Not taking any chances. Ordered another one in black
that poor woman is being overworked today.
And to edit that order?
I spoke with them as well as I was changing to a LR in black. She said that if I was going to keep my exiting RWD order that the new price would be reflected on my account in about 48 hours
Current car is RWD and I'm used to that now so I will probably stick with original order and hopefully benefit from a price reduction
We'll warm up the battery for ye :)
Is the RWD demo car on Gemini or induction wheels?
who's calling shotgun with @unkel
I just called Tesla at 015134727 and asked about my existing order.
I was told that they were just made aware this morning of the price changes, and they believe that Tesla will honour the price change for existing orders, and I don't need to cancel and reorder to avail of the reduction. She told me that if that was incorrect, she would email me.
Same :)
Booked test drive of the RWD for tomorrow. Will report back here.
Funnily, had to do some serious parking this morning as Tesla was packed. I was reversing thinking....going to be a beep now, or now, or now....nothing! Then I remembered, you're on your own mate, old school!
Took the SR Y for a test drive this morning. Its plenty fast enough for me.
Might ditch the hitch and change to black though. Should I edit order or reorder?
Herself wasn't keen on blue and neither of us are fans of black. But personally, I am a huge fan of keeping €1200 in my pocket, so will change the order
Basically the Model Y is now going to cost me almost €8k less than it was yesterday 😮
White is the new blue (for us). I wasn't gone on the blue even though we'd chosen it for the RWD. Thought it a bit dead, but at least it would have been easier to keep clean. Daughter won't be happy with white, she thought it too 'common' 🙂
The AWD is of interest to me. I've only ever driven FWD cars and am comfortable enough with the understeer and how they behave. My only 'experience' with RWD is seeing BMWs unintentionally drifting and doughnutting 10 years ago during the cold spell :) So I have an irrational fear that the back end of the MY RWD will step out on me if I accelerate too early out of a turn in the wet. When I was younger I didn't mind learning the limits of a car, especially when it wasn't a very expensive car. But not a 50k car now that I'm older.
My wife will be happy with the extra 60km of real world range. She has instinctive range anxiety and whereas I'd enjoy the challenge of planning a journey, she'd rather not to have to worry as much about that.
But I think deep down it's the 5.0 to 100 that's the clincher for me. I can drive the RWD safely within its limits so the AWD is not needed. And if 300km of range isn't enough, then it's planning skills that you should be looking to improve, not your car. But you can't turn a 7s car into a 5s car. I still remember fondly when a friend let me borrow his E36 M3 for the day. I never thought I'd have the chance to experience that kind of acceleration and the stupid grin again.
LR white interiors are out the window so, that's was a bit of seller for me.... To stay with RWD or to go LR......
I am not a fan of black cars, but saw all of the colours last week at Belfast, thought the black suited the Y. And black wheels would improve it more..
or black - which is a free option on the Y but paid on the 3
Black is also included now too
LR Y with colour change misses out on the grand, so it's white only
But that's the thing, Tesla can't guarantee what 'batch' your order is in. They only match up your order on the boat (sometime after the Suez posters have said). Posters on here over the last few days, before this price drop, were saying that Tesla couldn't say if they ordered now, would they get a car in Q1 and it might be Q3. Do Tesla not do Q2 deliveries or are people going on 2022 experience?
Our 2nd order (LR) shows 'Feb-Apr 2023' so might not be in the initial batch unlike our RWD order from last year.
Yes.
also orders now are still Q1 delivery
Model 3 LR will have premium sound and fog lights too. Presumably double glazing aswell in front, not sure about the rear windows
Thanks, I thought MY also had premium sound and twin pane glass etc. that a M3 wouldn’t have ?
The whole EV market is impacted by this, @Old diesel. And yes, we should see a €32k second hand Model 3 soon enough. I predicted that a few months ago as second hand Model 3 prices were simply ridiculous. This price drop obviously speeds that up.
I'm currently wondering how the 2nd hand Tesla market is going to be impacted......
No one sensible will buy a 2019 Model 3 SR+ with no heat pump - smaller battery and 3.5 years old.
For 40 k and more now....
So we should be in the space of 32 k to buy Model 3s on 2nd hand market surely.
Because the 2020, 2021 and 2022 cars will be impacted too....
called tesla. they cannot guarantee anything as any changes might push it to the next quarter, even the changes i made yesterday. id say that person is overwhelmed today with calls. ill wait to speak to the person i spoke to yesterday and see what he comes up with.
Yes, I had this confirmed on the phone this morning.
They also couldn't confirm if MYLR's would arrive in Feb-Mar or if it would be September onwards.
Existing orders will be updated. This is always the case with Tesla and there's been direct confirmation shared in the owners group.
Has anyone been able to confirm if existing orders have been/ will be adjusted for new pricing or is it a case that you need to reorder from scratch with associated potential time delays? Web site with order details don't make it clear