Old thread seems to be permanently locked. It will be interesting if anything can come of this at last.
Threadbanned Posters:
If he has information that might be useful then surely he would have shared that at some stage when he was being accused/questioned.
I don't expect anything new to come to light to allow someone be charged.
Well maybe these are new witnesses never involved before but are now because new evidence has come to light? How many times has someone seen something insignificant that years later becomes significant?
Maybe so, but I doubt it in this case.
but how in the name of feck are there new witnesses in France and the UK?
The UK might be Jules Thomas's children. Or anyone who lived in Schull at the time that may now be living in the UK.
As for France, remember the old story about whether Bailey knew her or not?. There was a friend in France who says that Sophie told her she was going to meet someone that may have been Bailey.
That person may have something more to add, or may remember something else from conversations with Sophie.
You might have a point about Jules Thomas's children. But I'd pay no heed to someone in France saying that Sophie told them that she was going to meet Bailey. That would just be heresay and wouldn't be considered to be evidence.
I think the Gardai are clutching at straws myself.
one press report said the garda would not be drawn as to whether Bailey was a person of interest.
Of course it should not be forgotten Bailey is very much a person of interest... to Bailey
They may have something and want to want more from someone locally. A former neighbour who has moved to France or UK?
I don't think there'll be interesting days ahead. This will die a death because the Gardai have no proof (very little evidence against Bailey) that Bailey did it and they don't seem to have enough proof to charge anyone else either
we don't know what the review or new witnesses may have thrown up. Maybe there is now some evidence against IB or someone else
Or people travelling through or staying nearby for a few days at the time?
you never know, hopefully they have some real info. Just wondered is there any way they could have tracked his call to her, if he made it, as someone in France says. apparently they couldn't then. Can new phone tracking work like new DNA.? Extract info that could not be extracted then?
Or if he didn't do it hopfully they will find who did
Could it be the “unknown suspect” from France visiting family in Goleen at the time. Supposedly never interviewed, and returned to France shortly afterwards. From a respectable family living a short walk from Kealfada bridge.(unknown to the Gardai, that is). Probably made up story at the time, but you never know!
edit;
I’ll see if I can find link. Indimedia or something it was called.
Link;
I wouldn't pay much heed to Indy media
Did nick foster write about that unknown suspect guy,? I can't remember
And is Shirley in the UK now?
It'll be solved if someone talks not DNA
No it won't, no new reliable memories are coming and even a confession at this stage would be completely unreliable without info only known to the killer(not sure if there even is any at this stage).
Unless its someone whos been covering for a close friend or relative and their conscious finally got the better of but I agree, at this stage, that mightnt even be enough. I think this reopening of the investigation is little more than a box ticking exercise to please the French following the worldwide international attention the documentaries have received, that & the hope that someone else will come forward about Bailey.
The don't believe the scratches came from her, but from briars etc in which she lay, it was presumed in a struggle someone might have received scratches
There is no extra DNA evidence at this point
This is quite interesting
https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/garda-trace-french-speaker-scratches-28729258
If true..... Very intereting.
However, would a murderer with scratch marks all over his face really go supping porter in Kerry afterwards.... Not the sharpest tool in the box!
I recall Sophie got a neighbours Wife hot and bothered about calling to her Husband unannounced.. I doubt a woman would inflict the type of injuries Sophie suffered though??
Looking at that report (if genuine), it kinda takes the spotlight off Bailey... No wonder they are not calling round to him.
If they didn't have enough evidence to charge that French speaking lad back then, it's hard to see how they'd have enough to charge him now, 26 years later.
Also, I wouldn't believe jack shyt out of Marie Farrell's mouth. I'm not saying she's lying, I'm just saying that, in my opinion, she's a compromised witness in my book.
its the irish mirror
a rag
most of the papers will print any old nonsense lads
Farrell is a c.u.n.t
"A Garda source added: "Sophie's family deserve to know the truth and deserve justice. I would appeal to the local people to step up to the plate and let us know what really happened to this poor woman.
Believe you me, someone out there knows"
Looking for local information if it's a genuine garda quote
The Mirror article says...
"He also used a rented car which had false number plates."
If this is true, whoah there. What exactly was this guy up to if not connected to the Sophie case???
Hiding out from French criminals apparently. Again, if you can believe the newspaper.
Very strange. You've got a rental car in a different country and you use fake number plates? So you must think the gang's reach extends far enough to be able to weasel out of a rental car company in a different country who rented a car???
What sort of criminals I wonder... drug dealers?
And then...
It is understood that Sophie had met the men while she was in Ireland and Gardai are investigating whether she was targeted because of her friendship with them.
So that's a whole new angle to how people with violence in mind might have ended up at Sophie's, perhaps without planning the murder of Sophie, but that was the end result.
If it had false plates, how do they know it was a rental?
I recall Sophie got a neighbours Wife hot and bothered about calling to her Husband unannounced..
who was that neighbour's wife?
The pair were hiding out in the isolated rural area after receiving death threats from a French criminal gang. It is understood that Sophie had met the men while she was in Ireland and Gardai are investigating whether she was targeted because of her friendship with them.
Why would Sophie be meeting with guys who were on the run from French criminals?
Don't recall Farell ever saying that anyone other than Bailey was following Sophie around Schull.
He was in Cahersiveen, a full 130km or 78 miles from Schull, a full two and a half hours drive.
Also he wasn't French, just French speaking.
I'd say you could find literally hundreds of French speaking non French Europeans between Schull and Cahersiveen, in December 1996 or at any time.
Hundreds who met Sophie?