Thread to discuss the football itself.
This is not a thread to discuss the hosting of the competition in Quatar.
You can discuss the hosting in the relevant thread.
I do. I support my local team, and I absolutely take your point about the hypocrisy involved from Irish people who call Man U and Liverpool “We”. They don’t like that being pointed out though, I suspect it makes them uncomfortable deep down.
It kinda feels like they’d benefit way more from a manager with a really strong personality coming in directly before the next tournament, just rely on the foundations that Southgate has built and go from there.
I don’t rate him at all as a manager anymore, but Mourinho coming in right before Euro 2024 would probably get that last couple of percent out of that insanely talented squad. It’s a managerial style tailor-made for international football, for one because his style of football fits the bill perfectly, but also because he’d spend less time with players so less opportunities to turn the situation into his trademark toxic mess.
England might have played well but didn’t create enough chances to trouble Lloris, Grealish should have been on a lot sooner.
In reality in this tournament they’ve reached their level QF’s the minimum expectation an easy enough group and the hardest team they could have faced to get to the QF was the Netherlands. As stated in commentary they need to be able to beat the elite teams but continually fall short.
Southgate’s done OK he’s stabilised them and built the foundations but to get to the next level they need a change, who I don’t know Howe and Tuchel being mentioned already.
Fair enough!
I will leave it there
congrats to France!
The whole "stop Mbappe" thing was bollix. France were loaded with talent
The ref wasn't the reason England are out. He was an average ref for sure, but equally average for both sides.
People can support who they want. Who cares.
Same as this forum, it's an Irish soccer site, but it's rightly available to anyone anywhere to join and post.
That's my point......
Sky Sports News going in hard on the ref. Usual thing, wondering why a referee from Brazil is in charge of a game at. ‘this level’.
Complaining Griezmann should have been sent off. In fairness to Griezmann, he kept fouling until he got a yellow and I think he committed one foul afterwards, which may not even have been him as a couple of French players tackled the English one.
Complaining about having to go to VAR for the 2nd penalty is much ado about nothing as they actually got the penalty.
Ref wasn’t great but I don’t think he was unfair to either team.
It's always a dumb argument imo.
People support English clubs not the players that play in them. It's certainly no reason to support the England team. There's good reason the English teams are hated by almost every nation.
The English team are certs every tournament for a knockout loss. It's tradition at this stage and long may it continue.
I dont see the panic. Can you point it out. I do see an understandably bitter and lonely Englishman online minutes after his country has been knocked out of the world cup, looking for something that's not there.
Beckham got sent off against Argentina and the level of abuse he got was unreal.
While not a final, I can guarantee Kane is currently getting loads of horrible abuse on social media.
It's the modern world.
I actually think with the players from the Euros, the racial angle was overstated. But ultimately and regardless, the abuse was inexcusable.
That is fairly harsh on tonights match ,england were better team and got nothing from ref . Southgate can hardle be blamed for a farty penaity ,Kane would need to be getting penalty on target at least ,always considered him lacking when heat is on
They’ll blame the ref this time around.
Nostradamus Cascarino-
Giroud - complete player - competent - natural finisher
What tag line will the Rag go with tomorrow to make fun of Kane and the penalty miss
Couldnt take England winning the WC , and not a Southgate fan, but you got to feal for them tonight - they were the better team.
ther games are always exciting , its the media overkill that is the put off.
Foden was poor, and Saka was my MOTM.
Thought Maddison should have been given a go. He's not exactly Pirlo but he can play a decent through ball.
I assume everyone actually realises why Saka, Rashford and Sandro got the abuse they got, and why Kane won't get the same?
Let me give you a hint...its got nothing to do with football.
English club based in England, represents England in Europe, etc etc…. But no you’re right, they’re Irish ….!
Wonder will kane be in for the same treatment that Rashford, Saka and Sancho had to tolerate after their penalty misses 2 years ago. 🤔
It’s a very tough one to call, this is the most “successful” period I have ever seen from England and I’m nearly 40.
I would say 2018 was the least painful as we had no expectations and tonight although disappointing you can see how much we have improved in the last few years, France are world champions for a reason so it’s hardly a shock we lost.
The one where I would hold him accountable is the euro final, at 1-0 of England had gone for it I think we would have won well in the end so that’s his big failure for me.
If he wants to stay on I think he deserves the chance, that said I think he might choose to go himself and the options are slim to replace him if it’s an English coach.
the margins at these tournaments are just so small and the top 8-10 teams are a very similar level, bit of luck goes a long way.
If pep wants a go at international football I wouldn’t say no!!!
**edit - just had a nose there and pochettino is fav but I would be very surprised at that!!!
There was one Liverpool player on the team tonight, don’t kid yourself that EPL teams are English in the sense you are projecting there.
Leave Southgate where he is. Doing a fine job from my vantage point.
I am just wondering as an England supporter where would you rate Southgate?
There seems to be two arguments -
1) He has wasted English talent and being too conservative
2) He sets the team up to do well in tournament football
-
Personally on Southgate’s record I think he is just below Alf Ramsey- With Robson in third.
Southgate has had 8 years in charge.
He's had the best English squad at his disposal as long as I've been alive (I am near 60).
Performances are not good enough, he should be fired.
It’s five or six lads on boards. Not necessarily representative of Ireland.
Great to see England losing.
Morocco- France should be a decent semi.
England fans very quiet because they aren't full to the ears in beer I'd say
I can see Southgate staying, like where will he go? Would a big EPL club hire him, I doubt it.
I'm not a huge fan of his, but he's done OK with them he's unambitious in his play, but then so is Van Gaal and Dechamps, and the remaining 4 teams play quite conservatively. And I wouldn't agree that England have better players than France England's defence is poor enough, Walker aside. Kane and Saka were primarily interested in diving and trying to win soft penalties, middle 3 were OK at times, but flitted out of the game for long periods too.
This was a tight game that could have went either way. I think England reached their level, there ought to be no recriminations in my opinion, but someone will have to be skapegoated.
The referee will get a bit of the blame, Kane too, but the likes of Sterling or Henderson will probably get a lot of stick, easy targets.
Think people need to realise that this France team is missing a serious amount of players and yet England still couldn't beat them.