Uk-registered vehicles, ho hum. Guess some English tourists over-did the celebrations.
Threadbans:
@Still stihl waters 3
@DarkJager21
@I Blame Sheeple
@StevenToast
@billyhead
@thinkabouit
depends who's asking boss
Pat Joe’s Skinny Johnny or Skinny Johnny Mickey?
It's beginning to look a lot like the christmas, ARU everywhere
I agree with this 103%
Wasn’t it last Christmas, or maybe the Christmas before that the HSE felt it prudent to set up a temporary field hospital in Rathkeale in anticipation of the local Christmas festivities?
The only shocking thing about the recent events in Rathkeale are that (some) people are shocked by it!
My own town is wrecked from them. They use fear and intimidation to do whatever they want, whenever they want. If that doesn't work they'll claim discrimination.
Im minutes from Rathkeale. Can't even leave the dog out for a piss at the moment. They're an absolute sh1t stain on society, and yes I mean that.
A fair amount of those votes, I would guess, are down to the public seeing a politician speaking plainly and truthfully. I'm no Casey fanboy but when you then see, as mentioned above, the rest of them come out and blatantly lie to the people. That would have swung a lot of folks who don't have anything much against travellers.
i'd bet me gaff that behind every single one of those 150 charges there was a free legal aid solicitor courtesy of the tax payer.
True but it's foolish for the political establishment to ignore protest votes and hope that they go away.
Your figures prove that the Irish electorate is quite clever and nuanced. They want something done about unaddressed crime and people getting off scot-free due to being members of a certain 'ethnic minority', but they don't want an opportunist doing it.
Reality is if you or me were swanning around in cars on ÚK plates without legitimate reason (holiday etc) we'd be in trouble with the Customs even if we were not causing havoc on the streets.
I know for a fact an acquaintance had a car impounded due to not paying VRT, admittedly he was taking the piss as he was driving a Maserati on UK plates around Cork, but still.
Casey got 13,000 votes in Donegal in the 2018 presidential election.
He got less than 10% of that and finished 11th out of 13 in the 2020 general.
It was a protest vote.
I still reckon it's the Palatines.
https://www.irishpalatines.org/about/history.html
UK registered cars, but not necessarily English or British - more like visiting 'home' and relatives for for a bit of Xmas 'shopping' and Xmas 'bash'.
60% of everyone knows this.
Well, they do like to travel.
Yep, despite the virtue signalling and hand wringing of politicians who dance about the subject, Casey gave an opinion that many citizens up and down the country would agree with in the privacy of their own homes and friends.
More than 90% of the population haven't studied statistics beyond basic second level mathematics.
Just a general protest vote, against the establishment. Like I said it was a very low turnout, and Casey's number would represent about 12% of those entitled to vote. You made that into "the public".
Less than six or seven people a year are/were discharged from Dundrum and you've met a few of them , I work occasionally individuals with significant mental issues and I've only met one person who was admitted to Dundrum and is now serving a sentence for murder .
Travellers: "We want to be treated equally. But we don't want to pay tax, obey the law, attend school til age 18, treat animals with respect, treat humans with respect or contribute to society in a meaningful way".
Lads you've got this all wrong, it's clearly gangs of settled people going into this area fighting each other and blaming our ethnic cousins for it.
What would you attribute the rise from 1% in the polls to 23% in the actual vote to be related to so? Can't be margin of error.
The public could not be bothered to turn out in 2018 in anywere near the same numbers as in 2011. But of those that did, a far bigger percentage went to Michael D second time round. Casey's numbers do not prove what you say.
Calm down. I didn't say Peter Casey would have passed a law to ban travellers from Ireland.
I'm merely pointing out that a relatively unknown candidate with no political experience, who was languishing at the bottom of the polls, went on live TV and called out travellers' behaviour for what it is, and a substantial portion of the electorate voted him into 2nd place, with 23% of the vote as you say, for simply calling a spade a spade, proving that the public have little tolerance for the behaviour of the travelling community.
Sorry I'm a devil for the abbreviations especially on the phone.
Michael D Higgins.
It gave me a good laugh when I heard Leo and Simon giving out about Peter Casey when there is not the remotest chance of either of them living near let alone next door to travellers.
What's the MDH????
Having checked the stats, you are correct that he finished second and got a respectable 23% of the vote. Have to admit I didn't know that. But even if he'd gone to 80% in the polls and won it, it wouldn't change a thing. Which part of 'the presidency is a ceremonial role' do you not get?
AMazing for a grouping that demand to be called the T word
Maybe they're just pointing out that Casey went from bottom of the polls on around 1%, to finishing 2nd in the voting only a week or 2 after calling a spade a spade when it comes to travellers and their behaviour.
Meanwhile the 6 other candidates said live on TV that they would have no problem living next door to a halting site.