My thoughts exactly. I like JH but I'm not in the mood for his over enthusiastic persona and humour this morning. Bah humbug!
Pat works for Newstalk but will forever be RTE at heart.
Ah ffs!! No Pat!
No no, people are more than entitled to have an opinion.
It's the morons who say Henry McKean is like someone 'who never grew up' and 'the apprentice that didn't qualify' etc, who make out like his job is handy.
The art of getting a good vox pop is one of the hardest things in radio to master, but the likes of you dismiss his work just because you don't like it.
Have all the opinions you want, but for someone like Henry McKean to get the type of content he's clearly asked for takes a lot of work.
I have done it’s great craic. Some run away others don’t stop talking. McKean is ideal for it because he has that harmless eejitry persona. Doesn’t take himself too seriously.
Ah ok, people aren't allowed to have an opinion now.
Point taken.
Once upon a time in a previous life I found myself doing some interviewing for research.
It's not as simple as it sounds.
Henry is ok he is an easy listen and it's the folk he meets that are the real story.
I dare every single person in this thread to grab a microphone and go out to get a vox pop. Come back to us and let us know how you get on.
He’s like an apprentice who didn’t qualify!
I could listen to Ivan Yates all day long. He is constantly taking the mick but most people don't get that, self deprecating, placing himself as the butt of jokes, its a good ploy, he doesn't take himself too seriously. Would love to see him as a replacement for PK but doubt he will take it. Other presenters these days are far too vanilla.
Henry is ok but he suffers in comparison to Paddy O'Gorman the king of street radio.
Henry is like the interviewer who never grew up with his exaggerated earnestness.
I think he knowingly dials up the boorish, cultureless businessman spiel to get a reaction. It's clearly worked.
This x 100
When I heard Ivan Yates was subbing in, I thought "great, a breath of fresh air"
He's an ignorant buffoon, with no manners and even less charisma.
I lasted about 10 mins.
This in the time of year that is made for Henry McKean. A time of year for over the top positivity, and exuberance about life. But all the while, offering insight that other broadcasters just don't do.
His interviews with passengers landing in Dublin Airport (along with waiting relatives etc) was an example of this:
Henry - Who are you waiting for?
Person Waiting at Arrivals - My twin sister.
Henry - Given that twins know what each other are thinking - do you know when she will walk through that door?
Person Waiting at Arrivals - Two minutes.
Yates is an imbecile, "I don't do B&W" the answer of the low brow, basic twat.
No Pat for last shoe before Chrimbo, pity.
No no. That doesn’t suit the narrative so you have to tell the lie to get everyone all outraged again.
Also roaring laughing at the idea that the production team of the Pat Kenny show, which notoriously tears into students, poor people and tries to guilt trip trade unions against striking instead of looking at the issues around industrial action, is considered ‘right on’.
Its absolutely laughable that Pat Kenny is considered by some here to be some form of liberal nutjob.
Yates is a pratt, can't stand him. Savage is the only bearable PK substitute.
You should really have listened.
”T word” was certainly used.
Ivan bottled it big time this morning in his interview with Simon Harris on Rathkeale, “T” word nowhere to be heard
He was definitely instructed to pull his punches though this morning
As long as it is AS for the long run and not the other ass.
Agree good to see him getting a gallop.
However like puppies presenters aren't just for Christmas.
I'd back AS for the long run.
From what I remember of Yates he was good at political stuff. Peeling away the guff and could cut the legs from any politician - even his own former party. Basically because he knows the game.
But when Yates veers into another game - sport/football he sounds like a barstool eejit. I remember one time (former Man United player) Paddy Cerrand said ‘Ivan stop trying to be Eamon Dunphy - you are not Eamon Dunphy’
Must say I'm delighted to hear Ivan Yates back on the show this morning.
After a few years absence, he certainly sounds so much better than some of the current crop of presenters.
He won't shy away from the 'T' word in the Rathkeale homecoming festivities slot.
Really looking forward to the programme for the next few days.
A breath of fresh air.
Great to have Ivan back, I know he’s like marmite, but I like him. Better than Anton as a stand in.