wish to retain the right to make appointments to supporters.
Jesus, if putting up a few posters is enough to land you, not one, but two state agency positions, I must get off my backside at the next election. Knock on a few doors and you could be the next AG
Fine Gael 'New Politics' document 2011
The expressions “Golden Circle”, “Crony Government” and “Cosy Capitalism” all describe the same thing: The abduction of our Republic by both public and private sector vested interests, aided and abetted by the present Government.
End “Crony Government” in Ireland by opening up government and giving the Dáil, for the first time in its history, real power to hold ministers and public bodies to account;
All lies
I get the distinct feeling knocking on doors come the next election could become quite hazardous.
The people, not the luvies who populate these parts and are close to certain political parties but the real people out there, are getting mighty pi**ed off with the parties and that includes those in opposition.
In some circles you might even expect to see some shyte flying in your direction.
Thankfully They never knock here they tend to ignore apartments. SF don't even bother even though the area close to me would be very SF. I would probably lose the rag if any of them did knock.
This story just keeps getting worse for FG. Must be a hard time to be an FFGer or FFG supporter.
Best man for the jobs. Clearly.
The Dail should be fun today.
2 more years please.
Put Paschal up against the wall and shoot him for attending a wedding.
That's rather Fascist of you. Nobody in their right mind is suggesting that.
Just joining in the overreactions.
Roisin Shortall (SD) is absolutely skewering Paschal in the Dail this evening. She was brilliant.
Connolly was also superb. She did not ask about the gory details. She asked why SIPO was still toothless and why the 2015 reform bill was 8 years in a review. Typical delaying tactics by FFG.
God loves a trier, but that's all she'll ever be. Sitting on the opposition benches for that long, she could have written the bill herself, if bothered.
She is twice the politician than any of your cabinet members and she only became a TD in 2016. It was an eloquent reminder to the FFG government on how they have deliberately stalled all reform in this area. It's haunting them now. Do you see 2015 Bills being parked indefinitely in order to continue the culture of cronyism and corruption as success?
What a ridiculous comment.
We have the old Hogan excuses now to EU important job. Something something. EU said er sorry lads nope your outa here.
Listening to Holly Cairns on the Gavan Reilly and friends podcast. She had a harrowing time as a female politician, my heart really goes out to her. No one should have to put up with that shite. It was also quite telling that she gave a reason why the public is acting so aggressively against politicians, basically alluding to the fact that people feel they've nothing to lose anymore. They've made life so bad for us people are reacting. I'm telling yis lads, things are going to get worse. It's not good.
A lot of politicians/wealthy people are only just starting to consider that I fear. If you remove all hope from the bottom 50% of society (no hope of ever owning a home, a continuous drop in quality of life every few years, an ongoing worsening in public services like healthcare, increasing income inequality etc) then sooner or later that bottom 50% is going to revolt. In a democratic way if we're relatively lucky, with things like Brexit or the rise of the far right across Europe. In more violent ways if we're unlucky.
Even the arch conservative Otto von Bismarck realised to pacify the working class you at least needed to keep their standards of living gradually improving so they'd have hope. Our current government don't seem to have accepted that.
Talk about circling the wagons:
Why do I get the feeling others in this circus masquerading as a government have something to hide?
Though watching the news it would appear amnesia is endemic in both the Irish & British governments.
Aragh that's some moaning out of Humphreys. The FG crew are getting really bad money for their army of advisors. Sure Labour and SocDems and Independents including Catherine Connolly absolutely skewered Paschal last week in the Dail. His refusal to answer questions was the problem. Imagine, the minister for Ethics/Reform refusing to answer ethical questions. Connolly asked repeatedly why the 2015 reform bill was gathering dust for 8 years and why SIPO have never been given the powers they need. Turkeys don't vote for Xmas.
100% Cronyism. Everybody knows this.
We should be talking about the health and housing crisis that FFG created but instead we are talking about their cronyism, corruption and blocking reform.
And Damien English got off light.
Sorry, care to shed light on your comment? I’m not sure how to interpret it: is it becoming repetitive as in more of the same or You complaining about this story not being ‘put to bed’?
Zahawi in London admitted in London that He did pay a tax of mega money, meanwhile here English forgets He has houses, Troy- has so many houses it appears he forgot some& now Donohue who imho comes across as smug and is ‘always right’ is in trouble too. As far as I’m concerned, ANY politician covering up needs to be exposed.
End of!
Edit: I am conscious that this thread is about the 3 parties ‘running’ the country.
But…… I just switched on Sky News & now Bojo is being accused of using ‘favours’. This just makes me wonder is there such a thing as a ‘clean’ politician in this part of the World.
FG down 4%. Some people will be so upset.
Wow. Leo's reign has started so well.
I find it mind boggling that FF ( according to this poll ) have gained 4%.