Uk-registered vehicles, ho hum. Guess some English tourists over-did the celebrations.
Threadbans:
@Still stihl waters 3
@DarkJager21
@I Blame Sheeple
@StevenToast
@billyhead
@thinkabouit
“This Government is committed to building stronger, safer communities – in rural Ireland and in our towns and cities. Everybody has the right to feel safe and to be safe in their homes
Also, Leo made it clear in the last few days that he is a centrist who is still working hard for those that get up early in the morning 👍️
if you vote FG/FF/SF/Green/Labour you are a dope
Three times an electoral failure!!
Probably my favourite Commodores song.
It's racist boss.
Its an easy target that's why. We could be here all day talking about settled people who committed far worse crimes than thrashing up vehicles. Alan Haye, Deirdre Morley, Joe O'Reilly etc
Our new former Taoiseach said one of his priorities is to improve law and order or words to that effect. So I suppose Simon Harris is sweating getting his six month stint as Justice Minister in good order to sort this out.
Have usual PC brigade been on yet to complain about how the media never report on the settled community writing off 100k SUVs and attacking each other with machetes?
Plus the fact that the presidency is largely a ceremonial role. It is currently occupied by a left wing virtue signaller. Casey would have been a right wing populist. Neither have any power to actually influence policy or legislation. Casey if elected would just have bloviated from the opposite direction that the current incumbent does. Casey would probably have been reined in a lot quicker by the government regarding his public statements is the only difference.
I can't understand why we're getting upset about our Newest Ethnic Minority engaging in high-spirited high jinks. They're always like this at Christmas. Tis just their way - like bare knuckle score-settling, horse trading, open highway sulky racing, cruelty to horses and dags, laying of poor quality (and expensive) driveways, intimidation of the elderly and wearing of tracksuit bottoms at massive funerals.
Christmas would be a duller time without them.
Well we agree then so.
Everyone in my family and all my neighbours voted for Casey.
There's a name for this, a certain type of fallacy. It's like someone on Twitter saying everyone in my timeline voted for X, Y, Z, can't understand why they weren't elected, or someone saying they don't trust the vaccines cos some bloke down the road got one and died a week later. Your sample size is too small and somewhat self-selected. Or maybe they're telling you they voted for Casey to please you but really didn't.
Irish people, people in general perhaps, have a very poor understanding of basic statistics.
Yeah but the difference is with other criminals we aren't constantly told we are racists for not embracing the culture that promotes this way of life
Agree. That's the difference.
O'Reilly got jail for life, Morley is locked up in the Dundrum mental hospital, which from talking to people who have been there (for lesser things) is not a pleasant place, there are cushier prisons from what I've been told. I don't know who Alan Haye is.
Pity they wouldn't just have a big fight to the end at least there would only one left .
Random slurs. So 6 jeeps weren't rammed and a machete wasnt found?.
Like the ARU arent there now at another expense to the taxpayer.
Random slurs is right plus your mistaken people venting hatred with telling the truth.
If you think electing a particular person as president would suddenly alter our judicial system you're away with the fairies.
Michael D (the fella that hammered Casey) took the unusual step for an Irish president and actually spoke out about an issue (housing), did it impact the government? Not a jot.
Maybe they're just pointing out that Casey went from bottom of the polls on around 1%, to finishing 2nd in the voting only a week or 2 after calling a spade a spade when it comes to travellers and their behaviour.
Meanwhile the 6 other candidates said live on TV that they would have no problem living next door to a halting site.
AMazing for a grouping that demand to be called the T word
Having checked the stats, you are correct that he finished second and got a respectable 23% of the vote. Have to admit I didn't know that. But even if he'd gone to 80% in the polls and won it, it wouldn't change a thing. Which part of 'the presidency is a ceremonial role' do you not get?
What's the MDH????
It gave me a good laugh when I heard Leo and Simon giving out about Peter Casey when there is not the remotest chance of either of them living near let alone next door to travellers.
Sorry I'm a devil for the abbreviations especially on the phone.
Michael D Higgins.
Calm down. I didn't say Peter Casey would have passed a law to ban travellers from Ireland.
I'm merely pointing out that a relatively unknown candidate with no political experience, who was languishing at the bottom of the polls, went on live TV and called out travellers' behaviour for what it is, and a substantial portion of the electorate voted him into 2nd place, with 23% of the vote as you say, for simply calling a spade a spade, proving that the public have little tolerance for the behaviour of the travelling community.
The public could not be bothered to turn out in 2018 in anywere near the same numbers as in 2011. But of those that did, a far bigger percentage went to Michael D second time round. Casey's numbers do not prove what you say.
What would you attribute the rise from 1% in the polls to 23% in the actual vote to be related to so? Can't be margin of error.
Lads you've got this all wrong, it's clearly gangs of settled people going into this area fighting each other and blaming our ethnic cousins for it.
Travellers: "We want to be treated equally. But we don't want to pay tax, obey the law, attend school til age 18, treat animals with respect, treat humans with respect or contribute to society in a meaningful way".
Less than six or seven people a year are/were discharged from Dundrum and you've met a few of them , I work occasionally individuals with significant mental issues and I've only met one person who was admitted to Dundrum and is now serving a sentence for murder .
Just a general protest vote, against the establishment. Like I said it was a very low turnout, and Casey's number would represent about 12% of those entitled to vote. You made that into "the public".