Difficult to know what is and isn't true tbh. That Emma O'Connor wan is eternally posting anti-immigrant stuff and is a follower of that Derek Blighe character.
Sins it's the Killarney thread maybe a local will come along and tell the reality there at present.
There is no free speech in boards, never has been. This is a private site and is moderated.
Our country has been compassionate and generous to welcome many unfortunate people who've suffered oppression and dangerous hatred in their former countries. It is a good thing in general - the down side is that the government had not planned nor gave enough thought on how to accommodate their housing, and other, needs.
It relied on the ordinary citizens to carry out that work, with its usual lack of insight and careless approach to things. Let the people deal with it was its attitude - that it would sort itself out.
Most of the refugees do not cause trouble and are grateful for our country's humane generosity.
The situation at the Killarney hotel is serious and if those who carried out the attacks are found guilty, I believe deportation back to their original country should be considered by the courts and Immigration authorities.
No documents with them,we don’t know what we are dealing with,who they are what previous convictions if any,this will kill tourism in Killarney,what will happen when tourist season opens….rally of the lakes,bikefest etc
I don't think Killarney people and businesses will tolerate this, hence swift reaction from politicians and guards, in contrast to other places where they drag feet and shrug shoulders.
They don't want a bad name, and turning into a dumping ground for bad types. Too much at stake here, if only other towns were as pro-active.
It would be a positive if the Rally of the Lakes disappeared.
There's been far more anti social behavior at the Rally of the Lakes over the years.
Reminded me of Michael predicting that Kenmare would become "another Harlem" more than 20 years ago.
Michael should probably be more concerned about his sons attacking tourists.
That is very true, attracts a young toerag element any place could do without.
Some absolutely disgusting comments there about a child.
Those comments about a child who has no relevance to anything being discussed here have been deleted and any further discussion on it will not be tolerated. MOD
I’d say it will disappear along the tourism
"Garda are of the belief if given bail he poses a threat to life and public safety of members of the community," Det Garda Hennessy stated.
This was based on his behaviour during the violent incident, he said, adding that gardaí had no knowledge of his history in his home country of Algeria.
From RTE report. This is what is entering the country
Equality Minister says violence in Killarney direct provision centre was an isolated incident | RadioKerry.ie
I don't think Roderic O'Gorman has much of a clue, nor has he ever had.
That fact we have a minister with a portfolio as nebulous as "equality" says it all really.
Seems this Algerian came via France with no documentation. This system letting in people with no papers needs to stop
gardaí had no knowledge of his history in his home country of Algeria.
This is the biggest issue of all I think, authorities in this country literally have no clue who they're letting into the country. This is, quite obviously, a recipe for disaster. Where's the common sense?
Up to 20 men involved in violent disorder incident in Killarney direct provision centre, court hears (irishexaminer.com)
"Killarney District Court heard instructions from the DPP were awaited. Seven were granted bail on condition they leave Killarney to reside at Garda-approved addresses in Meelick, Co Clare, and Clonakilty, Co Cork, as well as addresses in Louth and Laois."
Some other places will be accommodating these peace loving individuals, a mixture of Georgians and Algerians. I've never heard of a mutual history shared by Algerians and Georgians, so haven't a clue what triggered the punch up.
He needed papers/documentation to get here but then destroyed them like thousands have this year. When you do this you still get asylum. That's why they are coming here. Soft stupid Paddy. The joke is on us.
That poor Algerian fela being in with the Georgian lads ,we should have never put them together, we need to build a house for each and everyone of them 400 MEN,give them welfare payments,WiFi,fuel allowance Shur leave bring on the wife's and 6 kids aswell
And stop all this documentation nonsense just leave them fly in by the plane load,shur aren't they all sound anyway
Radio Kerry discussion on the issue from this morning for anyone interested
https://www.radiokerry.ie/podcasts/kerry-today/new-years-night-violence-in-killarney-direct-provision-centre-january-3rd-2023-311615
Bad news on the litter front.
Bean in Killarney closing. Pity, lovely coffee in there and sound staff. But always seemed a bit quiet in there anytime I called.
Wow, kind of surprising. Hasn't been open that long and Covid couldn't have helped.
Boru Barbers are moving in there now.
Mission Road closed for roadworks today and tomorrow, something to be aware of as it will have a knock-on effect on traffic in and around the town.
I didn't realise that that wacky shop, Flying Tiger, had done a runner from the Outlet Centre a couple of weeks ago. That place is a bigger dead loss than it was before.
I wonder how the new owners are going to get a return on their investment, perhaps they'll turn it into a grow-house and hope that no one notices? 😣
I see the 400 asylum seekers in the killarney Hotel have been given notice of a move. Hotel opening back up for tourists
Good news, to be honest.
Deleted