Hamsterchops
take everything
road_high
FixdePitchmark
gk5000
False.
Not the reason.
And he is not in jail.
Surely people can't just post nonsense here over and over.
Read the link in post #644, has all the info you need. Let me know if you need anything clarified
Do you think anyone who refuses to use a pronoun in their workplace will be jailed?
Well, i recon that's why he's trying to stop the disciplinary. Most companies now will have something in their contracts about employees creating bad attention towards them. I'll expect that to come up pretty sharply after review the current item(s).
Trans student: I would like to be addressed by my preferred pronouns where possible.
Straight white male with small dick energy: I refuse,
School: That's ok, no one is forcing you
SWM: not only that but I'm going to yell at everybody who doesn't refuse to the point where people have to physically intervene and I'm removed from my job.
School: okay
Swm: then I'm going to show up until they put me in prison, and I'm going to refuse to stay away.
Smooth brains on the internet: He's the real victim here.
He's not allowed but the school look to be holding off going back to court as
If they go back to the court and get him put back in jail he won't be available for the 19th Jan hearing. It serves their (bigger picture) purposes for him to remain at large as it allows the disciplinary process to continue so long as the courts don't block it
Outside of getting physical with him, they can't prevent him from attending the school and the Gardai can't intervene as its a civil matter for now.
On the 19th, if he is removed from his post and still attends then it becomes a lot more serious for him as he would effectively become an adult accessing school grounds where minors are present without permission.
It's up to the school to bring that to the attention of the court. The judge can't just sit at home watching the news and say "Oi! I told that bloke not to go to the school! I'll have him arrested!". For whatever reason, the school has decided not to go straight back to court about it. Maybe they feel that he continuing to defy the court ruling strengthens their hand in the disciplinary process? Maybe they're going to do it next week? Maybe they don't want to spend the money on it? Could be lots of reasons.
Edit: it seems clear the reason is to allow the disciplinary process to occur. Makes sense.
A court that is moving to break the deadlock. Only two things can happen from here: either the school reinstates its injunction and Burke goes back to Mountjoy indefinitely, or it holds a disciplinary hearing. The school can't hold a disciplinary hearing while he's behind bars, so for now having him sit in a corridor by himself is the least worst option
From the Irish Times
He told the court that he received a letter from the school on December 22nd informing him that a disciplinary hearing, which had originally been fixed for last September but was put on hold following court hearings that resulted in his incarceration for contempt, will go ahead on January 19th.
kinda strange how the jails aren't full of people who refuse to use the correct pronouns...
I think woke HR departments will try to use a disciplinary process to force pronoun usage, and anyone trying to defend themselves will have to go to court and could end up in prison. So yes. Its exactly what will happen.
Defending themselves like Enoch was.
All well and good as long as there's no trouble of any sort.
He's a man under pressure, jailed, suspended and under the gaze of publicity
Im o he shouldn't be allowed to be there and the school shouldn't ignore it
Maybe they realize that sending him to jail for his belief was a bad idea
They couldn't have realised that, because it didn't happen.
Ok. You explain what his skin colour has to do with it?
I haven’t mentioned anyones skin colour.
I’ll call a spade a spade. Tell me how much did you care about fairness in womens pageants beforehand? I can almost guarantee you didn’t. You only care now because it’s a trans person.
What’s funny to me is I actually agree that trans people should NOT compete in sports where they have a distinct physical advantage given their biology, but in competitions like this? Couldn’t give a shite.
But tell me more about how you won’t sit by and watch this injustice towards women. I suspect you’ll be taking a picket to the next feminist protest? You care a great deal about fairness for women so what else are you doing to further their cause?
Or is it, that you’re definitely a bit of a bigot and this is just an excuse to decry the bad ol trans folks ruining womens competition and sports?
Of course they can? Are you trying to say that if he went out and abused people on the streets & the BOM found out he wouldn’t be in serious trouble for it?
Let’s just make sure we’re all on the same page here, he CAN and almost definitely WILL be let go from the school position. What’s not so clear cut is whether the teaching council will remove him from their register.
So he can be sacked from the school but he’s still eligible to find a new job and teach unless the teachers council do something. The fact is though he’s about as much hope finding a new job as the man on the moon.
I wouldn’t hire him to wash dishes in my workplace. Never mind to teach kids.
So what agenda do you think I have? Because the poster I replied to when you stuck your neck in seems to have an agenda against people of specific skin colour and sexual preference.
Do you think skin colour is relevant here?
try that when you get your ass banned for being a troll, curious if the admins will treat you differently.
Seeing as you didn't know the basics of the situation about an hour ago I'd be very interested to hear what you think they did wrong, specifically what errors were made in the disciplinary process
It's interesting that he doesn't want that disciplinary hearing to go ahead. I can't see any way this is going to end for him other than being sacked. Leaving aside the pronouns issue, the school has an employee who drove them to take out a court injunction. He's entitled to hold the opinions that he does but the way he went about things has sealed his fate. According to this article in the Indo, a "Number of incidents in which Mr Burke publicly expressed opposition to Ms McShane’s request led to his suspension on full pay in August pending the outcome of a disciplinary process. Maybe publically challenging your boss is acceptable in some workplaces but if it happened in front of students, it really isn't OK. Nor is disobeying a court order. He might not like that the school suspended him but I'm sure he knew what he was doing when he disobeyed the court order. It isn't as if there isn't a legal person with time to spare in his family.
Funnily enough despite having an out-of-work lawyer in the family he choose to represent himself
Imagine being an unemployed lawyer and even your own family doesn't want you to represent them. She did for a while but then he told the judge he was representing himself
Are you suggesting that trans people don’t exist?
No one was sent to jail for their beliefs. He was sent to jail for his behaviour.
No one was jailed for refusing to use a pronoun.
You don’t end up in prison as a result of losing a civil court action. That’s a pure fiction scenario.
You didn’t care who won when all the competitors were skinny white women. Let’s stop pretending that you care about beauty pageants.
Exactly
Some fair comments there. I can work with those.
So, it's not sports, or pageants or any event specifically. I don't care about the events mentioned. I also have no bias whether it be men or women being affected. What bothers me is that people (men or women) in a specific gender divided competition are put at a huge disadvantage when a trans person of the opposite biological sex enters the competition and wins because of the massive advantage afforded to them due to mainly their sex related advantages. While I find it odd for people to transition, I genuinely don't have an issue with someone being trans (with some caveats I won't get into right now).
You recognise the physical advantage of biological men entering womens sports. There would appear to be an agenda advantage in other cases, such as the pageant I highlighted. There really could be no other way Brian could have won the competition. Whatever we think of beauty pageants (I think they suck), the fact is the women who entered were shafted because it had been decided that a biological male was going to win.
What will I do about the injustice? Have a whinge about it here on boards. I wouldn't give it much more energy than that. For things that have a direct impact on me or my family, I would make efforts to make change, or at least highlight the issues as I see them wherever appropriate. When I was an Engineering student, there were almost 100 students in my group, 4 of whom were women. The college allowed a company to offer 2 scholarships to the final year group. 1 of these was set aside for the women, who were in the bottom half of the group academically. Both scholarships went to the women. Very few were surprised this had happened. I complained to the company. The rep admitted the intention was to encourage more women in STEM and called it positive discrimination. I'm against such practices and kicked up a fuss with the university. It didn't undo what had happened, but I am told the company is no longer allowed to promote their scholarships at the university and room was made for agents offering fair competitions.
If I was a bigot, I would have no issue saying so, but a bigot I am not. It's often used to dismiss genuine points from folks on the other side....some of whom are bigots, most of whom are not.