Thread to discuss the football itself.
This is not a thread to discuss the hosting of the competition in Quatar.
You can discuss the hosting in the relevant thread.
And Messi obliges......just rolled in
Slow motion that one from Messi
Messi .......... RIDICULOUS PENALTY My GOD
ROLLS IT IN LIKE IT'S A SUNDAY GAME DOWN THE PARK
some pen
Mbappe & Messi going first great to see them not doing the Ronnie & Neymar waiting till last.
Saved
Not good for France.
Good save.
"Outrageous"
"Extraordinary"
Calm down RTE ffs, it was a penalty.
Think he saved that one with his face!
Classy to the last from Argentina.
Proper dick move from Martinez but i suppose it helped
Bottler
Got to hand it to Martinez
What a ****.
Emi Martinez mind games have worked again
Martinez throws the ball away.... Not Booked - Poor Decision.
Mind game worked though.
Yeah, this is over.
Weak from Lloris TBH, even if keepers aren't meant to save these
Final Result
Argentina 3 V 3 France AET - Argentina win on pens 4-2
World Cup Winners
Argentina
Argentina win it.
Damn.
Martinez is great, his mind games work
Well there we go there can be no question now who is the GOAT between Messi or Ronnie.
It is Messi.
Fair play Argentina. Hard on France for that comeback, but should have been over.
Best team has won the lot, so no complaints.
Jaysus, RTE are so embarrassing.
Fair result in the end, there'd have been a lot of head scratching in Argentina if they'd lost that. France left it all too late.
Ah lads that was brilliant
No matter what, the GOAT debate wasn't settled here. Amazing match from Mbappe who has put himself firmly in the discussion for the years to come. Sorry that he was on the losing side.
Brilliant final, unbelievable drama. I might be in the minority but I still think the Argies are so so, but fair play to them, they deserved it today and nice to see messi complete the lot.
Mbappe was different class the last third of the game, the French will be sick that they didn’t get going until so late.
Bit weird to not see them running up and all celebrating together.