Unless you happen to be someone who is in between sizes or is outside the normal size range I can't see any point in tailored suits.
If you can fit into a standard suit size then buying a tailored suit seems like a complete waste of money to me.
A well tailored suit can hide a lot. Even a well tailored of the rack suit can do so.
A well fitted suit, good posture and a decent pair of shoes will allow a dramatically different 1st impression than the the same suit, unaltered, the same shoes unpolished and the same man slouching.
There was advice offered earlier in the thread re: buying 2nd pair of trousers and some other wardrobe bits. I'd tend to agree. A few suit jackets can be used in rotation with trousers, shirts and ties to greatly expand a wardrobe too.
5 suits and 75 variations is a common "how to build a wardrobe theme" an example in the video below, I'd drop the Tan after what happened Barack tho 😉
I don't wear suits often anymore, I have a few left that allow me do similar to this tho.
If you do ever find yourself in the position of needing a daily suit, rest assured tailored is not compulsory.
Handy for their court appearances too.
That's when you get out your Canada Goose jacket and black Balenciaga runners!
To end the thread in one go, Conor McGregor is the best exponent I can think of for *properly* tailored suits.
With all his money, I've never seen him in public in a well fitted suit.
A tailored suit is the difference between you and mere mortals. It needn't cost the Earth, but its one the better investments you'll make and you'll feel a million dollars.
I have two suits made by Paul Henry in Dublin the last ten years and really for what you're getting, they're a steal.
I've had them adjusted a few times to keep up with changing styles and to accommodate my middle aged spread and they are still like new. Everyone in my family knows that when I'm checking out, hopefully in about 4 decades time, that I want to be buried in the charcoal 3-piece made of Italian Reda wool.
Yep, With McGregor that is his brand…his brand and look is outlandish, OTT, ostentatious etc….deliberately, no accident
you get some toe rag in similar get up here, tan patterned suit, pink shirt, the shoes, no socks, facial hair that probably made his mirror cry and bling a plenty 🤪
you just think … mannnnnnn no.
I've worn a normal suit I brought from a suit shop that was pulled in a bit.
Does that count ?
It cost me 700 Euro.
This is it, everything else is a close fit but it's a mile off a tailored fit.
I suppose it does as you now understand the benefit of having it altered a little to fit you. Tailored means all parts of the suit are custom made for you, they fit better, they look better, they are better. But there is no point in paying for it if you don’t appreciate the difference, it’s like paying for a nice wine and not knowing the difference between it and bottle of plonk. It’s all about choice and taste, €700 is a lot to pay for a suit that doesn’t fit you when you buy it, could you not have got one for €200?
An adjusted suit off-the-peg is fine if you're lucky enough to have all your dimensions in perfect proportions, average arms, average legs, average shoulders, average trunk, but there are limits to which suits can be adjusted.
A tailored suit is built up around you, it fits every bit of you like a glove. The fabric is your choice, the weight is your choice, the lining and the details and the pocket shapes and locations are your choice.
Its like being Darth Vader in cashmere.
Moist flaps a fluttering.
Its always good to have at least one good suit for going to interviews and special occasions etc.
I also have another suit I brought from Pennies for 50 Euro which I could have used back in the day when I had no money and had to appear in court.
The suit I got for 700 Euro is not a perfect fit because I'm in between sizes.
A Tailored suit would make sense for someone like me who is in between sizes but I'm not willing to pay over a grand for a suit.
700 Euro was only already above my original budget of 500 Euro.
Doesn't that post answer the question in the thread title?
I'm in a minority most people can fit into a standard size and don't need tailored suits.
I was thinking the same. Wasn't it him that asked the question which he just answered???
Because literally every body I know including my new wife has covid now 😂😂😂
The benefit of a tailored suit is everything is for you. Colour, buttons, pockets, shape, cut everything. If you want nothing morethen a "suit" then ff the peg is grand, if you want something unique that you know no one else will ever have the exact same and you will appreciate it, a tailored suit is it
buy An off the shelf suit in a good outfitters and they’ll take a look at you and nip and tuck here and there and hey presto it looks like you’ve been in the gym all year 😂😂
Made To Measure = off- the-shelf suit that is then altered for a better fit. Not that expensive in total.
Bespoke = suit made from scratch using your personal measurements. Very expensive.
true, but thats just a fad sort of like I'm so tough I can wear a suit and still be tough , ridiculously slim fitting about to burst out of it like the incredible hulk sort of thing and beards galore. Although when Mcgregor shaved off the beard he looked a million times better I think he was surprised himself so I doubt there will be a return of the full bearded Mcgregor,he can't really get rid of it now though as its all part of his image
Big difference between Snickers and Portwest. Snickers is comfortable and well made. Definitely overpriced I'd agree but still near the best you can get. Portwest on the other hand is pure and absolute shoite.
Which proves my point. Or have you something else to add?
I get mine tailored because I'm built like a shít house.
I got run out of Louis Copeland for trying to get my birthday suit tailored.
I'm not with you lad tbh. 100 spent on Snickers which will last you is a lot better than 40 spent on Portwest which will literally fall off you.
Try Blaklader also, expensive but comfortable and hard-wearing
Likewise spending on a decent tailored suit. Read what I originally replied to, as you have the wrong end of the stick, LAD.
Whatever about a tailored suit (an adjusted off-the-rack suit does the job for me), tailored shirts are non negotiable.
The quality of off-the-peg shirts in Ireland is generally dire.
The tailored suits in Ireland are far higher quality than the tailored suits they sell in East Asian for around a 100 quid.
What's that to do with anything? Rich people in Asia go to good tailors, not bad ones.