Thread to discuss the football itself.
This is not a thread to discuss the hosting of the competition in Quatar.
You can discuss the hosting in the relevant thread.
2 nil !! Pepe
Great delivery from Fernandes for that goal.
Swiss have left a few naughty ones
i was in Seville with a few friends, maybe 15 years ago and a few Spanish lads challenged us to a 5 a side game (we are English). After trying to out football them for ten minutes and getting fairly well trounced we just decided to go long to one of our mates who was very tall and strong, from that point on we beat the pants of them.
the result wasn’t really the funny thing, just the outrage that we were not playing “football”, well at least their football.
I believe he would ! Things not looking so sunny for him.
I half wonder if Ronaldo's bit of whinging when he was coming off the last day was just a good excuse for the manager to make that change... like at club level, they have a lot of fast dynamic attackers that maybe don't fit as well with him in the side. Great option to have on the bench if you end up needing to lump it in later on.
A card at last
Should be 3 nil , good finger tip save from Sommer
Bloody hell, the amount of empty seats when the camera pulls wider is just nuts.
Not to be a Pedantic Pat... But according to Wikipedia he scored 44 penalties from 52 attempts in Serie A.
Wasn't quite expecting that level of dominance from Portugal to be honest. Switzerland lucky they only conceded two.
Maybe he really didn't think he was strong enough to get the block in...
Ya that and there was a poll in a Portuguese paper where 70% wanted him dropped so he'd know the fans were mainly onside too.
I mean even he players must be kinda saying it they have a great side of the draw and some absolute serious players great first 11 for the most part imagine throwing it all away to support the man child,
Thought the Swiss would offer up a bit more trouble than they have. Still in it, but they need to come out with a bit more purpose second half. Maybe someone needs to tell 'em a few of the Portuguese lads have some Serbian ancestry!
Another team that looks far better without Ronnie. Some football, they can't handle ramos.
85% of the time, he scores everytime
He looks excellent - wasn't too aware of him, 'til a google told me he's Benfica's academy trained replacement for Nunez at centre forward, with 9 goals in 11 so far this season... worked out well for them it looks like 😅
I think Didi's right there... that the video lads only interject for goals/pens/red cards.
At least Didi knows how VAR works. The other two wondering why the offside wasn’t looked at in the move that led to a corner. Joanne Cantwell digging a bigger hole for herself here by saying they review all offsides.
I wish I could thank this a thousand times.
They think it's the only way to play football and are quite condescending and dismissive when they lose against a style that isn't possession-based.
The complaints will be that Morocco didn't even try to play football and Spain went out playing the right way. The truth is Morocco had a game plan and stuck to it. It wasn't pretty but they're in the QFs and Spain, for their 926 passes and 77% possession, are heading home. And this isn't the first time watching a Spain game where you'd think they could play for days and not score.
They should have learned from the Japan game but they really are just too arrogant and until that changes, they are going to struggle to beat teams and continue whingeing about how unfair it all is. And I will continue to have no sympathy for them.
Some friends of mine have at least acknowledged they don't have the players for it but they are still a way to thinking a different approach might work.
Didi arguing against var but also saying the goal should not have stood, but also seems to think the linesman would have got that flag right without it, he is all over the place arguing against the use of var,
Joanne Cantwell way out of her depth.
Christ, looks like most of what was left of the crowd in the upper tiers have left at half time...
Ronaldo who?????
There's a new boy in town 3-0
Great strikers goal.
3-0 Portugal. Game over.
Great play from Dalot there to make the goal
Game over.
Morocco vs Portugal in the Q/F.
Red & Green Vs Red & Green.
GR26 is yer man tonight.
Need to get Ronaldo on, save Ramos for next game 😆