A pit bull dog below in Wexford the latest episode of a child been savaged . Are these dogs suitable for pets .
PS The only people with Pitbulls or similar in our town are involved in drug dealing and or general criminality.
Threadbanned Posters:
xhomelezz
Makes no difference. Look at damage.
Sure most people could do damage, but generally we don't. They're animals. Don't have our higher cortex. Or for most of us (no dig at you).
But it would make a guy in a grey tracksuit look tough walking through his neighbourhood.
Try to check how cattle and horses stands in Ireland Vs pitbulls injuries. You might find yourself new boogeyman..
I know it's stupid comparison, but you know there are posters here with tigers, bears, hyenas so I thought I'll join the local think tank 😁
Edit: Apologies to everyone who mentioned crocodiles and leopards, forgot to add you.., but you are not excluded.
But the outcome after all that is that pitbuls are responsible for most deaths! Behaviour isn't the main thing here.
Cows that are useful probably 15 deaths in the USA on average each year, Pitbuls are in the lead even there amd the yhave no use today.
Fatal dog attacks in the United States cause the deaths of about 30 to 50 people in the US each year,[1] and the number of deaths from dog attacks appears to be increasing.[2] Around 4.5 million Americans are bitten by dogs every year, resulting in the hospitalization of 6,000 to 13,000 people each year in the United States (2005).[2] A 2018 literature review with meta-analysis by breed, focusing on dog bite injuries to the face, head and neck, concluded that "of the cases in which the breed was known, the Pit bull was responsible for the highest percentage of reported bites across all the studies followed by mixed breed and then German Shepherds," and that "injuries from Pit bulls and mixed breed dogs were both more frequent and more severe."[3][4]
Oh really ??? 2 years ago I appealed a parking fine. After 28 days of not paying and my appeal not being accepted, I got a letter to.say I was getting a court summons within 7 days and that if found guilty, I would have a criminal record (I paid just to avoid court, criminal record, etc). This is 100% true, ask anyone who was in the same sitiuation regarding not pay a parking fine or car tax.
Read any news article about this dog attack in Wexford, a local family reported to the gardaí that this dog bit their child the week or month before .. nothing was done, no follow up, no visiting the dog owner, zero investigation.
The point I was making, that the Irish legal system and gardaí seem more interested in easy target fines, knowing workers are easy targets .. they will pay up to avoid criminal records. At the same time, they avoid the boys, the skanners, the knackers... or what ever you want to call them.
Every few months we hear of some garda operation to tackle some gang or family .. but thats only one or two a year. Big frigin deal.
Inequality is the biggest poison in this country. Its for this reason I have little respect for the gardai and legal system in this country.
Honestly, I'm completely lost in your posts by now. Mate it's Sunday evening and I'm done. Have to get up early to take my doggies for a walk in the morning, before work. You are clearly on some warpath here and I'll happily leave you to it.
All pit bulls and any cross breeds should be put down.
They are status symbols and penis extensions for toerags and scrotes.
Nothing more.
I can't think for any valid reason for them either. Unless I was a drug dealer, threatened by tigers or I wanted to go to war with my neighbours.
Very good post...the lack of action here should be investigated or if there was action taken, explained.
Or maybe we put the scrotes down? Including any scrote cross breeds obviously. Did you ask for the killing of all huskys or all jack russells? They have both killed children.
You don't have a **** notion mate, do you? Its all hysteria and panic. If you know absolute zero on a subject it's probably best to keep quiet on it instead of Maud Flandersing all over the gaff.
Nobody has given a reason for having them at all. They are already banned in Northern Ireland. Some say that all dogs can kill.. True but and a big but, they are statistically far more likely to kill than any other! Even German Shepards 33 less likely (USA figures).
Since you keep mentioning USA, there you go
They consistently achieve excellent temperament scores, are successful as service dogs, therapy dogs, K9 police dogs, and as family pets .
Constant bad press, is not because of how scary they are, but because of shīt owners. It's that simple. So all of you advocates for "kill that breed" can rightly fook off. Weed out bad owners is the only way, with any breed !!
What other breed has such owners as you put it? They are more likely to kill and other breeds can do all the services you mention as well. Ban them.
Every breed has a bad owners. To eradicate one breed would be the most stupid thing to do. And guess what? It will never happen. As for ban, do you really think ban will sort it?? You are delusional. Nothing is that super easy. Do you think there are no pit bulls left in North? You were given plenty of examples on this thread, why it wouldn't work. But you keep banging the same drum over and over. As cheap as people can get, oh destroy them all, laughable really and sad at the same time.
Banning is a start. People can report the owner then and they can be destroyed in time. Better than letting them kill people.
Banning won't do a shīt. You'll have to run dna tests to know what is what. That's why states in USA backing of from all this restricted breeds nonsense. Costs too much, too much hustle and no effect whatsoever. Unworkable.
As for Ireland, so I have two doggies, black lab and RR cross BC pup. As a law abiding citizen, when I go for walk in public, which I do a lot, to socialize puppy as much as possible. I have to muzzle the puppy and my other lady can walk without being muzzled.. Personally I think it's ridiculous, so I muzzle both. Why the fook, should I make differences between my two doggies? Have you ever seen properly pissed off lab?
For me, all the dogs in public should be muzzled and on the leash. Like that all owners will be on the same line. Easier to spot bad owners, or owners doing their own things and going around with usual oh but my little doggie wouldn't do a harm to anyone.. and enforce it !! Hefty fines. No questions asked!! Pay up, or dog is gone. That would be a start.
Thing is dog breeds tend to go in trends.
'Dangerous dog' of the 80's was the German Shepherd, 90's Doberman, 00's Rottweiler, now the Pitbull is having its day. It won't be long until another breed comes along to take up the baton, banning them will achieve nothing.
Ban that new breed too. Ban is only a start enfore any ban it's already in NI. As for needing DNA, nonsense. If the dog warden or vet think its a pit bull or a cross that should be enough.
Hold up a minute, what does anyone need a German Shepherd for these days? Are you a German person that needs to keep sheep away from Alpine wolves? What does anyone need a Doberman for, are you a German Tax collector from the 1800's? What do you want with a Rottweiler for either unless you are some Roman General that needs these animals to guard their camps over in continental Europe before Jesus was born. Pitbull? Yeah Id say everybody needs one of these yokes to hold their bulls and bears by their face out the back garden.
Because that's what these animals are actually bred for. So what do you want them for in this day and age?
What do you want these things for? What is their actual use. I want turf to keep me warm during the winter but seemingly that's outdated now too, but there's no problem banning that.
What is ridiculous is that these killer dogs are allowed here. A vet or a dog warden's opinion are more than good enough and I would have a good idea myself. I wouldn't shoot any German Shepards or Collies by mistake.
These breeds are highly intelligent and can be trained to do almost anything.
The first seeing eye dog for the blind was a German Sheperd.
I personally have done agility with my Rottweiler, a great pass time.
Pits have been used as therapy dogs.
And then some are just go old pets & companions.
Open your mind & the options are endless.
What is ridiculous by now, is your posting. I'm always disappointed when I see posts with such of limited thinking displayed.
Well best of luck with your witch-hunt. Won't respond to your posts anymore.
Intelligence doesn't equate to obedience which is what a human controlled pet should be taught. A Great White Shark or Orca has intelligence capabilities that far surpasses any human manufactured, violence distorted, animal has, but I'd wager you wouldn't like to own one of them.
What do you want these things for?
Are we gonna call animals things now? Maybe there is the problem..
Fair enough, I agree, lets call them what they actually are then so, Historic Human manufactured bred distorted tools of violence and control.
Have Great White Sharks or Orcas been domesticated by human for 30,000 years? Have they evolved side by side with people to literally obey their wishes??
Your comparisons are overly dramatic and aren't comparing like with like.
You are certainly making it better and better. As a human, you do great I would say.
Both set of animals are literally bred to kill and attack. Just because you like the "look" of one set and can have it out your back garden, without mother nature ultimately caring for its well being, means f**k all.
Humans domesticated lots of things, always wasn't a great idea when they did it.