It's been ten days, lad. It got a brief mention on a radio panel show. It's not exactly a burning issue, like housing or health or even the feckin weather.
I didn't say you mentioned the other doctor, though you did tell us all about these apparent rules for open relationships and not bringing attention to yourself. Was that one of the 'facts' you were discussing with your mates? And what about your claim that Vradakar had the video removed from social media himself, was that more of the facts you were discussing, or was it just idle gossip?
That's the whole point of the question being raised here on this thread. The degree of public attention is not negligible when it comes to be mentioned on a radio show as run by B'OC. He, the producers & RTE wouldn't dare to have it mentioned if it wasn't based on fact and public disquiet.
Wow, personal abuse again. What a shock 🙄
I didn’t mention the other doctor, why are you inserting that into this?
Do you not understand that people can discuss the man and his behaviours without it descending into gossip? Or that people can have entirely fact based conversations?
For a person who said you’d “leave it there so” last night you seem intent on having the last word.
Interesting, would you care to share any of these facts that your knitting circle was focused on? Maybe the 'facts' about the age of the other party or his prior relationship to Vradokar or the nature of Vradokar's relationship with the doctor? Please do get these facts (and not the idle speculation we've seen on this thread) on the table.
No. It was a fact based discussion. You should try it sometime.
The world doesn't begin and end on boards.ie my friend.
"Always funny" - ok
Sure aren't you bending over backwards to tell everyone what's what. Your opinion is the only correct one
Prurient gossip about who’s tongue was down who’s throat. Stop trying to dress it up.
Always funny to hear that you can’t talk about Leo because he’s a gay immigrant at the end of a long discussion about Leo’s nightclub activities.
You're not allowed say anything about this incident, according to the media. We had numerous articles in the Irish Independent about how Matt Hancock is a despicable cheat. Not one of those articles mentioned that the photos taken of him cheating were taken without his consent. As usual with journalists, it depends on what side you're backing.
https://m.independent.ie/opinion/comment/the-sneakily-taken-video-of-leo-varadkar-is-another-example-of-sinister-digital-voyeurism-he-deserves-his-privacy-42217795.html
Gets in on 5th count in constituency. Becoming taoiseach for the second time.
Some system.
There is not much talk about it because people are afraid to be labelled homophobic. If it was Simon Harris, Stephen Donnelly etc who was shifting a young one then it would be open season. We all know it.
Leo is of an immigrant background and is openly gay. Much of his behaviour is given a pass. People and media are afraid to be labelled.
And again, we’re not discussing snogging, we’re discussing the person’s behaviour in totality.
Discussing facts is not gossiping.
If your discussing someone snogging in a nightclub every day, you’re gossiping.
No one os gossiping. We’re discussing, there is a difference.
Every day, huh.
Sure. If you say so.
You clearly must move in very different circles than I do because it’s been discussed daily since it broke in my professional circle.
I'll leave it there so. I know well about the duty of politicians to their office. I also know about their duties to themselves. They're not obliged to comply with your morality code or anyone else's. The negligible level of public attention to the video confirms there is no public interest in this matter.
I’ve answered many of your questions. You on the other hand don’t answer mine.
Do you really not understand that as a senior politician he has a duty to his office and the people he serves to behave in a manner that befits such a position? It if were some randomer this wouldn’t be an issue. This is not the case here. And your attempts to minimize down to the act itself are completely disingenuous. His timing couldn’t have been worse on both the SIPO and moving post fronts.
From above:
the separation between the public and private lives of public office-holders can never be absolute. There are circumstances in which private behaviour can legitimately affect an individual’s employment in public office because of its impact on the reputation or integrity of the organisation concerned.
But it is important to recognise that there are occasions when public and private lives can overlap and where private acts that become known candamage public confidence in office-holders and institutions.
Whatever the law or principle might imply, the public are likely to draw conclusions about an individual’s public behaviour from what they know of their private behaviour.
You asked for standards. When I produced some you attempted to deride the above as it was from the UK. We take many things (our laws particularly) from the UK base, and much of our parliamentary practices are modeled on theirs. Also, the Irish version hasn’t been updated since the last century - had I produced that you’d likely have said they were out of date. Regardless of their origin, the principles are the same.
If you really don’t think that you should behave differently as a political head of state than the man on the street I don’t know what else to say to you.
Only in the context that Ballsy doesn't have the balls these days to tackle this type of shenanigan, unless he feels on fairly solid ground. That in itself says something, that there's open unease in the background.
Or, you could try answering the question about what public interest is served by creating scandal and gossip about what went on in a night club?
At the practice I attend I avoid the part-time female GPs like the plague, they have zero interest in their job.
I honestly don't think you could miss the point more if you were trying. Actually that must be what you're doing.
It has, needs to be nudged back to ‘Ballsy Country’ to borrow from the current phrase of the day.
I’m not 100% sure that’s a reputable unbiased source
Political types historically grow up quickly and are mature beyond their years , that’s changing now so partying shifting td’s will be norm soon enough 😂
This thread has gone off on a tangent.
Coincidently, Leo's judgment and recklessness is being questioned elsewhere. So not just here!
https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/leo-varadkar-says-confident-judgement-25737161
Middle Ireland have long memories……. Just sayin’
By 'live up to the norms', you mean 'live a boring life like you do'? You don't get to impose your personal norms on other people's lives.
A UK document? One that highlights the importance of 'public interest' need in every case? What public interest is served by creating scandal and gossip about what went on in a night club?
You'd be a brave man to predict the result of an election two years away. It would be pretty well unheard of that a major party leader would lose their seat, but on the off chance that he does, it will have more to do with FGs utter failures on housing and health, not what he got up to in a night club a couple of years back.
It goes a bit wider than my concerns and given past performance I'd be fairly confident that we haven't seen the last of Leo's gaffs.